Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give Vol 3 some time to grow on you.......
Ok..after Vol. 1 they had set a very tough act to follow. And Vol 2 did not make muster. And neither did Vol 3 at first. But give it a chance and it is actualy pretty damned good. Ignore the Peter Gabriel track (I may be a fan of his but the track is a pure Gabriel sound and not at all AFCS. If I want Gabriel, I buy Gabriel) and perhaps wonder where Robert Plant...
Published on 8 Aug 2001 by apalin@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less Celt please...
A dense production, rather typical of Peter Gabriel. Yes, technically brilliant, yes innovative, but no advance on Vols 1 & 2. And there must be a limit to the Celtic band-wagon. Think The Corrs and River Dance meet Graceland, without Paul Simon's genius, and you get the drift. For me, tin whistles and fiddles do not enhance or even fuse well with African rythmns de...
Published on 23 May 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give Vol 3 some time to grow on you......., 8 Aug 2001
Ok..after Vol. 1 they had set a very tough act to follow. And Vol 2 did not make muster. And neither did Vol 3 at first. But give it a chance and it is actualy pretty damned good. Ignore the Peter Gabriel track (I may be a fan of his but the track is a pure Gabriel sound and not at all AFCS. If I want Gabriel, I buy Gabriel) and perhaps wonder where Robert Plant enters the equation of AfroCelt; a bit leftfield that one I'm afraid! Just cannot see the connection, although the track ain't bad after a while.
Otherwise just hear a maturing drum 'n bass sound to the band which remains faithful to their original black/celtic rhythms. May innevitably lack the innovative shock to the system that Vol 1 gave us; is a massive leap ahead from a v. poor Vol 2; simply an album that gets better after each hearing.
So then Iarla et al...when is Vol 4 due? And when do we get a real UK tour?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album - so why the critical hostility?, 20 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Having bought the single, "When You're Falling" on the back of Peter Gabriel's involvement, and having just heard the album (on the 180g Simply Vinyl double-LP version), I can't see why critics are treating this album as a disappoitment. Musically - there's nothing wrong with it!!!
Yes, it is fairly beat-heavy, but what grabs your attention is not the lukewarm techno influence but the deep atmosphere of the music. I'm not a fond lover of techno/dance, but this album offers more than just a collection of beats. In every sense, the band lives up to its name - the music has all the spirit, charm and vivality you expect from African and Celtic music. I reckon their fans would search for nothing less.
Peter Gabriel's contribution on "When You're Falling" is by no means bland - it's catchy, but not in a commercial sense. Just a well-written song that would make a good single - pity it didn't make a big impact.
In summary - if you're looking for contemporary world-fusion that is accurate and entertaining... look no further! I recommend it if you like latter-day Peter Gabriel (his 2000 album "OVO" for example) or have a general interest in his Realworld catalogue.
Go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up-lifting and addictive, 20 Mar 2002
By 
Haveing previously heard and bought vol 1& 2, further in time seems to be a natural progression. The affro and celtic sounds are still very much in evidence, more real drums and less programing would be nice but this is still a very powerful and moveing album. Although I am not usually a great fan of dance music, ACSS seem to have struck a cord in me and now find myself longing for more of the same. I await vol 4 with eagerness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third time's a charm!, 18 Jun 2001
By 
morgan1098 (Colorado Springs, Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
Better than 1999's Volume 2 and more accessible than the Afro Celts' classic debut, Further in Time is a world fusion marvel. From "North 1 &2," the 10-minute epic that opens the record, to "Onwards," the quiet but intense closing track, the Afro Celts' latest offering reveals new layers and dimensions with each spin. "When You're Falling" features some great vocal interplay between Peter Gabriel and Iarla O'Lionaird, and "Colossus" marries aggressive programming with guitar, bouzouki, and fiddle. One of the most impressive tracks is "Lagan," featuring a primal, almost-oppressive beat overlaid with cathedral-like sounds and Iarla's Celtic wail. "Shadowman" turns the African element up a notch with Demba Barry's energetic raps. The album falters only slightly with "Life Begin Again" - an excellent song in its own right, but marred slightly by the presence of Robert Plant (this is the Afro Celt Sound System, after all, not the Aging Dinosaur Rocker Sound System). "Go On Through" is an Irish-tinged love song with lyrics in both Gaelic and English, and things really pick up again with the beautiful "Persistence of Memory." The final two tracks, "Silken Whip" and "Onwards," are classic Afro Celts, with the latter featuring another great round of African vocals courtesy of N'Faly Kouyate. You can't go wrong with this album... it's incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afro Celts - Further in Time and No Bad Thing !, 19 Jun 2001
Having enjoyed ACSS Vol 1 & 2 over the years I was overjoyed to hear that Vol 3 was due for release. After reading the review my enthusiasm was somewhat reduced.
It was with a little doubt that I pressed play on the CD player and sat back to listen.
ACSS have lost nothing of what has gone before, the energy, the melodies, the music, the rythmns and the feeling of top class muscisians enjoying themselves really comes across on what is my Album of the year so far (closely followed by Spearhead "Stay Human" and Eat Static "In the Nude"). This is also helped by fantastic production and engineering.
Further in Time might just be the Album that finally brings ACSS to a wider audience and a single release of a standout track such as "Shadowman" would help although good performances from messers Gabriel and Plant will go some way to ensure this.
Excellent Stuff now where can I see them live this year!
Very Good Indeed and it does exactly what it says on the Tin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 3 is joy for the ears, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A natural and evolutionary sound progressing from "Release" its' predecessor. Simply wonderful !!! an absolute soundgasm of an album !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At times foot stomping bliss and other times celtic tinged folk, 3 Aug 2006
By 
Andrew C. Madden "Mad Andy" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very odd blend of ACSS, Gabriel and Plant which does actually grow on you. I loved the first two albums and this album I feel is as good. It justs takes time to grow on you. Even so Peter Gabriel does put too much of his own stamp on the tracks he vocalises on. Fine foot stomping blend of celtic and afro dancey folk music. I disagree with the previous comments about having less celtic sounds and discordant blend of music styles - Afro Celtic Sound System has already proven the music works!!!! A great album, uplifting and positive which will give it the power to overcome the minority of people who cannot grasp what ACSS are trying to do and give it a poor rating. Judge for yourself, just give it a bit of time. I absolutely love the last track featuring Plant. Special......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Just discovered Afrocelt Sound System and love the ethnic mix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less Celt please..., 23 May 2002
By A Customer
A dense production, rather typical of Peter Gabriel. Yes, technically brilliant, yes innovative, but no advance on Vols 1 & 2. And there must be a limit to the Celtic band-wagon. Think The Corrs and River Dance meet Graceland, without Paul Simon's genius, and you get the drift. For me, tin whistles and fiddles do not enhance or even fuse well with African rythmns de novo. Ok, so I'm not a musicologist, but this really only works well in American folk music where these cultures have naturally blended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Volume 3: Further In Time
Volume 3: Further In Time by Afro Celt Sound System
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews