Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple - but perfect for young kids.
Will wonders never cease?!! This is the second title from Developers, Excalibur Publishing, that seems to be OK. Excalibur games, up until now, have always been laugh-out-loud-and-point-at-the-screen dire, but this is the second title of their's I've played now which seems to be half decent.

I say half decent, but there are some caveats. This game is not going...
Published 16 months ago by The Truth

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lame, but could have been really good...
This game is an economy sim from a huge range of similar titles by Astragon. It is well thought out, has enough stats to be interesting but not enough to be annoying and a nice easy interface that takes seconds to learn. Basically you are running a camping site, and you have to ensure it makes money. You can have tents, caravans and chalets.

The trouble with...
Published 21 months ago by Sue Bentley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lame, but could have been really good..., 21 May 2013
By 
Sue Bentley (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This game is an economy sim from a huge range of similar titles by Astragon. It is well thought out, has enough stats to be interesting but not enough to be annoying and a nice easy interface that takes seconds to learn. Basically you are running a camping site, and you have to ensure it makes money. You can have tents, caravans and chalets.

The trouble with this game is it was clearly made with a budget. "OK Developer Person, you can have 50 items for people to play with and no more." And thats a shame. It means that we have a really nice cheery row of different coloured and well constructed tents, but only one dull dusty pathway. No paving, no patios , no roads and no tarmac. We have some finely detailed booths for coffee and icecream, and a dinky little table and chair set. But we have no cafes, no chips, no hot dogs or in fact anywhere these people can eat. We have a booth selling trinkets and a smashing boat hire place, but no shops not even somewhere to buy bread and milk. The playground equipment looks cute and has some nice animation, but it looks odd plonked down on a bit of dusty path.

Every aspect of the game is nicely done but there is not ENOUGH STUFF. My park looked dull with untidy sand paths and one type of square flower bed. The little people run amusingly for cover when it rains, but there are no events or challenges just the usual run of the mill economic quests.

I know its not The Sims. I know it doesn't cost forty quid a pop and it is a simple budget game, but if they had let the Developer Person have a bit more leeway it could have been good instead of lame. Going by the finely detailed things that they have allowed in, the other things would have been good too.

Its dull, but its easy to play and younger children might enjoy it for a while but it wont take long before they get very bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple - but perfect for young kids., 10 Oct. 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Will wonders never cease?!! This is the second title from Developers, Excalibur Publishing, that seems to be OK. Excalibur games, up until now, have always been laugh-out-loud-and-point-at-the-screen dire, but this is the second title of their's I've played now which seems to be half decent.

I say half decent, but there are some caveats. This game is not going to keep and adult entertained for instance - but if you have a young child (and particularly if you have ever taken them on holiday to Butlins or Centre Parks etc.) it's perfect.

You're basically the manager of a campsite which you have to build up as a business. You start off with tents but eventually be able to buy caravans and chalets for your guest. You'll have to hire staff such as cleaners and gardeners and, all in all, it's just right for children around the the ages of 5-10.

I think think Excalibur's dedication may have paid off and they've maybe found their niche. They should stop with the rubbish games like Streetw Sweeper Simulator and Tow Truck simulator 3 and dedicate their time to these sort of strategy based games aimed squarely at kids. It's potentially and new area of gaming and one they seem to do quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Plant trees and decorations to keep ambience levels high!', 29 May 2013
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's no secret that Excalibur, for lack of better terms, specialise in the field of simulation when such an opportunity arises. We've yet to see "Supermarket Trolley 2013", but it's not too late either...

Camping Manager 2012 epitomises an effort gone wrong, and I hope for the sake of other gamers that there really wasn't a '2011' edition beforehand. Here we have a game that struggles to justify its own existence to such an extent that, on the back of the artwork, a product feature is that it has 3D models.

The biggest problem with this software is that it offers almost no opportunities to develop a strategy. When you're therefore faced with such linear gameplay, everything becomes predictable and all too repetitive. Providing you hire the best staff available (a feature that dates back to Theme Hospital), your profits will take care of themselves and all you have to do is upgrade the facilities in your park, making the endeavour utterly unrewarding when there is zero chance element. It's akin to painting by numbers.

These mechanics are quite simply dated, and as a result, potential has been wasted. One argument would be that there is only so much you can 'simulate' as manager of a camping company, but if Excalibur were aware of this, then why bother creating the title in the first place? A more satisfying release would see actual camping facilities combined into a larger vision of holidaying, Butlins-esque.

Discussing the graphics of these titles is a little unnecessary, but I was moderately impressed that these are a step up from older titles. Now they're only in the 2003/4 era, rather than 2000... Even the required HDD space (which is just under 900mb) seems wasted. What the heck are they storing in there?

If indeed you are keen to run your own outdoor camping park, then you honestly can't put a foot wrong by just getting the original The Sims Complete Collection - with 'Vacations' expansion pack - and having a lot more fun in the process. Camping Manager 2012 is an exercise in boredom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable for a time but limited, 5 Jun. 2013
By 
love reading "marsy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I did enjoy this game and it is attractive and the features you can use are fun. To complete a level is quite challenging. All the features are easy to use and understand. A child would manage it well.
On the downside though, it is very limited. You can't do much with it and you get bored with it very quickly. I have used many apps and facebook games that are more addictive.
Overall, this is a good idea but it does not have enough in it to sustain interest.I recommend it for a child but this game needs developed to work in the adult market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gutted - could have been so much better., 30 May 2013
By 
Mellow Yellow (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was really excited about getting this game as I love all these tycoon style games but this is really naff.

It could and should have been superb but the gameplay is cheap and poor quality. Yes it was easy to install and yes its easy to play but theres not a lot to actually do.

Good for kids, but if you expect this to be like rollercoaster tycoon / transport tycoon then don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun camping, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
this one`s more for the younger members of the family. but still fun for you parents.
graphics ok for a small budget company and challenges get harder so some thinking about placement of camping items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PC "Business" simulation, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Easy to use; would have been 5* if clearer instructions, but managed to work round problems. Good fun to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for younger players, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Camping Manager is a fun and novel game, aimed at younger players, where you are the manager of a campsite who is tasked to develop the campsite by hiring employees, including gardeners and cleaners, using the your budget in the most efficient way you can.

The graphics are reasonable, but probably appreciated best by young gamers with not too high expectations.

Good fun for kids but short lived enjoyment for parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun....until it gets too predictable, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. Damian J. McGrath (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Camping Manager 2012 is from German developer Astregon and, as it says on the tin, allows you to create and manage your own camping resort.

Visually it's not bad for it's genre. There are over 50 different objects that you can place in your campsite, though a large portion of these are various plants and trees. The visitors to your campsite are quite varied in their appearance, and their animations are quite good. It's most amusing watching them all run for their accommodation when the rain starts. There is fair amount of variation in the weather, and you can always see what's coming up next with the forecast in the top right. The mechanic of placing objects is nice and easy to use, but only if you have a mouse and not a laptop trackpad.

The game has two modes, Free Play and Campaign, like most Sandpit Simulators do. In Free Play you pick a terrain type and off you go with no objectives and no win/lose conditions. In Campaign mode you start in Germany with a simple set of objectives to complete in a given time scale. After Germany you move to England, then Poland and so on, all the way around Europe. Each scenario has different objectives such as; 3* overall rating, have at least 5 Caravans or have a 72% satisfaction rating for previous customers. While this does lead you to play each scenario slightly differently, they can all be beat in the same fashion: Take out loan, buy 1 of every entertainment and supply item, place a few toilet and shower facilities about and spend the rest on accommodation (ensuring to buy your 5 caravans) hire some staff and then raise your prices and wait for the profits to roll in to pay off the loan.

The most variation comes really from the different landscapes in which you are tasked with molding into a campsite. There are no terrain modifying tools so you have to do with what you have, which is a bit trickier in the Alps scenario, but there is always enough room to build what you need. I mentioned before that the majority of the models were plants of some sort, but this is actually the key to a good campsite. Campers, especially the older generations, like their "Ambience," and placing a few trees around their Caravan or Chalet makes them happy chappies, even when there are stinky toilets on the other side of said trees.

What the game really lacks is any form of random events. It is simple enough to follow the same routine to complete every scenario and build a 5* Campsite, but if there were some interruption events, perhaps such as a fire, staff strike, food poisoning or yeti appearance, it would certainly make things a little more interesting.

That said, Camping Manager 2012 is still an addictive simulation game, and anyone who is into their simulations, or really likes Campsites, will enjoy this game. The graphics are not bad, and while all the voice-overs seem to be in German, it is easy to pick up and play and before you know it your whole evening is gone. Once you crack the strategy in how to build the perfect campsite however, you probably won't spend many more evenings on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple 'Zoo Tycoon' type of game - my teenage daughter thought it was OK, 17 Sept. 2013
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Camping Manager (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My 19 year old daughter is a Sims 3 fan'atic and also plays simple 'Big Fish' games and likes Mario Kart type racing games on the Wii/PS3. She always liked Roller Coaster & Zoo Tycoon and our family are avid campers (my daughters a Ranger Girl Guide). So a gentle camping manager game is likely to be her type of thing. And so it proved, she loaded the game on her Windows 7 64-bit hi-spec laptop and has happily already played the game for 3 or 4 hours now. There's a pdf 'how to play' manual on the CD, and a basic tutorial within the game. The rest you can work out as you go along. We haven't managed to get the cabins to open yet though, we put in water to the cabins after building them, but it says it needs water before the cabins can be used - may be a glitch. Although the game has the look and feel of the classic old roller coaster park game 'Theme Park World', it's nothing like as great a game to play, but my daughter did enjoy playing Camping Manager and gives it 3 stars. The draw of Sims3 with all the expansion packs does mean that this game is a filler rather than a main attraction, but she found it none the worse for that and good value at around £8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camping Manager (PC DVD)
Camping Manager (PC DVD) by Excalibur Video games publishing (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£5.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews