Customer Reviews


312 Reviews
5 star:
 (292)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing story
`The Little Girl in the Radiator' is a real delight for any reader. It is truly a wonderfully written book and one that maintained my interest from beginning to end. The author, Martin Slevin, explains/deals with the complex issue of Alzheimer's disease in the most compassionate, clear and simplest of ways. He really has mastered the art of storytelling. The book is...
Published on 22 Feb 2011 by Sydney Joe

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it was okay
I had hoped for something more it didn't consume me with emotion couldn't understand some decisions at some points It was okay
Published 3 months ago by mr J. R Dymock


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing story, 22 Feb 2011
`The Little Girl in the Radiator' is a real delight for any reader. It is truly a wonderfully written book and one that maintained my interest from beginning to end. The author, Martin Slevin, explains/deals with the complex issue of Alzheimer's disease in the most compassionate, clear and simplest of ways. He really has mastered the art of storytelling. The book is written in such away that each chapter is very self contained, easy to pickup, read, put down and start again at a later date. Martin's style is clear, expressive and always easy to follow. At times this book is hilariously funny, whilst other times very moving bringing tears to my eyes. I was captivated all the way through and would highly recommend this book to anyone - not just those who have come into contact with Alzheimers. Written by Joe from Sydney
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight into living with a relative with Alzheimers, 4 Aug 2012
By 
Olwynne Frankton "ollyfran" (Coventry UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Girl in the Radiator: Mum Alzheimer's & Me (Kindle Edition)
What a wonderfully written book.
It made me laugh out loud at the descriptions of some of her antics and cry with sadness when the understanding of the Little Girl in the Radiator is revealed.
I too have a Mum with Alzheimers although Dad is her main carer. I know what a saint he is coping 24 hours a day with Mum's repetitiveness and moodiness. This book helps you to see the illness from the sufferers perspective even though she was unable to verbalise exactly how she felt. Martin (her son) was able to read between the lines of the chaotic mind of his Mum's Alzheimers to interpret her feelings.
My Mum does not hallucinate at the moment but she does do and say things repetitively to the point that you feel you will go demented too, but this book has helped me enormously. It also brings home the difference in care homes and should it ever come to it I shall be very careful to check them out thoroughly before allowing Mum to reside there.
Thank you Martin for showing us the funny side (probably only in retrospect!) and revealing the very sad side of Alzheimers.
A book I would very highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book, you are not alone, 10 Oct 2010
A moving, loving, and sometimes hilarious portrait of the decline of a loved one into this awful disease. So little is understood, well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Hilarious and Moving, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Downloaded this book and have not put it down. Hilarious anecdotes of Martins mother Rose and her life with Altzheimers. Crushingly moving and very down to earth Martin has lived with the reality of this disease. Fantastically written and a real page turner, Martins mum would have been so proud of him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best book that I have ever read, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not put this book down once I started reading it. It was so well written, so hilarious in places and yet so sad. It has had me laughing out loud one minute and reduced me to tears the next! Thankfully I have not experienced this illness in my family and hopefully never will but if I do, I feel more prepared for it now that I have read Martin's experience of it. His advice at the end of the book, no doubt will be of great help to others who find themselves in a similar situation. I hope that this book raises awareness of the terrible illness.
I admire Martin Slevin for the way he looked after his mum and am glad that he has written the book to share his experience with others. I wish him well with it and recommend that you buy this book, you will not be disapppointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly written, very emotional., 8 Nov 2012
By 
C. Brennan "CB72" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Girl in the Radiator: Mum Alzheimer's & Me (Kindle Edition)
I have not experienced Alzheimers first hand, but I do have parents who are becoming more fragile. Martin Slevin has written this book from an average person's viewpoint and as such it really draws you in and enables you to understand the day to day struggles of a person with Alzheimers and their family/friends who support them. It was a very touching, engaging, and emotional book; I would recommend everyone to read it. It is only through seeing what this awful condition does not just to the person but also their support network that this country can start to understand what is needed to help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tha little girl in the radiator, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Girl in the Radiator: Mum Alzheimer's & Me (Kindle Edition)
I hope that Martin Slevin reads these reviews as he should be very very proud of this little book. If you have ever suffered the pain of your loved ones living with Alzheimers you soon realise that Martins story of his mother is everything that you have gone through........the emotional rollercoaster of each turn of the page has you laughing out loud,shedding a few tears [more than once in both cases], reading paragraphs or sometimes pages to your better half and remernising your own memories.If there is a book award for this kind of book it should be given to Martin........an absolute little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little girl in the radiator, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a lovely true story,will make you laugh,and cry near the end for his loss.But,it's a must for those who are,or have been affected by Alzheimers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little girl in the Radiator, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very touching, beautifully written account of a lady with Alzheimers and the effect it can have not only the patient but the whole family. It tells of the difficulty of recognising and dealing with the effects of Alzheimers, the Professionals and the 'System' and finding the right people and place for Rose to be cared for when it was becoming difficult for Martin to care for her at home. Often very funny but at the same time really sad. A truly "must" read for everyone whether or not they have a loved one with Alzheimers. Being in the position of caring for my partner with early onset of dementia I can truly relate to many of the situations Martin has encountered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing read, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book makes compulsive reading,once you pick it up you can not put it down. Sometimes funny sometimes sad. Martin Slavin wrote this book to let us know the living hell of alzheimers. Thanks for a wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5943660)

This product

Only search this product's reviews