Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little alarm clock with lots of functionality
I recently got a nice, smallish Roberts DAB clock-radio (with a lovely analogue face) and was pleased with it's functionality, generally, but felt it was somewhat lacking in the sound department - the speaker was on the back, so reflected off the wall, and was generally tinny and weak on bass. Anyway, my mum commented that she needed a new clock radio and wanted to go...
Published 16 months ago by Atticman

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A big disappointment
Up until the purchase of the Blutune 40, I'd been a fan of Roberts radios - note the past tense; I have had three others all of which gave good performance and were of robust manufacture.

The casing for this model however is flimsy and 'creaks' when buttons are pressed but its main drawback is the lack of any tone control and an ill defined treble over a...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. N. D. Withyman


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little alarm clock with lots of functionality, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
Atticman (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I recently got a nice, smallish Roberts DAB clock-radio (with a lovely analogue face) and was pleased with it's functionality, generally, but felt it was somewhat lacking in the sound department - the speaker was on the back, so reflected off the wall, and was generally tinny and weak on bass. Anyway, my mum commented that she needed a new clock radio and wanted to go DAB, so I gave it to her and bought a Blutune 50, the big brother to this model. I was so impressed with it, that I bought the Blutune 40 for my son's birthday. The only difference between the models is that the 50 has two speakers and a subwoofer, whereas this is mono. However, while the sound quality can't quite match up to the 50, it is still a pretty great speaker - probably becuase the speaker is on the front rather than the back!!

Unboxing and set-up was a breeze - simply plug it in, unravel the little wire aerial, and it tunes itself in. The sound quality is warm and straightforward, not flashy. It performs admirably at high volumes, and the minimum volume is barel a whisper - perfect for when he is listening to audiobooks to go to sleep to.

Best of all, it excels as an alarm clock radio in all the same places that the previous Roberts did too, which makes it very surprising that this isn't being advertised as a clock radio but rather as a 'soundsystem'. It has multiple alarms with multiple settings (daily, weekly, length of snooze, alarm source and volume etc, plus a multi-brightness dimmer for the display), as well as sleep functions. The buttons are simple enough to use, and I didn't need to consult the manual once - though they could have seperated out some of the buttons (e.g. you have to hold down the 'on' button to access the sleep mode, then twiddle the volume to adjust the length of time). Again, the buttons don't illuminate when pressed, making it much more difficult to operate in the dark, and there are no raised bumps or ridges to help you easily identify them by feel alone.

The blutooth is simple to setup - simply hit 'Mode' to cycle through DAB, FM, AUX to BLU, then ensure your phone/device has blutooth enabled and scan for the device (it shows up as a string of numbers like an IP address) then click 'pair'. Seconds later, you're playing music wirelessly through your speaker - you can control volume either through the radio or via your phone. There is also an aux in for MP3/CD players without blutooth, and also a headphone jack. And best of all, there is a USB port on the back, meaning you can charge your phone or whatever through the radio, freeing up a plug by the bed. They've really thought of everything!

I cannot recommend this system highly enough. I've always been a Pure man in the past, having bought two of their models and finding them increadibly easy to use. However, the Blutune 50, and it's little brother the 40, are fantastic models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A big disappointment, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. N. D. Withyman "nwithyman" (Chelmsford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
Up until the purchase of the Blutune 40, I'd been a fan of Roberts radios - note the past tense; I have had three others all of which gave good performance and were of robust manufacture.

The casing for this model however is flimsy and 'creaks' when buttons are pressed but its main drawback is the lack of any tone control and an ill defined treble over a booming bass making speech muffled and indistinct. Things improve slightly at higher volume levels but as a result, it's hopeless as a bedside radio when you really don't want the thing blaring away at you!

On a more positive note, the blue-tooth feature is handy for re-playing programmes on eg BBCi Player and other stuff on the 'phone or tablet.

Some short time later, I was in the market for a similarly sized DAB radio for the kitchen; I went for the Pure One Mini which sounds much better to my ear even though there is again, no means of adjusting treble or bass levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a great device, 10 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
Having owned a Roberts Internet/DAB/FM radio for the last few years and being very happy with it decided to go for Bluetooth version however sadly was not as impressed as the original purchase for number of reasons despite its positive points which will highlight both top cons and pros:

Pros:
1. Bluetooth worked very well with our Nokia Lumia 930 Windows Phone 8.1 (also the control buttons worked with the music player wirelessly)

Cons:
1. Sound is rather tinny, more base with no adjustment options
2. Aerial is just a wire rather than a telescopic antenna therefore DAB has difficulty at same location as our other DAB radio
3. The display is not easy on the eye, if it was dots rather than lines it would have helped allot
4. Quality of the buttons on the top is not the usual Roberts standard
5. Menu navigation not as simple as other units

Overall rather disappointed that is not easy to buy a Roberts radio that has all functions as our current unit along with built-in Bluetooth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Efficient and with excellent sound quality, 30 Oct. 2013
By 
Ms. R. L. A. Amelan "Rachel" (Wilmslow, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This radio is truly wonderful and was just what I needed for my home as I am a very regular listener. Once set up, it only takes a touch of a button to activate it and it has a range of very useful features for the more "adventurous".
The radio offers a choice of digital and FM bands, plus Bluetooth capability if you want to play files from other devices, and a very good alarm clock. All this is encased in a smart and neat square black box with a very clear display that is bound to delight as, with 20/20 vision you can read it across a moderate sized room. The build is high quality and adds to the attractiveness of the device. Roberts is a good make so you have a reputation in the background also. There is an advice card included in the shipping box giving details of some of the available stations.

It is worth mentioning that there is a USB connection and I have used this to charge my mobile phone overnight. It really is very pleasing.

Setting it up was rather entertaining and I would advise careful reading of the instruction manual before you decide that it is broken or beyond a mere mortal. The secret is in following the instructions to the letter and paying close attention to the long and short presses on the operation buttons. Once you have done this, file them away so that you can find them again as it is likely that you will need them.

The device is now enjoying a prime position in my bedroom and I am about to throw out my large pink alarm clock as the effective alarm has rendered its presence superfluous. This is no small improvement to my life.

Oh, and you will be very pleased with the sound quality. It really is outstanding in my opinion and has all the clarity that digital radio affords plus more. For the stated price, it actually, in my opinion, represents good value for money and I look forward to the two of us enjoying a long and enjoyable association.

It would make a lovely Christmas or birthday gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much faultless, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
This is a brilliant Clock/Radio, small and compact, easy to use, fabulous features for the price and the display has a brightness setting which suits all environments: even in pitch black, the dimmest setting doesn't intrude on the sleeping eyes. I especially like the fact you can set a maximum volume on the alarm and it gradually increases to this volume so you're not waken with a startle.

I don't understand some of the negative comments about this product:

1. Sound is fantastic especially considering it's coming from one small little speaker
2. A thin wire aerial is ideal as you can hide it in a suitable location or place it in the best place for best signal quality a lot easier then a telescopic antenna
3. There is nothing wrong with the display and doesn't blind you at night at it's dimmest setting
4. My technically illiterate wife navigated to her chosen radio station, set 2 alarms for weekends and weekdays and played music from her phone via Bluetooth without even glancing at the instruction manual. QED: it's easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little better!, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
Excellent little system! I have happily used a BOSE Wave for a few years in my office now however, it lacks the DAB and bluetooth elements. Though the roberts cannot match the BOSE for sound and build quality it certainly packs a punch when it comes to DAB clarity and streaming music from my phone. A great little addition to any office or small room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good radio, but expensive for what it is, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
leftfooter "leftfooter" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Good points:
- sound quality is good, as you would expect from DAB
- comprehensive manual explains everything very clearly
- compact with a clean, sleek look
- the display is clear and can be set at 4 levels down to almost nothing, which is good as many alarm radios have glaring displays at night
- fully functional alarm with 2 slots, so you can have different settings for weekdays and weekends, snooze and sleep functions. Alarm comes on gently at first (called "humane" alarm by Roberts)
- Bluetooth is easy to pair with a suitable phone or iPod
- a well-regarded brand

Not so good:
- although compact, I expected something solid but this is very light. I imagine most of the box is filled with nothing but air
- display is minimal ( 8 characters), so cannot take advantage of additional text functions of DAB
- for some reason that I cannot work out, not all stations are appearing, for example 5 live is there but not 5 live extra
- in keeping the number of buttons small (just 5 plus a knob on the front), Roberts has had to employ lots of complex button presses to access all the functions
- build quality is not the best. The front knob wobbles rather than feeling solid and robust
- although there is a USB port on the back for charging, and a socket for a headphone type cable, lacking an iPod dock means that you do not have the convenience of charging and playing at the same time
- range of bluetooth is not good. iphone needed to be in the same room to play smoothly and began to break up as soon as phone left the room. Other hifi devices I have manage a much greater range.
- single speaker is small so not a big sound, although a vent in the back is designed to boost the sound a little and stop it being tinny

Overall, this is a good bedside radio alarm with some valuable extras: DAB quality, bluetooth, USB connection. Despite the niggles mentioned above, there is absolutely nothing seriously wrong with it. However, the price being asked is rather steep for what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Radio, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
H. Pierce (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This lovely little radio is very handy to have around. It has been tried out in various locations around the house, using both radio and Bluetooth to play music from our various storage devices.

We have found this device to be very useful, as we regularly listen to music and radio. You can choose to go with digital or FM radio, so all tastes are catered for. It can also be used as an alarm clock, so it is quite a nice feature in the bedroom that can also play music from all your other devices, via Bluetooth. There is also a USB connection on the radio, should you choose to utilize this function.

The radio was very easy to set up, but should you need some advice there is an instruction manual included. This is of particular use when first trying out all the functions.

Aesthetically the radio is quite smart. It is black, fairly compact, and looks nice in any room.

The only minor downside is the sound quality. This is almost always a quibble seen in small devices like this, but it is not a major problem. We used it recently to play a list of Halloween music for a children's party, and everyone seemed quite content with the sound quality.

Overall, I have been very happy with this radio. It really has become a useful addition to the household. I would recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey, but Very Nice Radio, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
Richard Allen (Wellington, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For a mono, DAB radio, this is at the top end of the price range. However Roberts is a good brand with a known track record in this field. The radio is attractive, not too large, and ideal for kitchen use, which is where it has found its home. Our signal coverage is not spectacularly good, but the radio tuned to all the main digital channels with no problems. Sound quality is absolutley fine for its purpose. It has an alarm function, so whilst it's not specifically a clock radio, it can fulfill that purpose. All in all, a very nice radio that won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and tacky - not what I expected from Roberts., 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Radio Blutune 40 DAB/DAB+/FM/Bluetooth Sound System (Electronics)
Very disappointed by cheap and plasticky feel and tinny sound quality. Roberts may still brand some nice radios, but this is not one of them. USB socket on back does not provide power when radio/Bluetooth player is off. The controls are poorly laid out and far from intuitive, some common functions needing a sequence of long and short presses. In the dark it is very hard to find up and down volume and harder still to change mode. The whole thing is so light that pressing the main knob to select a station pushes the whole unit backwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews