Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just how prog house should be.., 13 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
The latest in the Renaissance series is an absolute winner. I havent even listened to disc two yet, I'm still absorbing all that cd1 has to say. So, this review is for disc 1, and I'll update when I've listened to disc 2..

Of the mix compilations Hernan has put together, this is definitely the best I've come across. The sound is really smooth, silky prog records with an edge (it has a simular mood to the beginning of Nick Warren's Balance mix, although perhaps with more soul and deep house influence). It's more mellow and laid back than, say, Henry Saiz's exceptional Balance mix last year, but has the same level of quality and flows beautifully. Like Saiz's mix, Hernan has produced and remixed several tracks on this mix himself which helps to achieve the consistency of mood which not all mix cds accomplish, but still without sounding like a 'block' of tunes with no coherent flow.

Highlights? Well, Guy J's excellent 'Lost and Found' sets the mood perfectly, and the set only continues in richness from there. Timewriter's 'Motherland' and Lonya's 'De High' also stand out and take the ethereal, dreamy soulful mood to a new level. There are plenty of other tracks worthy of a mention towards the latter end of CD1, where the music becomes slightly more spacey, but in truth I loved the mix the whole way through.

Alongside Guy Gerber's Fabric mix, this is the pick of the mix cds released this year in my view. Cannot wait to see the fella live at Ministry of Sound next month!

Edit: ok, so I've absorbed Disc two now, and I'm pleased to say it carries the same mood as the first disc. The opener, 'Moon Rover' by Underset, is the pick of the bunch on this disc for me; this tune is every bit as good as 'Berlin', his previous release which featured on Nick Warren's Balance 18, and sets this second installment of Cattaneo magic off to the perfect start. Whilst there's less stand out moments on this disc, the disc as a whole is subtle and smooth and well worth delving into.

Great stuff Hernan, see you at Ministry in a few weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dream listen from start to finish, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
One of the first things that struck me about this latest Renaissance masters compilation from Hernan Cattaneo was the fact that it was very different from his previous masterful compilations in a sense that the sound he chose was very laid back mellow and dreamy & was a dream listen from start to finish. As usual Hernan has put a lot of hard work into his latest Masters series with a lot of the tracks in it produced by himself and fellow producers that sound fantastic & all blend together in great harmony. I think it is more than safe to say that yet again the master of the Master series has again mastered it with another fantastic Renaissance compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daring and Timely, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
There's simply no arguing that Hernan Cattaneo is currently in top form. Renaissance's latest release - Made up of a Chill Lounge Disc and a Night Club mix Disc, the compilation pushes the boundaries especially on Disc 1 - Daring and Timely, its creative, different and slick.

Disc one - a down tempo mix meant more for the post club chill out or an afternoon car ride than the peak time hours of a packed dance floor. The mix flows effortlessly from track to track,at first you wonder where he's going with this mix, but as each track drifts into the next you soon realise this is something special, as he takes you on a journey - similar to when he plays his live sets in a club - a journey that you won't forget and one that you will want to go on again and again. He ends the first Disc beautifully with tracks from Guy Gerber (The Mirror Game) Mercurio - (California) before unleashing the very funky Hal Incadenza - Ventura, to get you warmed up and ready for the more clubby Disc 2.

While not as experimental as the first disc, CD 2 has all the components of an excellent club mix - it keeps you interested with bassy techno and trippy progressive beats without being overbearing or too repetitive with some absolute gems that will make you want to hit the replay button over and over again.

Although it may be premature to proclaim Hernan Cattaneo's mix the best to date, You will struggle to find a better compiled double mix in the series - especially Disc 1 with that daring line of somewhere between downtempo/midtempo and loungy creative flow that just oozies class. Hernan has teamed up yet again with Renaissance to create a monster - a double disc set that promises to reignite interest in the commercial mix CD, and sell alot of albums for the record label, I have every confidence that this mix won't be his last for the label and that if you buy it you will enjoy it as much as everyone has who owns it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Bliss, 10 Oct 2012
By 
Frank Jackman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
More than I expected from Mr Cattaneo, crisp and soothing from start to end - What joy to get a CD that delivers the goods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what music is about!, 23 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
WOW, Another winner from the greatest Progressive dj there has been. His past Masters Series cd's were outstanding and yet again he delivers on all aspect of quality house. Theres something for everybody here and again this has not too be missed. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
Only listened to the second cd and I think id have to invent a new word to describe how good it is.Full of quality tracks but the one that stands out is Fran Von Vie feat Cio May-Wake me up When Everything Has Changed,It gives me a natural buzz and makes my eyes water every time I hear it.It really is stunning and is worth buying this cd just for that track alone and seriously if anyone thinks they have heard a better mix than this please let me know what it is.Jaw dropping stuff buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous !, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
This lad is turning out to be one of my favourite djs. This is a really great mix ! Great from the first track to the end - builds wonderful, very atmospheric, very funky and melodic, and mixed beautifully. prog house at its best. Another great 2 disk mix by this extremely talented guy ! Thank you for making my commute wonderful.

BTW has anyone else noticed that the track by Agoria mixed by Max Cooper is very reminiscent of the fabulous United Frequencies of Trance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Mix from the Argentinian, 16 Oct 2012
By 
Holmefield (Haddington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
I used to only listen to Progressive House music, but today I much prefer House/Tech-House and Techno.

However, I will always buy a Renaissance CD, as whether it's Digweed, Sasha, Cattaneo, Warren or Seaman, it's nearly always worth the 9 to listen to a well crafted mix. Some recent editions have been a bit plodding, but never a waste of money, especially as we're talking less than a tenner.

This CD is no exception: it's yet another well constructed Progressive House mix - CD 1 is softer than CD 2 - from a fantastic DJ, Hernan Cattaneo.

9 doesn't go far these days, and many say the mix CD is dead, but I wouldn't think twice about buying another Cattaneo/Renaissance Mix CD and am really looking forward to the Tale Of Us and Nick Warren editions forthcoming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Progressive house at it's best, 23 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
Really nice and progressive mix from Hernan here. It builds beautifully from start to finish on both CDs (each it's own mix) and takes you on an absorbing mix through progressive splendor. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyed this!, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo (Audio CD)
It took me a couple listens to get on board but Hernan has put something special together here, it is very easy listening and whether it is morning or evening the music does complement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd1d8e8)

This product

The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo
The Masters Series: Hernan Cattaneo by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews