Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars27
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Motörhead's The Wörld Is Ours - Vol 2 Anyplace Crazy As Anywhere Else Blu-Ray is a high definition visual memoir of the band's 2011 festival appearances. It is also available in a few different formats and combinations of formats such as on Vinyl or with 2 CDs and a DVD should you not be inclined towards Blu-Rays. The Blu-Ray version comes in a slim Blu-Ray case, not a digipak as listed, and comes with a booklet full of photos, but no linear notes.

The main feature of the video is the band's 2011 set at Wacken Open Air Festival in Germany. The set list is seventeen tracks long, with a mixture of material primarily from the classic late seventies-early eighties period and some newer material from post-millennial albums like Inferno, Motörizer and The Wörld Is Yours, as well as four or five tracks you'd expect from in between.

Visually, the disc is absolutely brilliant looking, with a great picture quality and a fine editing job. The shots stay on screen a fairly long time, all three musicians are given a good ratio of screen time each and there's enough camera movement and shot variety to keep it interesting. Also; for any fans who were upset when the band's previous live effort, The Wörld Is Ours - Vol 1, was released only in Black and White, it is notable that part 2 (this Blu-Ray) is in full colour.

The sound mix is quite good for a festival performance, and most of the music is fairly clear and well balanced (as far as Motörhead ever are, that is). It is available in either Dolby Digital 5.1 or Stereo.

In terms of bonus features there are 11 repeated tracks from two more of the band's 2011 festival appearances.

There are definitely complaints (pedantic ones, admittedly) that could be made about the fact that the bonus concerts are made up of the same songs as in the main feature, when you consider the sheer size of Motörhead's discography. But then again, they are still good bonus features to have, one, just becuase its there at all, two, just because of the sound and picture quality and three, because the mood of each of the performances is pretty different. It gives you a small insight into what a tour is like in a way, doing the same songs in different places under different conditions and getting different responses both from the crowd and yourselves.

For example, the Sonisphere footage (from their UK homeland) was filmed really soon after the death of their former guitarist Würzle, and it gives the concert an entirely different sort of mood than the other two and Rock In Rio is in front of an absolutely gigantic crowd in a ridiculously large festival in Brazil, that gives it a more celebratory atmosphere (especially on `Going To Brazil').

The other special feature is footage of some fans walking around Wacken's festival grounds, but its not really worth your time in all honesty.

Ignoring your views on the importance of bonus features however, the main thing that stops it being absolutely terrific, is that the band's performance is OK. OK is not bad, by any means, but if something like a concert video is to acquire that must-have status the band usually have to be absolutely on-fire.

Some of the material here comes across as a little slow and un-energetic, probably most noticeably on `Iron Fist' and `Ace Of Spades.' Again, its not bad per say, just not as energetic as the raucous, out-of-control, rocket-fuelled performances of their past. Drummer Mickey Dee is pretty enthused throughout however, and delivers a fine drum solo on `In The Name Of Tragedy.'

Overall; If you want a Motörhead Blu-Ray then this is probably your best bet, since it looks and sounds good, has a solid track-listing and is available in full colour. Its a good Motörhead Blu-Ray for sure.

Its not exactly a stone cold must-have, since the performance isn't as electric as it could be and the additional footage isn't as diverse in track-listing as it could be either, but its certainly a welcome release for those inclined and worth checking out if you can get it for a fair price.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
Having waited for the volume 2 i was very pleased with the copy i received.At first i was reluctant to buy it after the panning that people gave volume 1 (because of the b&w photography mainly), but the pre-order price and the fact it was in colour swayed me and am i glad it did. The picture quality is superb and the sound is very good (although i did watch it on my laptop so....). Maybe i will buy volume 1 when the price comes right down just for posterity but this is the one to go for so get it & enjoy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 September 2012
I know what you're thinking. Does the world need another Motorhead live album, so soon after the 2011 release "The Wörld Is Ours - Vol 1 Everywhere Further Than Everyplace Else"? Well that's like asking do I need air to breathe and pies to eat. It's Motorhead, fool.

Across a DVD and two audio CDs you're getting their set from the Wacken Open Air in August 2011, for sure, all seventeen tracks of it. Then there are six tracks from Sonisphere in July of the same year, and five numbers from Rock in Rio in September last year.

It's less arty farty than Volume 1, Which Is A Good Thing. The Wacken material sounds great, so props to whoever was on the mixing desk. The Sonisphere stuff is a little muddier, but the Rock In Rio material notches it back up a bit. Which means you get to compare three versions of 'Killed By Death'. Hurrah! And it's always fun to see a bom-ber! swooping out over Germany. Well played Dad, well played.

There's a "bonus" feature which has two Motorhead fans wandering aimlessly around Wacken talking to the kind of people you'd jump into traffic to avoid, but ignore them, settle back for the main feature and rock out with your cock out!
44 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars for what this is.

2 live CD's of Motorhead and a DVD of the full concert from Wacken in a nice package. Can't be 5 stars because , although I love Motorhead, they have lost it a tad in the last couple of years.........or more accurately, Lemmy hasn't had a voice for the last 2 years unfortunately. Alas , time moves on all of us!

That aside, their musicianship is better than ever. All songs played entusiastically and excellently. The old boy does his best vocally on the tunes as well and thats all I can ask for.

The DVD is nicely filmed. No messing around, just a straight ahead Motorhead gig, good sound and good pic. - I didn't watch any of the extras so cant comment on those.

If you want to be very strict about this then, this is a 3 star release if even as, the set is the same as last years World is Ours Volume 1 and offers nothing new however, if you are a Motorhead fan like me then you will probably love it.

If you were disappointed in last years DVD because it was Black and White (which I loved) then, maybe this will make it all better for ya!

Enjoy.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 October 2012
...and we play Rock n Roll,never a truer word was said an utterly fantastic release,worth every penny of the ludicrous and probably mistaken £6.66 price tag.

Like most i was cautious after the mixed reviews of Vol 1 but the price tag was a compelling reason on its own,nevermind the opportunity for more 'Live ' Motorhead.

The Dvd is excellent(and thankfully in color) but it was the CD's i was after,Disc 1 is awesome,stunning from start to finish with lesser known nuggets like 'Over The Top' and Just Cos You Got The Power' vying with the classics for top spot.

Disc 2 has the Wacken encores and several tracks from Sonisphere and Brazil,so track repitition is inevitable,its not a major issue.

It would be remiss not to comment on the current line up,for me this is the best period of Motorhead,certainly the equal of the 'Classic' era,indeed the last 2 decades Motorhead have been on form with the likes of 'Bastards',Kiss of Death','Sacrifice and the newest studio disc 'The World Is Yours',arguably this Live audio is up there with 'Everything Louder Than Everyone Else' and 'No Sleep....' as definitive 'live' Motorhead.

5 stars all the way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 November 2012
I was a little surprised that Motorhead had decided to put out another DVD/CD live selection so soon after the previous one, but I think it is justified simply because this is a much better package. I was one of the many people who complained about volume 1 being in black and white, so I was happy to see this one is glorious colour. If I were to be picky, I would say that I would have given it four and a half stars were that possible, because the sound quality is a bit variable in places (although still far superior to Better Motorhead than Dead), and there is is quite a bit of repetition of tracks between the different performances. However, you get a lot of material for your money, and this is a more honest way of releasing it than starting off with an edited version, followed up by a "special edition" later on with all the extra tracks. I think the performances are spot-on, and a good representation of what Motorhead sound like live these days. I know that one reviewer felt that Lemmy's voice is showing signs of age, which may well be the case, but I think the vocal sound here is generally better than on Volume 1, so I am happy with it.

Of the DVD/CD live combinations available, this is the one I would recommend, and probably a good first purchase for anyone new to the band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2012
I was one of those who complained (in a comment to someones else's review) about the sound quality (the guitar) and the b/w film on Vol 1 - so now I have Vol 2 on loud, annoying the neighbours, and this time they've got it right - this is what Motörhead sound like (on record at any rate). I even got it at the presale price, half what it costs now - can't go wrong !! WE ARE MOTÖRHEAD AND WE PLAY ROCK AND ROLL !!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
Finally a blu ray from Motörhead that has acceptable sound and picture. I can in fact strech it to good on most of the blu ray. Will defenitly recomend this over:The world is ours volume 1(which was lousy). You can notice Lemmy is somewhat ageing, but the performences are in my book good. A disc i put on when i wanna play rock and party hard!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2012
Well, Volume 1 got slagged off for being in black and white so this one should please for being in glorious technicolour [they'll probably complain its not BluRay]. You get an entire gig from Wacken [2011] with excellent sound and visuals; and fragments from Rio and a UK festival. Its the same set list as Volume 1, and I was sorry not to see Nina C Alice guesting at Wacken; a couple of strippers aren't much of a bonus. You do get a halfway decent documentary made by a couple of quite normal Superfans. And hey....the price is right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
Having not loved the b/w Vol 1, I saw a friend's copy of Vol2 and was impressed with footage and sound quality. However it was still a bit much to pay, until seeing it today at £6.66 , bargain for dvd and 2cds of this quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)