Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock solid bar.
Rock solid bar. Comes with wall brackets which fix to the wall via 3 screws but I haven't needed to use them and they've been left in the box. Have tried the bar in 3 different doorways, (glossy paint, varnished and bare wood) and the bar grips very well in all three and can hold my 110 kg with no movement. (the instruction leaflet which comes in the box does say the...
Published on 11 Aug. 2012 by DanniW

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars It certainly grips well!
Well, it can hold its place in the doorway okay. The problem comes when you try to remove it. Tip: get yourself a good hacksaw, as my bar wouldn't release at all and I had to resort to sawing the thing off. Fortunately, the metal is relatively soft so you can cut through it. The problems lie, I think, with the central screws. There are two screws in the middle of...
Published 7 months ago by Samuk


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock solid bar., 11 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
Rock solid bar. Comes with wall brackets which fix to the wall via 3 screws but I haven't needed to use them and they've been left in the box. Have tried the bar in 3 different doorways, (glossy paint, varnished and bare wood) and the bar grips very well in all three and can hold my 110 kg with no movement. (the instruction leaflet which comes in the box does say the max weight is 100 kg / 220 lb but seeing as it holds my weight easily without the brackets, would think that the 300 lb stated in the item description is probably ok).

If you were to use the brackets, they're pretty unobtrusive. Thick rubber ends on the bar also mean it doesn't cut into the wood if you choose to use it without the brackets. Does leave slight black marks after use but have wiped off easily.

Very easy to set up, both ends unscrew to extend and unlike some other telescopic bars this means you can make sure the foam grips remain in the centre. Have to make sure you're on the right side of the bar for the grip you're using as it can start to unwind after a few pullups but its easy enough to tighten it up in between sets.

Excellent bar, excellent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PRODUCT !!!, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
Arrived super quick via Free Delivery .. Ive given this item 4 out of 5 because i think mine was a pre owned return item but apart from that .. its good looking, well made & very very strong .. all in all i'm happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
Can take alot of weight excellent price very strong comes with fixings super fast delivery. Cn extend to a great length great for home pullups!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
This is a great pull up bar, I haven't needed to screw it on as it stays in place just with the twisting. Watch out you don't twist too far and break your door frame though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pull me up, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
Does what it says on the tin. Easy to fit, very sturdy and my son loves it. Actually now its up everyone is having a go as they pass his bedroom door - some better than others I hasten to add.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It certainly grips well!, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
Well, it can hold its place in the doorway okay. The problem comes when you try to remove it. Tip: get yourself a good hacksaw, as my bar wouldn't release at all and I had to resort to sawing the thing off. Fortunately, the metal is relatively soft so you can cut through it. The problems lie, I think, with the central screws. There are two screws in the middle of the bar, screwed into some internal plastic block. Both the plastic and screws are wholly unsuitable: in the early days of use, the screws simply fell out [they didn't seem to grip anything) and then I couldn't adjust the bar at all. Having replaced the screws back into the bar, the holes in the plastic block seemed to get bigger, the screws had no purchase whatsoever and so the adjustable nature of the bar was variable - sometimes good, sometimes not so.

I would struggle to recommend this product - unless, of course, you don't mind it being a permanent fixture! My hunt for a suitable, removable bar continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
Disappointingly it doesn't work if only twisted into place no matter how hard I try, can't use the screws so product useless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
Great product, does what it says, didn't need to use supplied wall brackets so saves screwing into the wall, my only problem was that the screws in the centre came loose and out of their hole, so now the bar can freely move side to side when loose, if the screws supplied were a little longer would be 5 star but because of this poor build quality only 4.

In the end I can still use it so I'm not too fussed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Thing I've ever bought off Amazon, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
First time I tightened it in a doorway it was easy to fit securely... but the central screws fell out and I could neither tighten or loosen it to get it out the door frame. At only £10 its not worth the hassel of returning but it's going straight in the bin. Who writes these 5 star reviews for this junk?

Summary:
It does fit securely in most doorways but...
The central screws will most likely shred their thread first time you use it - making it impossible to remove.
Buy a different one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars and then it was completely useless because its just wobbly and unsafe, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chin Up Pull Up Door Gym Exercise Bar Gym Workout Training Fitness - Black (Misc.)
Didn't / couldn't use this product, I extended the bar and a heard a screw or something drop off inside around the middle secition, and then it was completely useless because its just wobbly and unsafe. I wanted to use this for clients so I wanted it to be strong, safe and secure. You get what you pay for I guess. I never bothered returning it for the sake of loosing £9.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews