Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marcel Pagnol - La Gloire de Mon Pere and Le Chateau de ma Mere
Most enjoying for the 65+ French that remember what our Grand-Mothers told us about our families during the1900ish. Families were split between those who were still for a return to a royal family, very pre-Vatican 2 Roman Catholics and those who were 'radical', anti-clerical and most republican. In reality, such different views could be more aggressive, like during...
Published 6 months ago by Miss Brigitte Lardier

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars From an other source I however found a perfect box set so I'm happy nevertheless
"La Gloire de mon Père" had a fault (breaking up in sound and picture) about half an hour through the the DVD.
I was sent a replacement, which manifested however the same fault, which made me suspect that the Master Copy itself is faulty.
I also returned the second box set and have been reimbursed with the money. Thank you.
From an other...
Published 29 days ago by d.laan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marcel Pagnol - La Gloire de Mon Pere and Le Chateau de ma Mere, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most enjoying for the 65+ French that remember what our Grand-Mothers told us about our families during the1900ish. Families were split between those who were still for a return to a royal family, very pre-Vatican 2 Roman Catholics and those who were 'radical', anti-clerical and most republican. In reality, such different views could be more aggressive, like during l'affaire Dreyfus. Now in the news, Marcel painted the Alsace and Lorraine purple. France lost the Alsace and Loraine after the defeat of Sedan in 1870. The French did not go to War in 1914 'for God, King and Country' but singing 'Vous n'aurez pas l'Alsace et la Loraine' (You won't have the Alsace/Loraine). Under a 'feel good factor and bitter-sweet' story, it is wonderfully accurate when it comes to lifestyle etc. I thoroughly enjoy Marcel Pagnol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Pagnol stories brought to life on screen., 3 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two lovely,gentle and wistful French films about a boy growing up in Marseilles and Provence. Beautifully filmed and full of light humour and a little drama.sad also how the second film(Le chateau....) ends.After the idyllic days of childhood death and the dark shadow of war ends an era of peace and seemingly never-ending summer.Delightfully acted as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite French Films., 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Gloire de Mon Père & Le Château de Ma Mère Blu Ray Box Set [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
To get both of these films in one set is a bargain. Blu-ray disc quality is very good. Subtitles in English cannot be switched off, so if you speak French it is better to get the French release from Amazon in France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biographical stories as told by Marcel Pagnol in his original books of the same name, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful stories, funny and moving, that are here beautifully acted. The films actually lived up to the books - amazingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gentle, fascinating, transports the viewer to another world - if you loved Jean de Fleurette you'll love this. One of those films you'll always remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
Mikel (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The setting and photography were stunning, the acting was superb, and the simple, moving story make these movies a joy to watch. I can thoroughly recommend them. The beauty of the scenery means that following subtitles is no chore at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two superb films. Writing, direction, acting and filming of the highest order.Not only that, the price was excellent and they arrived sooner than expected. I'm a happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars From an other source I however found a perfect box set so I'm happy nevertheless, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"La Gloire de mon Père" had a fault (breaking up in sound and picture) about half an hour through the the DVD.
I was sent a replacement, which manifested however the same fault, which made me suspect that the Master Copy itself is faulty.
I also returned the second box set and have been reimbursed with the money. Thank you.
From an other source I however found a perfect box set so I'm happy nevertheless.
This experience will enhance my confidence in the good services of Amazon.UK
D.Laan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two wonderful films, 14 Feb. 2015
I decided to purchase these two films after being 'enthralled' by Jean de Florette and then Manon des Source.
Both Le Chateau and La Gloire are simple and gentle stories, the characters immensely likeable [especially the mother - played by Nathalie Roussel] and the filming of the Provence countryside brings back happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative of another era in France!, 7 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Gloire de Mon Père & Le Château de Ma Mère Blu Ray Box Set [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have longed to see these films since I first did so nearly 20 years ago. Every bit as stunning and evocative as 'Jean de Florette' and 'Manon des Sources' (very popular films in the late 80's also based on Marcel Pagnol's novels)and conveying all that is wonderful about the landscape of Southern France and the world from a child's perspective. I simply must see these again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

La Gloire de Mon Père & Le Château de Ma Mère Blu Ray Box Set [Blu-ray]
£28.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews