Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!
I find it hard to believe this is the debut novel from these co authors!
Whatever system they devised for conspiring to write a story together - really works!
The light hearted style makes for an easy comfortable and relaxed read - perfect for lazing on a beach whilst on holiday or chilling out on a rainy Sunday afternoon. However do not be deceived by the easy...
Published on 8 Aug. 2012 by Neil

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars These guys can write...
...no doubt about that. For a debut novel, "Letter to India" is an impressive piece of work from Benedict Beaumont and Lucy Robson. Clearly drawn characters with depth, back story (a lot of back story!) and loud (at times oppressively so) voices narrate their interlinked tales of love, loss, anger, fear and sadness.

By the end of the slightly too long book,...
Published on 26 Aug. 2012 by niallgavinuk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars These guys can write..., 26 Aug. 2012
By 
niallgavinuk (Brighton & Hove, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter to India (Kindle Edition)
...no doubt about that. For a debut novel, "Letter to India" is an impressive piece of work from Benedict Beaumont and Lucy Robson. Clearly drawn characters with depth, back story (a lot of back story!) and loud (at times oppressively so) voices narrate their interlinked tales of love, loss, anger, fear and sadness.

By the end of the slightly too long book, which ironically felt a little rushed and un-resolved at the end, I was not unhappy to say goodbye to Matt and Bailey, but equally wished them well in the future - such was the power of the story, the vividness of the characters and the turmoil of emotions I had shared with them.

The third and equally powerful character in the story is India itself. Clearly the authors have experience of this fascinating country, its people - natives and incomers/visitors - and it's contradictions. It makes India as complex and as alive as the two protagonists.

In conclusion, I should confess to some insight here, as I know one of the authors personally, and am in no doubt as to who their character really is. I hope that writing this novel laid some ghosts for them. Brave and impressive writing. I look forward to their future work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, 8 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter to India (Kindle Edition)
I find it hard to believe this is the debut novel from these co authors!
Whatever system they devised for conspiring to write a story together - really works!
The light hearted style makes for an easy comfortable and relaxed read - perfect for lazing on a beach whilst on holiday or chilling out on a rainy Sunday afternoon. However do not be deceived by the easy going delivery - underneath the surface lies a captivating story based around well rounded and developed characters - characters in whom most people are likely to find some personal empathy. You will find yourself compelled to find out where their story is leading and as a result will not be able to put the book down until you reach the surprising climax!
BUY THIS BOOK and support these authors - we need to encourage them to produce more output!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent novel, 8 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Letter to India (Kindle Edition)
Interesting title, beautifully crafted and written. Thought provoking which left an impression after I had finished the book. Well worth a read; kept thinking I could see a film in here, glad I read the book first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Debut., 28 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Letter to India (Kindle Edition)
Being a debut novel from these two writers, I wasn't expecting such a beautifully penned, thought provoking story. The evolution of the characters throughout was fascinating and, I must admit, kept me hooked right to the end. The fact that the two writers apparently worked independently on their pieces I feel lent a great authenticity to the book. A very enjoyable read indeed, and I must agree with some of the other reviews on here that it certainly has movie potential. Well done, guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Letter to India, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter to India (Kindle Edition)
Promising writing; raw and painfully honest, with a touch of enlightenment towards the end. The dual authorship works well within the theme and gives depth and intrigue to the characters. Alas, the book doesn't feel finished. Maybe we can hope for a sequel; not so much to tie up the loose ends, but to see the ascent of the man and the woman, (whether together or apart) as they transmute their pain into wisdom and transcend into hero and heroine...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, fascinating characters, 17 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letter to India (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful book that gripped me from the start. Watching the characters change and learn from their experiences was fascinating. I completely agree with the reviewer who thought it would make a good film. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letter to India
Letter to India by Benedict Beaumont
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews