Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three stories in one.
In a nut shell this book is about three different parts of Conqueror's history:
1) The Falklands - Which is very interesting and detailed, but doesn't reveal anything new.
2) The Political fallout of the Government's lies and their shameful attempt to cover them up by smearing some of the crew/civil service.
3) A top secret cold war operation that took...
Published 20 months ago by theshiresuk

versus
50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Conqueror Secrets
I have few quibbles with the first 138 pages of the book which were factual and interesting. The next 40 pages are devoted to a tedious blow by blow account of Tam Dalyell's crusade against Margaret Thatcher, making me cross enough to vent my opinions. With these reservations on a very readable book, I have reduced my rating from 4* to 3* hoping Mr Prebble will read...
Published 19 months ago by John McGregor


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three stories in one., 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In a nut shell this book is about three different parts of Conqueror's history:
1) The Falklands - Which is very interesting and detailed, but doesn't reveal anything new.
2) The Political fallout of the Government's lies and their shameful attempt to cover them up by smearing some of the crew/civil service.
3) A top secret cold war operation that took place just after the Falklands war.
All three sections are interesting, the middle section probably being the most intriguing regardless of the fact it has little to do with the sub itself.

Overall a very good book. I just wish there were more details on the cold war ops, but as the author pointed out, many of these are still covered by the official secrets act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Conqueror Secrets, 15 Jan 2013
I have few quibbles with the first 138 pages of the book which were factual and interesting. The next 40 pages are devoted to a tedious blow by blow account of Tam Dalyell's crusade against Margaret Thatcher, making me cross enough to vent my opinions. With these reservations on a very readable book, I have reduced my rating from 4* to 3* hoping Mr Prebble will read them.

Firstly, the whole Barmaid operation was fascinating and news to me. The supreme ship-handling skill of Commander Wreford-Brown deserves recognition but one wonders why the MOD allowed any details to be published. The Russian Navy is the same as that under the USSR and to hear that we had stolen the towed array from an AGI in the Barents Sea and possibly from within their territorial waters will not go down well at all. The Russians have long memories.

Chapter 16 exposes the disgraceful way the 'Media' acts and was an eye opener. Regarding defamation, the fact that when World in Action is faced with legal action for wrongly defaming an innocent person, the Lawyers ask 'Is he rich?' and if the answer is 'No' then they worry less. The Mail-on-Sunday's bullying tactics and the attempt to 'secure their costs' are distasteful. Stuart Prebble may regard himself as a distinguished journalist and fearless exposer of the truth. He also gives the impression in page after page that his 'left of centre' views are correct and to be admired. With reluctance, he accepts (page 147) that the electorate disagreed with him both in 1983 and 1987.

Prebble quotes statements by Admiral Sir Terence Lewin on page 210 '...adamant that there was no discussion or knowledge of the peace plan when the decision was made' and on page 212 '...the feeling in the War Cabinet and certainly within the military, by 25th or 26th April, that a negotiated settlement was not on.' Lewin, an outstanding naval officer and as straight as a dye, had served throughout WW2 and knew as much as anyone alive about naval warfare. What he stated should be believed and given far more weight than those of lesser mortals.

I was serving on board HMS Fearless at Ascension Island at the time and it was obvious to me that we were in for a fight and we knew that the Argentinian Navy and Airforce were formidable opposition. We sailed from Ascension on May 8th with three warships shepherding the whole Amphibious force for our 3700 mile passage to the landings. Fearless and Intrepid were armed with just Seacat missiles and Bofors guns while Antelope had a 4 inch gun. Belgrano with her fifteen x 6 inch guns and her Exocet armed destroyers would have been overwhelming opposition and should not be so under-estimated (page 122).

On May 1st the Task Force entered the 200 mile total exclusion zone with the Veintecinco de Mayo group to the north and the Belgrano group to the south, both circling just outside it. The Veintecinco de Mayo actually tried to launch her aircraft to attack Hermes and Invincible but there was inadequate wind over the deck. It was vital to take the opportunity to sink Belgrano while Conqueror was in the trail. Admiral Woodward sent the signal telling Conqueror to sink the Belgrano on Sunday morning May 2nd. He was not authorised to give this order and CinC's staff took it off the broadcast before Conqueror had a chance to see it. Admiral Fieldhouse sped off to Chequers to attend a hastily organised War cabinet; by 1300 Admiral Lewin had gained approval from the Prime Minister to sink the Belgrano and by late afternoon she was torpedoed. Considering the complexity and its importance this was a fast sequence of decision making. Prebble scorns this by saying on page 109, 'Though it plainly seemed a matter of urgency to Woodward, equally plainly it did not seem a matter of urgency to anyone else'. This is just rubbish.

It is sad indeed that after 30 years, Prebble still doesn't 'get it' despite all his research. He fails to understand the urgent need when the Task Force entered the TEZ to confront the Argentinian navy when we had the chance. What mattered was the position of Belgrano due south of the TEZ and the fact that Conqueror had the chance to attack her, and the opportunity could not be ignored since it might not rise again. Her course at the time was irrelevant as were the so called Peruvian initiatives. She was not sailing away from the Task Force but parallel to the edge of the TEZ. We hadn't assembled over 100 ships to poise in the South Atlantic, with time fast running out for the landings. The country would not have forgiven Margaret Thatcher if she had failed to win. She was not motivated by a wish to get re-elected but by a determination to do the right thing for the country. Sinking Belgrano sent the Argentinian Navy packing, saving many British lives including possibly my own.

Sethia. The book describes a strange young man, bright and talented but unreliable and he probably left the RN at the right stage, unlikely to conform sufficiently to advance far. I have admiration for his determined pursuit of the 'Mail on Sunday' for defamation, and sympathy for his conclusion on page 225 that many will still believe he took the logs, as (like me) they missed his successful court action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Read, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Conqueror: The Untold Story of Britain's Most Famous Submarine (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book and was gripped by the first half which included the operational story of HMS Conqueror, but I did feel it went a bit flat towards the end. Still a good book overall though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True to life, 26 Oct 2012
By 
L. F. Dutton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was good to see a book of this type published and exposing some of the heat of the Cold War that we subamriners operated in during the 70's and 80's.

I served on the Conqueror during all three of the Barmaid operations so I can say with hand on heart what was written, however sparse regarding Barmaid is truthful.

What I did not know about because he had left the RN was the way Sethia was being treated, so the exposure of the tricks and nastiness that he was exposed to were of interest and form part of the overall story.I hope a few politicians might read the book and hang their heads.

This book is well written and within the limitations the author had to work under, he cannot offer a bibliography or references as the people who spoke could still potentially be tried under the OSA and the logs are still 'missing'.

Secrets of the Conqueror: The Untold Story of Britain's Most Famous Submarine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Conqueror: The Untold Story of Britain's Most Famous Submarine (Kindle Edition)
More than just one sinking, this is the back story. Well told and held my attention from start ti finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A insight into the silent service, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Conqueror: The Untold Story of Britain's Most Famous Submarine (Kindle Edition)
An interesting story about the truth and political shenanigans that followed the sinking of the Belgrano. The story also gives a little known in sight into the unknown espionage that took place during the "Cold War". Easy and interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, really enjoyed the read, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the book, very factual and correct to real life in the submarine service (speaking as an ex-submariner during the cold war)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see the RN geting some credit, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting read which finally throws some light onto British cold war Submarine operations and a welcome addition to a few other books such as "Blind mans buff" and the fascinating "Silent War" by John P. Craven. The operations described here actually interested me a great deal more than the actual Belgrano incident and all of its' subsequent fall out. Politically, the book does no favours to the government of the day and does much to illustrate the mood and feeling of the time. All in all, a good book that is well worthwhile for any cold war student and a rare glimpse into the less publicised world of undersea operations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, pity about the one-eyed detour halfway through, 15 Oct 2012
This review is from: Secrets of the Conqueror: The Untold Story of Britain's Most Famous Submarine (Kindle Edition)
An utterly fascinating book about the UK submarine which sunk the Belgrano but also snaffled a Soviet towed sonar array from behind an unsuspecting Polish 'trawler'. Not much of the Belgrano stuff is earth-shatteringly new but it is both detailed and well-written.

What was very new, at least to me, was the towed array larceny which seems close to impossible but which apparently did happen.

It's a pity that the description of the two major events sandwich a seemingly-endless rehash of the debate about where the Belgrano was sailing when she was torpedoed told in a one-eyed, utterly judgmental way. Could have been written by Tam Dalyell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stranger than Fiction, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Conqueror: The Untold Story of Britain's Most Famous Submarine (Kindle Edition)
A well researched account of the exploits of HMS Conqueror before during and after the Falklands War.

Read it and be amazed! I particularly like it as I get a mention by name!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews