Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot better than the other reviewers say.
I wanted Painkiller on Xbox but it was announced but never released on the original xbox. So when I heard it was coming to 360 I was like I would get it when it was cheap. Last week it was £7:45 and it is worth it.

What you get is an old school shooters where they throw enemies at you like there is no tomorrow. This is a retro fps but I get really tired of...
Published 11 months ago by A. M. C. 2014

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Killer Spleen
The first person shooter has been a dominant force in gaming for over 20 years; ever since ‘Wolfenstein’ morphed into the likes of ‘Doom’ and ‘Quake’. These earlier FPS were action packed and pretty crazy; you ran around and shot everything that moved. The multiplayer aspects of ‘Call of Duty’ may suggest things have not...
Published 4 months ago by Sam Tyler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot better than the other reviewers say., 12 Jan 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Painkiller: Hell & Damnation (Xbox 360) (Console)
I wanted Painkiller on Xbox but it was announced but never released on the original xbox. So when I heard it was coming to 360 I was like I would get it when it was cheap. Last week it was £7:45 and it is worth it.

What you get is an old school shooters where they throw enemies at you like there is no tomorrow. This is a retro fps but I get really tired of the call of duty lead you everywhere game play. This game does not lead you anywhere you need to make up your own mind on some of the levels. Most of the time it is a corridor shooter. So if you liked Soldier of fortune you will love this.

They have taken your girlfriend to hell. You sign up with the head demon to collect 7000 souls in order to free her so you can be together.
This game is not without its faults and I noticed a bit of slow down with the gigantic enemies.

Oh the whole I have really enjoyed my 5 hours playing the game and I still have not beaten it. I beat it in about 7 hours. The PC version is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Killer Spleen, 6 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Painkiller: Hell & Damnation (Xbox 360) (Console)
The first person shooter has been a dominant force in gaming for over 20 years; ever since ‘Wolfenstein’ morphed into the likes of ‘Doom’ and ‘Quake’. These earlier FPS were action packed and pretty crazy; you ran around and shot everything that moved. The multiplayer aspects of ‘Call of Duty’ may suggest things have not moved on much, but in fact they have a lot. Story and subtle movement are far more key. However, there are still fans of the 90s FPS glory days who just want a game that will allow them to run and gun. For these people they can now play ‘Painkiller: Hell and Damnation’ on console, but do they really want to?

‘Painkiller’ is a very old fashioned shooter that cannot hide its roots as an older PC shooter spruced up for the modern market. However, not that spruced up. This is a game that harks back to the days of the Quake style engine that provided any colour known to man, as long as it was in a shade of brown. The game just looks depressing and boxy. The old fashioned feel of the game also continues in level and control design. The character is far too fast and feels like he would be played best with a mouse and keyboard, not a joy pad. The levels also feel very late 90s, early 00s, with the boxy nature of the maps and endless corridors.

As someone who loved ‘Half Life 2’ and later ‘Bioshock’ I think gaming has moved on since the days of games like ‘Painkiller’. However, there will be some people who with love the senseless shooting of ‘Painkiller’. I am not one of these people. Having endless enemies running at me with poor AI is not my idea of fun and if it was, I would play the openly insane ‘Serious Sam’ games instead. ‘Painkiller’ is a long buried game that should have remained 6 feet under because this version is a bit smelly and flaky round the edges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retro to the Core, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painkiller: Hell & Damnation (Xbox 360) (Console)
Tired of objective shooters? Stealth games? Want to just blast everything away like they did back in the day of previous generations. Now you can! Painkiller Hell and Damnation is a hardcore, pure FPS game where the only strategy is kill. You must do so in the fiery depths of Hell.

The original Painkiller was on the Xbox and it was a classic. It's great to have a sequel almost 10 years later.

If you love retro shooters like Doom, Shadow Warrior, Duke Nukem, then this guaranteed fun. It has online co-op and online multiplayer. The game will take at least 40 hours to complete everything.

Rating: A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK..., 13 Oct 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painkiller: Hell & Damnation (Xbox 360) (Console)
I bought this as I remember playing on the PC years ago and thinking it was awesome. It's a good game but to be fair gets pretty repetitive after a while on the XBox. It's also a bit of a struggle to see things I find despite switching the brightness up on the TV. Whereas on the PC you're a lot closer to the screen on the XBox you're further away and ultimately the whole game is you running around in low light. Its also a lot tougher on the XBox as on the PC you're using a mouse so can pinpoint enemies very rapidly - the XBox controller system works well but because you are literally swamped with enemies it's not as effective as the point and click on the mouse, so you can get caught out more easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painkiller: Hell & Damnation (Xbox 360) (Console)
Great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cow, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Painkiller: Hell & Damnation (Xbox 360) (Console)
its so terrible i dont know what its about!!!!!!!!!!¡xx¡ but seroisly its like a tede to a pop pop no wjat im saying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Painkiller: Hell & Damnation (Xbox 360)
Painkiller: Hell & Damnation (Xbox 360) by Nordic Games (Xbox 360)
£7.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews