Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gyro
This is definitely one for the horror lovers. If you enjoy this genre then you will enjoy this book. Phillip Amos delivers it to you right 'in your face' so to speak. It is dark, cruel and twisted by turn. The villain is a total psychopath, well delivered by the author - you hate him from the start, and he does nothing to soften that feeling through the book.
If you...
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by G. Pugh

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Gyrating in horror for all the wrong reasons
I picked this novella up as a free Kindle e-book. If I had only picked it up as a paperback, I could have been justified in hurling it into the nearest charity shop with great force.

The language is grim, at best. Either(as has been noted with a good few Kindle e-books)the conversion into electronic format has gone terribly wrong, or else Philip Amos has a very...
Published on 30 Aug 2012 by Mina Kuhn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gyro, 12 Oct 2009
By 
G. Pugh (BRIDGEND, WALES ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gyro (Paperback)
This is definitely one for the horror lovers. If you enjoy this genre then you will enjoy this book. Phillip Amos delivers it to you right 'in your face' so to speak. It is dark, cruel and twisted by turn. The villain is a total psychopath, well delivered by the author - you hate him from the start, and he does nothing to soften that feeling through the book.
If you like your horror with no frills then you should try this book. If you are sensitive or offended by base language (although in context here),descriptions of torture etc then I would have to say that it isnt for you.
It isnt a long book, but this type of story doesnt need to be. Give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gyro, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gyro (Kindle Edition)
This was a heart wrenching story of what one person can do to another. The sick perversions of one and the strength and resilience of another. It's a real meaty story which in one chapter had me wanting to commit murder myself and in the next wanting to hold and reassure Polly and make it all better. Good twists and turns. Will look for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gyro by Philip Amos, 11 Oct 2009
By 
L. A. Walters - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gyro (Paperback)
Not one for the faint hearted or easily offended but what a read, I couldn`t put it down. It gets straight into the action from the first page with each page begging the next. The book whilst predominantly a horror story is also funny in parts and a real tear-jerker in other parts. I really felt for the heroine Polly as she endured the most barbaric treatment imaginable, but will she retaine enough courage and dignity to appear in court to give evidence that could convict her tormentor? You'll have to read to find out for yourself! The sting in the tail had me reaching for the tissues again. A good read and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could've been better, but still great horror/thriller., 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gyro (Kindle Edition)
I LOVE horror. I can't get enough. This book was a free offer when I saw it, and I'm always grateful to the authors for this.
The story was great, the horror was gory and sick, and the story was at times pretty intense.
I just wish some authors would at least use a free spellchecker. If you're going to write a book, why wouldn't you want it to be as close to perfect as possible?

I found the grammatical errors really annoyed me at times and ruined the book for me. But aside from that, look past them, and you have a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ok..but..., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gyro (Kindle Edition)
Hmmm, no spoilers but it's a good story well written. Loses a star for relying too much on perviness, would've benefited from more implication than description. Enjoyed it. Recommend to horror fans (& pervs!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Gyrating in horror for all the wrong reasons, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gyro (Kindle Edition)
I picked this novella up as a free Kindle e-book. If I had only picked it up as a paperback, I could have been justified in hurling it into the nearest charity shop with great force.

The language is grim, at best. Either(as has been noted with a good few Kindle e-books)the conversion into electronic format has gone terribly wrong, or else Philip Amos has a very poor grasp of grammar and sentence structure.
The plot premise (Nazi invention of torture is somehow linked to insanity of former inventor-father)dawdles along until a perky victim can be found. There are some incredibly detailed and longwindedly implausible details of the torture, rape and other torments of victims, until the heroine comes along. Amos's prose becomes unbearably dull in places, and somewhat unhinged in others. I suspect those who enjoy this may well enjoy other (better written) classics of the genre, such as Mein Kampft and diaries of serial killers, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough really, 29 Aug 2012
By 
David Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gyro (Kindle Edition)
I agree with most of the other reviewers - this is a very disturbing story, but whereas most horror writers are able to set the violence in context and provide a reason or an explanation for it, there is no such attempt in this book - I don't really know why it was written.
There is very little justification for Henry's violence against women other than a few lines about his childhood and adolescent experiences. The lack of punctuation and bad grammar referred to elsewhere also makes the book difficult to follow. Similarly, the other characters are undeveloped.
The plot is one-dimensional and hardly develops.
I can't recommend it as it's really not good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disturbing and fast paced, 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: Gyro (Paperback)
This is a disturbingly graphic violent story, not exactly what i was expecting. I feel it is obvious from the start that this is a first book as the writting at the beginning is a little too fast paced with very little backstory i.e. she went to school, her father died, she went to university. That was her life in a couple of short sentances. The main plot of the story as I said was very good, however, was there really need for such graphic violence? There should be a warning on the cover! By the time I worked through that though I couldn't put the book down! I was turning each page anxious to find out what would happen next. The end I felt was a little disappointing or is there going to be a return for our heroine? My only other criticsm is that the language was not consistant, in one sentance there was a reference to the same body part one of them fell straight out of a black lace novel, the other the worst swear word ever invented. A little padding and backstory and this could have been a novel not a short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a thrilling read, 8 Oct 2009
By 
L. E. Cornish "von" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gyro (Paperback)
one of the best books i have read in a while, dark and
thrilling kepT me hooked till the end .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gyro, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Kj Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gyro (Paperback)
The story line is particularly savage and is not for the faint hearted. The hard hitting story line also contains a sprinkling of humorous moments that prove a welcome contrast.

The book centres on a fiendish loner but has some great subplots with some equally enjoyable characters. Unlike some other horror books where you almost want to side with the evil wrongdoer, in this book you will be firmly on the side of the good.

The story is easy to read and leaves the reader wanting more particularly when Henry Fink escapes capture and travels Europe on a killing spree.

The ending is unexpected and I feel there could be a sequel just around the corner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gyro
Gyro by Philip Amos
£1.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews