Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment
A well written fast paced story that is good simple entertainment. It is well above the standards of other similar priced books and I've just bought the next in the series. If I had to criticise the second half could have been longer with more depth to slow the rate of momentus events, but still great fun.
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Everything was too easy
To start on a positive note, this book was not badly written compared to a lot of self published books. I didn't spot that many spelling mistakes, and in general the writing style was easy to read. The author had also obviously put quite a bit of thought into some of the background and world building.

However, the book had one major problem: everything was too...
Published 2 months ago by ChrisDB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Everything was too easy, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Kimbridge Chronicles #1, Inception (Kindle Edition)
To start on a positive note, this book was not badly written compared to a lot of self published books. I didn't spot that many spelling mistakes, and in general the writing style was easy to read. The author had also obviously put quite a bit of thought into some of the background and world building.

However, the book had one major problem: everything was too easy. At every point where there was an opportunity and expectation for a bit of dramatic tension, instead things just worked out for the main characters with a minimum of effort. I don't want to give too many spoilers, but just to give one example: it's apparently possible to build an alliance over night with a species that killed millions of humans just days before. And without, as far as I can tell, any serious objections from anybody! An understanding of the human psychology might suggest that this wouldn't go smoothly even if it was the best thing to do from a strategic point of view, but in the world of this book everyone is always in agreement about what the best thing to do is so there's no real protest at all. And since everyone who matters is in agreement with the author at all times, the characters feel very flat and therefore not very interesting.

I can forgive the author for doing this once or twice, but this happens throughout the entire book. The author knows where he wants to go, wants to take the most direct route possible, and who are his characters to get in the way?

One final annoyance: the random injections of religious discussions into several parts of the plot where they don't obviously belong. This isn't the biggest flaw in the book, and if the plot was better I could have forgiven it, but every alien race seems to be filled with religious people, all of which feel the need to randomly preach what I suspect are the author's own religious views every now and then. Again: diversity is good. Mr Beery, please give your characters a bit of life of their own, they don't all need to represent your own views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Promising start for a series., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Kimbridge Chronicles #1, Inception (Kindle Edition)
Easy read and quite a good start to a series, I enjoyed this one and look forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Catherine Kimbridge Chronicles #1, Inception, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Kimbridge Chronicles #1, Inception (Kindle Edition)
Good read and fast-paced, although the last third of the book moves a little too fast and could have benefited from a slower pace, perhaps by extending the length if the book a little. That aside, I really enjoyed the book and have already started the second in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Kimbridge Chronicles #1, Inception (Kindle Edition)
A well written fast paced story that is good simple entertainment. It is well above the standards of other similar priced books and I've just bought the next in the series. If I had to criticise the second half could have been longer with more depth to slow the rate of momentus events, but still great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Read, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Kimbridge Chronicles #1, Inception (Kindle Edition)
I read through it in one sitting and enjoyed every second of it. My only niggle was some of the editing, but that was only minor and didn't detract from my enjoyment of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Kimbridge Chronicles #1, Inception (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read for Sci Fi fans.
The first few chapters set the scene for the book and I was not disappointed.
The plot, whilst predictable, was still enjoyable.
By the time I finished I was ready for the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good space opera, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Julie (Portsmouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Catherine Kimbridge Chronicles #1, Inception (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book. It had aliens. technology and humour. The characters could have been better developed. but for a check in brain at door read, well worth the few cents it cost to buy. I am lookimg foward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews