Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute and hilarious
If you are into quirky comedies.. this is for you. Bear in mind it is a romantic comedy .. so if you hate those, you probably wont enjoy this.

But i dont take comedy that seriously and I genuinely enjoyed this movie. There are some really hilarious scenes. The dry nature of the character played by Chris Rock versus his over dramatic girlfriend and her over...
Published 12 months ago by Girlinlondon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a terrible disappointment
I remember going to see 2 Days in Paris at the cinema. It was one of those films that you enter without any preconceptions and exit thinking you've unearthed an undiscovered gem. It was free flowing, knowingly ridiculous without ever teetering over into complete farce, and charming, and funny, and, well, a great date movie for people that are secure enough in their...
Published 10 months ago by A. Johnstone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a terrible disappointment, 30 Aug 2013
By 
A. Johnstone "'undertime'" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
I remember going to see 2 Days in Paris at the cinema. It was one of those films that you enter without any preconceptions and exit thinking you've unearthed an undiscovered gem. It was free flowing, knowingly ridiculous without ever teetering over into complete farce, and charming, and funny, and, well, a great date movie for people that are secure enough in their relationships not to worry that they're going to be undermined by 90 minutes of watching a fictional twosome going into meltdown. It was great.
This? Well, I just don't know where to start. In fact I can't start. It was just so terrible on every level - everything. I cannot believe that Julie Delpy, an actress and artist that I have a lot of respect for, created it. The central relationship between the two leads is totally unbelievable, Delpy's family are the most ridiculous French caricatures that have ever been brought to screen (was she disowned for this at home?), the script and acting are awful (like a play written and performed by over eager sixth formers, with no experience of either real relationships or real life itself) and the dramatic 'conceits' are truly laughable (but in a bad way).
If you liked or loved the first film, like me, then please avoid this - it will be sullied forever by association. If you didn't like the first film then you will, also like me (unfortunately), hate this excruciating waste of 90 minutes of your life.
I'm sorry to everyone involved, associated or in love with this film. But not as sorry as I am that I wasted my money, time and energy on it.
ps. My wife hated it too. It actually made her very, very angry. So, NOT a great date movie either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute and hilarious, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
If you are into quirky comedies.. this is for you. Bear in mind it is a romantic comedy .. so if you hate those, you probably wont enjoy this.

But i dont take comedy that seriously and I genuinely enjoyed this movie. There are some really hilarious scenes. The dry nature of the character played by Chris Rock versus his over dramatic girlfriend and her over friendly father creates a very comical dynamic.

If you are in for a chuckle.. you wont regret this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 days with Julie Delpy, 19 Oct 2012
By 
T. Schoon "TS" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
'2 Days in Paris' is a hilarious and at times poignant film. It is one of my favourite films. That said it did drag in a few places which suggests that it was slightly too long (an issue corrected in this film). It always recovered, which is what made it so memorable.

I was very concerned when Delpy announced a sequel. I then saw that Chris Rock was in it and became deeply concerned.
However, then I read an interview with Julie Delpy in which she described the loss of her mother (who played her character Marion's mother in 'Paris') and being a mother herself as being the jumping off point for this film.
It was at this point that I realised that the 'soul' of the film was intact and there was promise after all.

Essentially the story continues a few years after 'Paris' in which time Marion and Jack have had a son and since split up. Marion's mother has died and, in the midst of her grief, she has now met and moved in with Mingus (Chris Rock). Chaos ensues when Marion's widower father (played by Delpy's real-life father), sister and her ex-boyfriend show up in New York for Marion's art exhibition.

It all sounds very farcical, but believe me when I say that comedy isn't ever about the plot but about the execution. Delpy has crafted a very intelligent comedy that avoids clichés and despite a few cringe-worthy moments maintains it's European roots without pandering to Western audiences. What a breath of fresh air!

Also refreshing is to see what is essentially an American film in which people from other countries are allowed to speak their language. Times really are changing! And that is what the film is about. Relationships end, people die. Life isn't perfect and can be equally sad and hilarious, but can be over so quickly. So let's make the most of it.

Marion does her best to juggle her opening night along with culture clashes, translation losses and children confused about what 'grass' is. Not to mention a misunderstanding with a neighbour about a rogue brain tumour, a sister who refuses to put clothes on and Marion selling her soul, quite literally.

At the end of the day, this is a window into Delpy's life whether she admits it or not. Of course, some of it is fictionalised, but what we have here is a family mourning the loss of their wife and mother. At the same time the characters are becoming parents themselves and so the circle of life keeps repeating.

A comedy, yes. But watch this as a European farce and you will come away disappointed. There are laughs-a-minute but it takes a brain receiving on a certain frequency to pick up the nuances.

Highly recommended and I am sorry to see bad reviews but not surprised to see the good ones.

TS
P.S. As a side note, Chris Rock is outstanding as a straight man. In my eyes, at least, his stock has gone way up...as too has Julie Delpy's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Completes the Julie Deply collection., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
A good follow up to 2 days in Paris, which should be viewed prior to watching this as this is the follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NY, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
Not as good as the sparkling Two Days In Paris but hilarious nevertheless. Julie Delpy is a wonderful and varied comic director and I enjoy her dilemmas so much. This film is a bit sad because it does not feature her fantastically batty mother who died just before it went into production but her father is still the same old rogue and her sister is just the worst sister in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delpy, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable movie similar to her other work. The Gallic/American cultural conflict is used to good comic effect. Ideal for a relaxing night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This really made me laugh., 10 Sep 2013
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
2 Days In New York really made me laugh! Thank you Julie Delpy, I so get it!
I watch lots of romantic comedies, and comedies that don't make me laugh, usually I find them only mildly amusing but I may like the story, so it is refreshing to find a film that really makes me laugh. Yes, admittedly some of the characters and their behaviour are silly or over the top but I've known similar versions of them in real life so I don't need any persuading about whether they are lifelike people or probable actions. And no, I don't think it stereotypes the French, I think it's poking fun at certain types of people (crazy families that we all have) rather than specifically French or American people.
Some of the humour does remind me of Woody Allen with his fast verbal comments and wisecracks. So maybe if you appreciate his type of comedy then you'll get Julie Delpy's too. I really enjoyed this film and will watch it again soon. And I look forward to her next film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you love Julie Delpy arguing (Ido), 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
Then buy it . Chris Rock is excellent and so are her film sister and her real father.
See two days in Paris first.
Witty , fun, 'foreign characters in different country' movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THEY'RE USING MY TOOTHBRUSH!, 21 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
Marion (Julie Delpy) and Mingus (Chris Rock) live in NYC together, each with a child from a previous relationship. They met at "The Village Voice" where Mingus was apparently the token straight guy. Marion is French and is having a photograph exhibit, one depicting the theme of the decline of relationships with age featuring herself and ex laying in bed looking at the ceiling which the critic politely called "mundane."

Her family comes to visit. This includes an over sexed father (Albert Delpy) who believes showers are unnecessary options; her sister Rose (Alexia Landeau) who is her polar opposite and is described as a nymphomaniac who wants to live her sister Marion's life. Rose also brings with her pot head boyfriend Manu (Alexandre Nahon), who by no surprise was Marion's boyfriend at one time although that never really played into the story, other than to establish Rose's character.

The film depicts the hectic life which ensues with neither culture understanding the other. Marion must rehash her life with her sister with neither one holding anything back. The film is funny and a dark comedy. Sometimes the drama overshadows the comedic attempt, while at other times the comedy is too predictable. The film uses drug and sex humor in addition to missed translations for its humor base, but builds upon it so it isn't overly immature.

Good acting by the cast, even Chris Rock in a role where he is a straight man. Decent script and writing, although some predictable immature scenes such as the changing of the baby with the measuring of his manhood should have been cut (sometimes less is more). The film comes across as a well polished indie and not a typical big screen production.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bombs (two languages with subtitles) implied sex, nudity (Alexia Landeau).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2 Days in New York [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointing - after "2 Days in Paris." I judge the film here on its own - and not as a sequel to Paris. Paris had me expecting more from the film as a film. But the 'sequel' aspect was also poorly done and was hardly even necessary - except for maybe the sister stuff. The rest of the family totally different.

Overall it was just barely OK - had it not been I would have been asking for my money bank because the visual quality was deplorable - especially as the film is only a few years old. The transfer was probably done via a cellphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2 Days in New York [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import]
10.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews