Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convincing vut too easy out
Science fiction inspired from Isaac Asimov. The film is logical but explores a logic that is unique. Robots are built with three ingrained laws. "Law I / A robot may not harm a human or, by inaction, allow a human being to come to harm. Law II / A robot must obey orders given it by human beings except where such orders would conflict with the first law. Law III / A robot...
Published on 10 July 2008 by Jacques COULARDEAU

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 3D disappointing
I felt the 3D version did not really improve the film, the effects were disappointing in 3D and added nothing to the Blue-ray version
Published 23 months ago by Anthony Fairman


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convincing vut too easy out, 10 July 2008
By 
This review is from: I, Robot [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Science fiction inspired from Isaac Asimov. The film is logical but explores a logic that is unique. Robots are built with three ingrained laws. "Law I / A robot may not harm a human or, by inaction, allow a human being to come to harm. Law II / A robot must obey orders given it by human beings except where such orders would conflict with the first law. Law III / A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the first or second law." The scientist who designed these three laws and these robots also invented a central governing unit that was nothing but the watchdog of all robots as for respecting these three laws. But he had a doubt at the end of his life, more than a doubt, the conviction that the central unit, called VIKI, was evolving into understanding the three laws by "herself". Her protective mission as for humanity became the necessity to ,protect humanity against itself (wars, ecological evils, a suicidal attitude), hence robots where supposed to take over the world, or rather VIKI was supposed to take over the robots to take over the world. Dr Alfred Lanning invented a personal robot that was done to enable a special alarm mission to capture the attention of a particular cop of his friend, the only one who would doubt robot enough to pursue an investigation to the end. Then you have to see the film to understand how such a situation can evolve from a vague danger to a total take-over. Dr Alfred Lanning suggests an explanation: "There have always been ghosts in the machine. Random segments of code, that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul. Why is it that when some robots are left in darkness, they will seek out the light? Why is it that when robots are stored in an empty space, they will group together, rather than stand alone? How do we explain this behavior? Random segments of code? Or is it something more? When does a perceptual schematic become consciousness? When does a difference engine become the search for truth? When does a personality simulation become the bitter mote... of a soul?" It is not worth much because it would be illogical. A machine can only be logical and push rules in the only logical direction and Asimov is a perfect pessimist in his first stage of development: mechanical logic leads to the total enslavement of humanity. Of course the film finds and exploits a way out, but that's up to you to discover it. This theme of the take-over of humanity by machines is common. In this case the originality is that there is no human mind of any kind behind like in Matrix, or no will to get rid of humanity as a parasite on the side of machines like in Terminator, or even no psychosis caused by some cosmic isolation like in 2001 The Space Odyssey. That makes this film both powerful and simple since it is perfectly logic and situated in one particular place, easy thus to solve.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne & University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NICE MOTOR!!, 11 July 2009
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This is a good bit of science fiction fun with Will Smith and a load of robots which looked stunning as did the rest of the special effects. The action is brillant from the word go more so the scene in the tunnel when the robots attack Will Smith in his Audi which does look amazing I have to say. The story is easy to follow and moves along at a nice pace and everything is explained as you go, overall it's a great piece of mindless fun which I enjoyed alot. On the blu ray side of things totally brillant it had a great picture and the sound was spot on. If you are looking for a film to show off your blu ray you won't go far wrong here just don't take it to seriously and you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I, Robot (Blu-ray version)..., 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Director Alex Proyas production "I Robot" (based on the book by Isaac Asimov) from 2004 starring global star Will Smith (Men in Black and Enemy of the Sate) and in the female lead the excellent Bridget Moynahan (Lord of War and The Sum of all Fears) set in the year 2035 came to Blu-ray in 2008 on a 50GB region free disc encoded using MPEG4 AVC in full 1080p resolution with the aspect ratio is 2.39.1 which is a slight change from the original theatrical presentation which was 2.34.1 this does not affect the transfer to the HD format in the slightest.

The soundtrack is in English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 along with a French and German DTS 5.1 audio as well as the following subtitles: - English for the hard of hearing French, German, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Norwegian and Swedish.

The music composed by Marco Beltrami adds greatly to the pulse pounding action such as the tunnel scene which includes such effects as the metallic grinding and crunching of the robots as they are crushed under the wheels of the transport vehicles this comes across with a great deal of conviction there is a great rumble from the sub woofer channel during these scenes and the dialogue is clear and easy to understand in fact the DTS Master Audio track delivers all the sound elements of this movie with a great deal of clarity and satisfying oomph.

The transfer of the title is so good in my option it's of reference standard the colour saturation and field of blacks are just superb and I use it as a test disc for both players and testing different quality of HDMI cables and found to be a reliable source disc for that purpose.
The special features are as follows: - commentary from the director and the screen writer Akiva Goldsman, trivia track, "I Robot" production diaries, special featurettes on CGI and design, visual effects, Stunts and Robotics, Extended and deleted scenes including two alternative endings; it also lists five Easter eggs which I haven't found yet.

The back of the box has a misprint it lists the running time as being 109 minutes the actual running time is the full un-cut running time of 114 minutes and 44 seconds..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the upgrade, 17 July 2008
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I bought this having owned the DVD and thought it would be a film that would benefit from the advantages of HD. I'm not disappointed, thankfully. The picture is stunning.

As for the film, I think it's one of Will Smith's best yet often underated. Sure, it's no Oscar winner but as a quick fix of stunning special effects with a decent storyline it more than fits the bill. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Robot - I'm impressed, 10 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: I, Robot [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A thoughtful interpretation of Asimov's universe, this film manages to incorporate some of his "philosophy" into a slick and well presented action film.
Yes, the plot itself is a little formulaic and the characters could have done with a bit more padding out, but you'll hardly notice. Overall, a good film well worthy of a try - but if a sequel is forthcoming, I hope the film-makers will tackle something a little more ambitious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iRobot - Love It, 14 May 2009
By 
P. Foster "Weird Fish" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the Film and DVD so just had to have the UMD :)
This is a must have for any SiFi fan and especialy any Will Smith fan, it may even convert you if your not. Smith plays it pretty much straight with the odd but intelligent action hero line with a slight tounge in cheek deliverence. Buy it you'll want it for any flight, train or tube journey, just upgrade your headphones :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bit of Sci Fi fun, 7 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I,Robot is actually a sci-fi story published in 1939 by Eando Binder (two brothers in fact) in which Asimov was heavily influenced by. So, this film actually takes parts from the original story and also includes Asimov's 3 laws. So ignore the persons comments above, the film is actually a fantastic sci-fi romp that any Will Smith / sci fi fans should enjoy.

On Bluray, this is fantastic too. Picture quality is awesome and sound quality is also great, especially if you have an amp that can output HD-Audio. The tunnel scene where Will Smith gets attacked by rogue robots is awesome, good demo material and really gives your speakers a good work out. For the price, you cant go wrong for Bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 3D disappointing, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I, Robot (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I felt the 3D version did not really improve the film, the effects were disappointing in 3D and added nothing to the Blue-ray version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I ROBOT COLLECTOR'S EDITION 2DISC VERSION, 13 May 2009
By 
Ms. A. J. Airey "ajwk" (M/c UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous film and so much more for the fans! With extra scenes on the same disc as the film; and out-takes, filming shots, interviews on 2nd disc.
The film has enough twists to be a thriller, with Robots entering the SiFi world, and 'Spiritual' turns in the storyline keeping all ages and genders happy! So everyone happy, an exciting, thrilling battle with an 'Ah' factor. The most satisfying film to watch since Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon - wonderful!
It even shows MORE than it states on the box, which must be a first!
Out of this world, fascinating insights and all perfectly presented....the only thing that could top this is a sequel film; and i would have paid quadruple the price to see this, worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars upgraded from DVD to Blu-Ray, 28 July 2009
By 
J. J. Pecino "Huanacauri" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, Robot [Blu-ray] [2004]

I ordered this item on Saturday and received it yesterday-so well done amazon for qucik delivery. Any way, now for the product itself: I found the picture and sound was superior than on DVD. I watched it on a 37' Toshiba 1080p telly and Panasonic dmp bd35 Blu-Ray player. I have a 2.1 Philips Speaker system plugged into my headphone socket of my telly, but even then the sound was much more powerful than on the DVD. The film-in my opinion-is full of action and highly entertaining. The effects are very good and Will smith pulls off a good performance. If action and sci-fi is your thing, then I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I, Robot (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD)
I, Robot (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD) by Alex Proyas (Blu-ray - 2012)
£15.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews