Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art's Gallery!
Another brilliant set from the Original Album Classics series gives us AG's first five glorious albums.It's such a shame that when Simon and Garfunkel split Paul seemed to take the "coolness" of S&G with him and I know one or two fans of the duo that continued to buy Paul's albums but considered Art a little too MOR.No matter how hard I tried I just couldn't convince them...
Published 21 months ago by Richard de Jongh-richiedj

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One classic and 4 duds
I owned Angel Clare and Breakaway on vinyl, so saw this set as being a good way of getting my vinyl onto CD ... plus get some more music from Art. Only thing is ... while Breakaway us a total classic with loads of good songs on it, I always struggled to like Angel Clare. I've tried really hard to like these albums because I do love Breakaway ... but the song choice...
Published 18 months ago by Mike Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art's Gallery!, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Another brilliant set from the Original Album Classics series gives us AG's first five glorious albums.It's such a shame that when Simon and Garfunkel split Paul seemed to take the "coolness" of S&G with him and I know one or two fans of the duo that continued to buy Paul's albums but considered Art a little too MOR.No matter how hard I tried I just couldn't convince them that they were talking nonsense,they were both making great records!
From "Angel Clare" right through to the wonderful "Scissors Cut" we are treated to original songs mixed with covers that are equally given faultless performances and delivered with a passion that is sometimes perfectly understated and never "hammy".His tuning and intonation are as perfect as they always were with S&G and for me personally he was one of the finest vocalists in the business.My own favourites were "Watermark" and "Scissors Cut", the former especially treating us to superlative songs from Jimmy Webb and for me are both alone worth the price of the complete set.
If you've only heard AG on the radio singing "Bright Eyes" and "I Only have Eyes For You",please invest a few quid in this delightful collection,I honestly think you won't be disappointed in the slightest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Five Great Garfunkel Albums, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This box set is a welcome release of the first five studio albums by the fabulous Art Garfunkel.
All of the albums have been available before separately. And this box set does not improve on the sound because they are the same transfer to CD as those previous issues. They are not re masters.
The sound is fine though and there is the advantage of the slim box package.
In this release the CDs are presented in reproductions of the original vinyl outer Cardboard sleeve releases complete with A side and B side track listing. (no sign of the inner sleeve artwork like that on the album scissors cut but no matter) All five albums are housed in a card box with track listings of all albums on the back. Many famous guest musicians are present in these Albums.

Angel Clare is the debut album from 1973. This is an outstanding album.
Second track "Down in the willow garden" was a country song by Charlie Monroe. Paul Simon sings harmony on the final verse and chorus. The song tells the story of murder. Track three is "I Shall Sing" by Van Morrison. "Old Man" is track four and was written by Randy Newman.
"Feuilles-Oh/Do Space Men Pass Dead Souls On Their Way To The Moon?", the fifth track of the album, was a clever combination of the traditional Haitian folk song with a middle section based on the melody of J.S Bach "Oratorio de Navidad Choral N33" and lyrics by Garfunkel's then fiancée, Linda Grossman. Garfunkel had worked on the idea of recording the folk song back in the 1960s with Paul Simon One of these early attempts to record the song was finally issued as a bonus track on CD re master of the Simon and Garfunkel album Bridge Over Troubled Water.
"All I know the sixth track is by Jimmy Webb. Also written by Webb was the final track "Another Lullaby".
" Track nine "Barbara Allen is a traditional folk song popular in the United States but originates in England and Scotland and can be traced back centuries. The song tells the story of a young man who is dying of unrequited love for Barbara Allen who shows no emotion and then the man dies. She then is stricken with grief and dies soon after. But a briar grows from her grave and a rose from his, until they grow together.
The whole album is produced by Art Garfunkel, with Roy Haleee (who had produced the Simon and Garfunkel albums)

The second album is called Breakaway from 1975. The title is by Gallagher and Lyle and other songwriters on this album include Stephen Bishop, Albert Hammond and Hal David, Bruce Johnston, Stevie wonder and Yvonne Wright.
Another notable thing about this great album is the single "I only have eyes for you" which was a cover version of an old song by Al Dubin and Harry Warren. This went to number one in the UK single charts
Finally there is the reunion duet "My little Town" by Paul Simon. Third Album Watermark from 1977 is brilliant and includes "What a wonderful world" with additional vocals from James Taylor and Paul Simon.
Fourth Album "Fate for Breakfast" from 1979 features Bright Eyes the Mike Batt Song featured in the movie Watership Down. And a cover of "Miss you Nights" made famous in the UK by Cliff Richard.
Fifth Album is Scissors Cut from 1981 This features the wonderful "A heart in New York by Gallagher and Lyle.
And a track called "In Cars" by Jimmy Webb which once again has Paul Simon adding his vocals
At the end of the song Art Garfunkel sings a couple of lines from Scarborough Fair the English folk song that he had recorded with Paul Simon as Simon and Garfunkel.
The UK version of the album contains Ten new songs including a song called the Romance. The US version had this taken out and a repeat of Bright Eyes from the previous album Fate For Breakfast substituted. The only CD version to date and including this issue has been the US version.
For anyone who has already got these albums don't bother re buying these again unless your old copies are faulty or you want to condense space. This is because this release is NOT Re mastered. The discs are the same direct transfer to CD issues as before.
The album Scissors Cut has a replica of the UK vinyl sleeve that lists the track "The Romance" but the CD disc is the same running order as the US version of the album with "Bright Eyes" and not "The Romance". Once again there is no CD release of the UK version of the album. The correct disc track listing is on the back of the outer box. (US version)
There is no re mastering and no bonus tracks. But it is a good way to get the albums in a slim package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The (mostly) complete Art Garfunkel in the '70s: A couple of gems, a couple of lesser efforts, 29 Sep 2012
By 
David Pearlman "sound fanatic" (Arlington, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This box offers, at a budget price, the (mostly) complete Art Garfunkel from the '70s, post Simon & Garfunkel breakup. It misses some strays (the great single-only Second Avenue being the most significant), but you get most of the story.

And it starts as a really good story. Angel Claire, his solo debut, is terrific, featuring the towering Jimmy Webb penned hit All I Know and much more. It's a bit eclectic, in an AOR way, but the songs are mostly terrifically chosen and sung. The followup, Breakaway, was a bigger hit album, in part due to the inclusion of the momentary Simon & Garfunkle reunion track, My Little Town, but also because, like its predecessor, it includes a lot of good songs. It's not as distinctive an album listen as the debut, and the edges are kind of rounded off, but it's still very strong.

Then came what would ultimately stand as Garfunkel's best effort, Watermark, featuring a full album of Jimmy Webb covers (mostly obscure up to that point), plus (except on a rare withdrawn early release in The Netherlands) a label mandated cover of What A Wonderful World (sung with Paul Simon and James Taylor). This isn't just a good set of songs. Here, like the debut and even more so than on that album, Garfunkel is striving, successfully, for art. Watermark is wonderfully sung versions of wonderful songs.

After that, things get dicey, unfortunately. Fate for Breakfast, which followed, was a decidedly lesser effort, with weaker songs, on the whole, than anything that had preceded it. Scissors Cut, Garfunkel's last effort of the '70s, was weaker still--about half very good songs, but about half really dull ones.

After Scissors Cut, Garfunkel would lose his girlfriend, fall into depression, and take an extended leave from active performing. He would eventually return and record some additional records, and his voice would continue to serve him well, but he has never come close to returning to the quality reflected in the first three records.

Anyone who wants to venture into Garfunkel waters should start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bargain, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Every music collection should contain a copy of Art's first solo album, "Angel Clare", with a fine selection of songs that Art's angelic voice gives a new shine to. The songs on the later albums were a little less inspiring, but Art's vocals are great, as always, and there are a few gems amongst them, such as "My Little Town" (with Paul Simon) and "Bright Eyes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Art Garfunkel - Original Albums, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Brad Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
These CDs were bought to replace either vinyl or cassette copies that have seen better days.

Each album is exactly as described and no changed tracks from the cover listings. The cardboard covers for each CD are a reduced sized copy of the original vinyl album so show 'Side 1' and 'Side 2' whereas each CD is a straight one side all tracks play through.

If you like Art Garfunkel then these CDs are for you. If you don't like Art Garfunkel, well, I am puzzled why you would be reading this review - although, just maybe, they would make a good present for someone who does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Missing track most annoying., 23 Jan 2014
By 
Derek (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
As another reviewer (Marcia) has pointed out, Scissors Cut has had the track "The Romance" replaced with "Bright eyes". Apparently this is the American version, but the replica sleeve is of the UK release.Shake your head in wonder. I have all these on vinyl from when they were first released and still love them, but prefer the clarity of CD. Now I'll try to find a CD copy of "The Romance" to download. Frustrating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original Album Classics by Art Garfunkel, 23 May 2013
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Now you'll probably consider Art Garfunkel Paul Simon's better half. Although Garfunkel doesn't write his songs like Simon does, his music is majestic.These solo albums seem like a continuation of the Simon and Garfunkel era. Garfunkel proves he's the more mellow of the two. A must collectors item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love Art's Voice!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Collected the Albums in my teens but now have no turntable so ordered these discs. Brought back memories. Love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable offer, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
These 'original Album Classics' sets are a great deal. Need a magnifying glass to read the sleeve notes on the back but can't really complain given the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fills a musical gap beautifully., 7 Jan 2013
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I have always been a lover of Simon and Garfunkel's music. After they split I followed Paul Simon's solo career and Art was forgotten. This album collection has remedied that. I will treasure it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics by Art Garfunkel (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews