Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The strongest CD of the 3.
Following the financial collapse of Top Rank in August 1960, the label was taken over by EMI who kept the label running until April 1962. During the EMI period the vast majority of the releases were from American labels - and EMI eventually neatly slid all these onto its new Stateside imprint from June '62. The 1961 double CD reissue is therefore the strongest for my...
Published 20 months ago by Robert

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
When you look at the Top Rank listing on Global Dog you see singles yet to be compiled.More of these should have been here when its a 50 tracker.
The One Day imprint is a cheap label so its no big deal to stick in a heap of recordings available in so many other places.
In spite of the Original Hits claim the Craig Douglas version of A Hundred Pounds of Clay is...
Published 23 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The strongest CD of the 3., 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
Following the financial collapse of Top Rank in August 1960, the label was taken over by EMI who kept the label running until April 1962. During the EMI period the vast majority of the releases were from American labels - and EMI eventually neatly slid all these onto its new Stateside imprint from June '62. The 1961 double CD reissue is therefore the strongest for my tastes, with rarely seen tracks from Maurice Williams, The Jarmels, Dion and Gary US Bonds (with the rare School Is In). Top Rank's two UK biggies are here - Johnny Remember Me - and the original 'offensive' version of the Craig Douglas hit 'A Hundred Pounds Of Clay'. This was banned by the BBC and had to be rerecorded before gaining any airplay. A follow up CD for this period should be a natural, with plenty more from the catalogue - plus from the first 4 months of 1962. A couple of possible gems for the future might be The Back Beat Philharmonic 'R & R Symphony', and Danny & the Juniors 'Twistin' England'. This is a really well considered compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rank part 2., 24 Dec 2012
By 
Michael Daley "Big Mick" (Barking,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
This is a good follow up to the original record. It still has plenty going for it and complements the 1960 disc very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rank - Top Class!, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
Question: Is this 2 disc compilation by 'One Day Music' disappointing? Answer: NO, on the contrary it's a FANTASTIC compilation of 'Top Rank' A sides from 1961 (covering JAR 534 to JAR 596). Disc 1 runs 59.06mins and Disc 2 59.25. So nearly 2 hours of superb music all for under a 5.

Yes, there are a few niggles:
1. If we are being pedantic 'A Hundred Pounds of Clay' by Craig Douglas is the amended version and not the original banned version.
2. If we are being extra pedantic 'Raindrops' by Dee Clark is a different version also.
3. If we are being extra super pedantic 'Turn around, look at me' by Glen Campbell is not the original Crest Records version (which is far superior - Crest 1087).

In my opinion, these niggles don't matter one jot because the music - original versions or not is fantastic, by some fantastic top notch artists - some of my favourites are 'Little lonely one' by the Jarmels and 'Stop your crying' by Jerry Naylor. This compilation has great sound quality, something that other pedantic reviewers have omitted to say. This is the best of the three compilations of 'Top Rank' records released to date by One Day Music. Highly Recommended. Great value for money. Looking forward to the last instalment - Jan to April 1962.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOSTALGIC SOUNDS, 26 Feb 2013
By 
K. Johansen "luvmusic" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
Some songs I knew and some I didn't but I enjoyed them all and the sound is excellent.
Craig Douglas should have been bigger than he was as he was/is a very good singer.
Chuck Jackson has also become a favourite of mine over the years and I have several of his cd's but back in 1961 he was unknown to me.
Great sounds and a great price! I will be buying the rest of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rank Story 1959/60/61, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
This is a great series of classic tracks from this great record label. The series is well produced and includes so many well known and slighlty less well known titles. Shall look out for other labels in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Family, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. J. Hawley "Jay Hawley" (Wakefield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
I bought this product for my father, he seems very satisfied with itt and thats the most I can say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok sounds, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
as shown on time. ok sounds , not quite what I was expecting. s s s s s s s s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well thought out compilation, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. James Mcevoy "Jimbo" (Fleetwood UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
I have one or two tracks on this and the sister albums covering the years of 1959 & 1960 respectively but there are so many that I missed and, of course, its quite handy having them all packaged together on two Cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top rank greats, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
Another great collection from one day music,they really are putting out some great stuff
At least half of these tracks are new to me.Imust have missed them first time round.The best track for me is the wonderfull glen campbell track turn around.honestly there is not aduff track.So if like me you like early 60,s this is agreat buy.so many rare tracks.Cant wait for the 1962 releases from this company ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides)
The Top Rank Story 1961 (A Sides) by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews