Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit too short.........
An interesting little story from the king of the terror which features an elderly widower being haunted by faces from his past as he watches baseball on TV, the characters are well written but I think this could quite easily have been made into a longer story as the idea is sound.

2.99 does seem quite a high price for what is only just over 40 pages but it is...
Published on 23 Aug 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was good while it lasted
A really good story which raised lots of questions. The writing is solid and the characters strong. The novella seemed to end far too soon and i was left sort of disappointed. I would have loved to have known more about what happens at the end. (No spoilers here). It was a cheap read but i expected more. If you're a solid king fan like me then buy it, it's worth it to...
Published on 21 Aug 2012 by Alex Callaghan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was good while it lasted, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
A really good story which raised lots of questions. The writing is solid and the characters strong. The novella seemed to end far too soon and i was left sort of disappointed. I would have loved to have known more about what happens at the end. (No spoilers here). It was a cheap read but i expected more. If you're a solid king fan like me then buy it, it's worth it to read. If you're not and perhaps not used to reading King then start of with something else. I'd recommend one of his short story collections such as Night Shift or Skeleton Crew.

Good points:

Great and spooky storyline.
Interesting characters.
Keeps you hooked.

Bad points:

Far too short, hardly felt worth the money, even if it was only a 2.99
Too many questions left unanswered

Hope this review helps those who are wondering about purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit too short........., 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
An interesting little story from the king of the terror which features an elderly widower being haunted by faces from his past as he watches baseball on TV, the characters are well written but I think this could quite easily have been made into a longer story as the idea is sound.

2.99 does seem quite a high price for what is only just over 40 pages but it is Stephen King after all and I have read most of his work over the past couple of decades and this fits nicely in his portfolio.

Good story that could (& Should) have been longer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
To short and predictable.I love Stephen Kings full stories and not these collaborations.
A waste of money in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another King Classic., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
True King. Everyday happenings with just enough distortions to make it believable in your own mind. Twisted Mister for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not the best, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Lynne Seymour - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
The book was OK but a bit disappointing for Stephen King. I definitely prefer some of his other ones and wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable short story., 7 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
Being a massive fan of Stephen King this purchase was a 'no brainer'.
I did enjoy his previous work with Stewart O' Nan ("Faithful" a book about following the Boston Red Sox) and so was interested to see who a work of fiction would play out between the two.
King's hand in the story is evident (something I was concerned about). It is quite short at 40 pages and I read the story in one sitting and it left me wanting more.
I think all King fans will enjoy it but they may want to wait for his next short story collection where it will hopefully be collected in a real book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What u expect from Stephen king, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
another good story from the king
takes u on a roller coaster ride that I really enjoyed as usual could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
Another gem from Stephen King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
Need to get to grips and reread it! Maybe understand baseball! Short and sweet with a hidden message or meaning?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Review of a face in the crowd, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Face in the Crowd (Kindle Edition)
I was quite disappointed. I know it was only a short story, but, quite frankly, it was too short. I was only just getting going when it had finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Face in the Crowd
A Face in the Crowd by Stewart O'Nan
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews