Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect......
My generation was brought up on Jack Jackson (Decca and London, mainly) and Kent Walton (exclusively) bringing us good sounds through Radio Luxemburg. Here is a CD right up my own street, and if I have a regret it is that there are one or two 60s classics not there. But instead the CD includes several very hard to get tracks which I own in vinyl from the USA but which are...
Published 23 months ago by Ian M.

versus
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasted opportunity
On paper the idea looked exciting enough but the results may not be enough to satisfy those who associate the label with the music it licensed.
This is the Top Rank story as it was in 1960 but the label had begun a year earlier and went about half way into 1962 before EMI took it over when the final single was by Jimmy McCracklin
Today collectors want the...
Published 23 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect......, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
My generation was brought up on Jack Jackson (Decca and London, mainly) and Kent Walton (exclusively) bringing us good sounds through Radio Luxemburg. Here is a CD right up my own street, and if I have a regret it is that there are one or two 60s classics not there. But instead the CD includes several very hard to get tracks which I own in vinyl from the USA but which are impossible to find on the UK Top Rank label. My favourite pop single of all time is there, the beautifully crafted What In The World's Come Over You, by Jack Scott, and despite the odd Garry Mills single and one or two cover versions of other labels' hits this is a splendid investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last - value for money compilations, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
I always thought that the short lived Top Rank label was worthy of greater reverence. Now we see the results of thoughtful track selection in this new 'Story' release. Traversing the three years of this ambitious label before it was squeezed out of business by the big boys, we can see that its stature was not far off the legendary London American gold standard. This series concentrates mainly on the US tracks licenced over here. I'd guess that the sales figures for the 45s on initial release would have been dismal, but thank goodness the compiler has not taken the easy root of putting the most obvious tracks on this series. Some of the smartest US labels tried to interest the UK public in their streets ahead productions - Harold Dorman's 'Mountain Of Love' and the Crests 'Step By Step' are just two such gems. UK artists aren't ignored - Gary Mills - 'Top Teen Baby' is a standout. Nice touch to see the original Top Rank release number against each track. A follow up CD for 1960 might be difficult - this one has the best of the releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top again., 17 Aug 2012
By 
retrofan (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
As I commented on the 1961 version, I'm pleased to have found this 2CD album that is a real trip down memory lane for fans of the label. It's great to own these classic A-sides again. The sound quality is good with all tracks having been re-mastered. Also excellent value! Don't hesitate to buy! 5stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Family, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. J. Hawley "Jay Hawley" (Wakefield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
I bought this product for my father, he seems very satisfied with itt and thats the most I can say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love this music., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
still brings back my young days, you dont know the good music until its gone, these C Ds bring it all back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok sounds, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
as shown on time. not quite what I was expecting. s s s s s s s s s s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rank Story 1959/60/61, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
This is a great series of classic tracks from this great record label. The series is well produced and includes so many well known and slighlty less well known titles. Shall look out for other labels in this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well thought out compilation, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. James Mcevoy "Jimbo" (Fleetwood UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
I have one or two tracks on this and the sister albums covering the years of 1959 & 1961 respectively but there are so many that I missed and, of course, its quite handy having them all packaged together on two Cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J.Arthur's second string., 24 Dec 2012
By 
Michael Daley "Big Mick" (Barking,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
The Top Rank record label was short lived,but brought some great artistes to the British record buyers attention. Also,it helped Joe Meek to cut his teeth,recording wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides)
The Top Rank Story 1960 (A Sides) by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews