Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly hilarious
As a huge fan of both the Walsh family and Marian Keyes herself, Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family was a definite must-read for me. With The Mystery of Mercy Close`s release day only a fortnight away, Mammy Walsh's book is perfect for those who - just like myself - are anxiously waiting for Helen's story.

With only 67 pages, the book is not a long read -...
Published 23 months ago by Vicky @ Books, Biscuits, and Tea

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marian Keyes never fails
Great light-hearted read! Good fun as always and typical Marian Keyes wit, which is unbeatable! Not very long but an easy quick read and good for background info before reading any other of her books.
Published 18 months ago by D24n4e


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly hilarious, 28 Aug 2012
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
As a huge fan of both the Walsh family and Marian Keyes herself, Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family was a definite must-read for me. With The Mystery of Mercy Close`s release day only a fortnight away, Mammy Walsh's book is perfect for those who - just like myself - are anxiously waiting for Helen's story.

With only 67 pages, the book is not a long read - it's short enough for you to read in one sitting (curled up in bed, with a cup of tea in hand) after a long and exhausting day at work. It's exactly what the synopsis says - it's basically an A-Z list of things that are somehow relevant to the Walsh clan, including the five daughters' relationship with alcohol, Mammy Walsh's take on fake tan, cooking, eejit sticks (oh, how I wish they were real!), Helen's shovel list, G-strings, real men and false goodbyes. Mammy Walsh -who, along with Mr Walsh, is one of my favourites from the previous Walsh family books - is such an entertaining character and I'm glad she finally has her own book.

It's quite difficult to talk about it without giving too much away but trust me when I say it's utterly hilarious. Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family had me roaring with laughter and reminded me of why I fell in love with Marian's stories and all the craziness that goes on in the Walsh household all those years ago. Fans of women's fiction, brace yourselves. Marian's back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The return of the Walsh family, 28 Aug 2012
By 
C. Colley (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marion Keyes will be published in mid September and this short E-book has been released ahead of it to familiarize readers with the Walsh family.
Mammy Walsh wittily narrates the book and begins with a brief introduction to her family, mainly her five daughters, who have appeared in previous novels. This is swiftly followed by Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh family and this is a really funny section relating to all things relevant to Mammy Walsh's family life.
To whet the appetite, the book concludes with a sample chapter of The Mystery of Mercy Close.
This book is a good read with plenty of laugh out loud moments and worthy of five stars for entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marian Keyes never fails, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
Great light-hearted read! Good fun as always and typical Marian Keyes wit, which is unbeatable! Not very long but an easy quick read and good for background info before reading any other of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this. I had many laugh out loud moments. Would recommend it only problem was it was to short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mammy Walsh, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
Had just read a Marian Keyes book and went on line to order another, only to discover I'd read all her novels. In need of something to read I downloaded Mammy Walsh and it was fab. Made me laugh out loud on the bus!! Would recommend if you need something to cheer you up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good short read, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
I've read many of Marian Keys books about the Walsh family and this book ties all of the stories together from the mothers perspective
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When did we start paying for ads?, 26 Sep 2012
By 
C. Gough - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
Sure, there are some funny lines in this 'book' and it's overall entertaining; you'll smile rather than laugh out loud, but yeah, it's amusing. But I fail to see the point of this tiny little taster other than being a marketing tool for Mercy Close and all of Marian's previous books. (Mammy Walsh refers to every single one of them: "you can read more about Claire in Watermelon" and so on.)

I take exception to the fact it costs 1.99 - the same as many full length, 'real' books out there (i.e. not promotional material). Sophie Kinsella released something similar ahead of her latest book last December, and 1) it was a nice little self contained short story (the only marketing there was the addition of the first chapter of her new book at the back), and 2) it was FREE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun re-cap, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
This is a fun re-cap of the Walsh family stories and has got me in the mood for the next book. I was really pleased to see the first chapter of The Mystery of Mercy Close attached at the end ('ooh goody' I thought). But sadly, it isn't. I presume there's been an error as the chapter is actually from Angels, a book I've read several times. And this is the reason I've given it four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for lovers of Irish Mammyisms!, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
This is a must if you are waiting impatiently for Marian Keyes' next book "The Mystery of Mercy Close". A bargain price for an e-book full of wit and accurate observations, and quick reminders from our Marian of the Walsh family members. Roll on September 17th :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely recap of the Walsh family., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammy Walsh's A-Z of the Walsh Family: An Ebook Short (Kindle Edition)
This was a lovely revisit to the Walsh sisters and was great to see things through the eyes of Mammy Walsh who is such a key character in the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews