Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beacon Theatre: Live from New York - the clue is in the title
Managed to get a copy of this much anticipated album and I guess the clue to it all is in the title : Live, and in a theatre, that's not a stadium, which is basically a box with seats round the edge! Sound is excellent; the atmosphere is really captured superbly. This is a live album not a studio album with overdubbed cheering. Having seen Joe Bonamassa a couple of times...
Published 22 months ago by Caenea

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disspointed
Am a massive JoBo fan, adore his early albums... but it just seems "too" polished now... dont get me wrong Albert Hall and Beacon dvds/cds... Joe Plays amazingly good, but i prefer the older Joe where he was abit dirtier and ad-lib... just too structured. Loved the Guest acts, John Hiatt WOW! Sound on the cd very dissapointing though... Should of took longer to master,...
Published 22 months ago by HardRockinBlues


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beacon Theatre: Live from New York - the clue is in the title, 26 Sep 2012
This review is from: Beacon Theatre: Live From New York (Audio CD)
Managed to get a copy of this much anticipated album and I guess the clue to it all is in the title : Live, and in a theatre, that's not a stadium, which is basically a box with seats round the edge! Sound is excellent; the atmosphere is really captured superbly. This is a live album not a studio album with overdubbed cheering. Having seen Joe Bonamassa a couple of times at the Hammersmith Apollo, one of the (many) things that impressed me is how well he and his band got the sound mix right. That is well translated here on this album.

We all know how good is playing is. If anything he has improved since his Live from nowhere in particular album in 2008. His vocals certainly have - he sings almost as good as he plays guitar.

So what of the songs? Well there is good mix of stuff from his last few albums, a little more rockier than earlier stuff but very good. Not a bad track around. The guest vocals from Beth Hart, John Hiatt and Paul Rodgers are well intergrated in the tracks and are not overdone as a lot of guest stuff often seems to be. Stand out tracks include Bird on a Wire, Blue and Evil and Slow Train, but of course, ultimately, the album is worth getting just for Mountain Time alone! Sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bonamassa Live album., 27 Sep 2012
This review is from: Beacon Theatre: Live From New York (Audio CD)
Waow, I almost didn't buy this one based on some of the negative reviews and the fact that I didn't think the Albert Hall Live cd was that great...
But I went to my local cd store and heard this one thru their P.A., and have to admit I was very VERY surprised to have read so many complaints about the sound. I find it excellent, tight and dense, close to the Black country Communion live album sound. For me this has the feel of a 70's live album. This is actually the first time that I like the sound of the drums on a Live Bonamassa cd (much harder than usual).
This is maybe more "Hard rock" than "Blues", and maybe this is what some reviewers don't like; I frankly prefer this side of Bonamassa.
Plus I think that the songs are just played so brilliantly, I can honestly say that to me this is Bonamassa's best live album. I also think that the guests (Beth Hart, John Hiatt and Paul Rodgers) add a bit of diversity-if this was needed.
So, if you like your Bonamassa with a harder edge and enjoy the BCC albums, this live might be the right one for you, just like it is for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds fine to me..., 26 Sep 2012
By 
G. Cole (Ancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beacon Theatre: Live From New York (Audio CD)
Just a quick counterbalance to the other two reviews. JB's playing is of course excellent throughout, as are the guest appearances, and the song choices are good as well. Unlike the other two reviewers, I could not detect any major problems with the sound, certainly not anything that would warrant a 1-star review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Not Bad At All, 29 Dec 2012
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beacon Theatre: Live From New York (Audio CD)
OK, so reading many reviews that criticised the sound and, having been at a Bonamassa concert where the sound for the first few numbers was muddy (but it did eventually improve!) I actually held back from buying this 2 CD package until the price dropped from it's original starting point. And am I glad that I purchased it? - well, yes, I have to say that I am!
Mr Bonamassa has been putting out class rock/blues albums now for a number of years and while this is not the best of his output, it's certainly not his worst either.
For me, live albums are the best way of listening to any artist short of actually going to their concerts, and they always display the capabilities (and shortcomings)as the concert progresses and while I can understand people being a little upset about the recording quality here, it's not that bad at all
However, whilst Joe is smoking on SLOW TRAIN, DUST BOWL, THE RIVER, MOUNTAIN TIME and IF HEARTACHES WERE NICKELS - the better tracks are those with guest singers; Beth Hart and Paul Rodgers - Beth taking I'LL TAKE CARE OF YOU and SINNERS PRAYER apart, belting the lyrics out like a latter day Joplin, and the freedom that not having to take the singing duties gives Joe results in much more emotional playing! As for WALK IN MY SHADOW and FIRE & WATER, well, Paul Rodgers sings them as only he can but from Joe we hear guitar playing a la Kossoff which comes close, very close to being a perfect replica of that man's playing, phrasing and tone - it really is a joy to hear - not that I want JB to become a tribute player to Kossoff - but it does show JB's deep understanding of the man's style and fluidity sadly cut down in his prime! We've heard a number of players try to capture the Kossoff playing technique, but to these ears, no-one yet has come as close as JB has here.
All in all then, a very satisfying double CD set that will sit well in any Bonamassa fan's collection or indeed anyone's collection that appreciates good honest to goodness rock/blues music and at under ten quid is a real snip.
Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disspointed, 2 Oct 2012
This review is from: Beacon Theatre: Live From New York (Audio CD)
Am a massive JoBo fan, adore his early albums... but it just seems "too" polished now... dont get me wrong Albert Hall and Beacon dvds/cds... Joe Plays amazingly good, but i prefer the older Joe where he was abit dirtier and ad-lib... just too structured. Loved the Guest acts, John Hiatt WOW! Sound on the cd very dissapointing though... Should of took longer to master, rather than firing 2 albums, a dvd and a live cd out every year...

PS Checkout a english Blues Rock band called "Snakewater", very JoBo esque in parts, debut album produced by Grammy Award Nominee Chris Tsangarides (Gary Moore / Thin Lizzy / Judas Preist)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Concert / Horrible sound, 24 Sep 2012
By 
R. N. ESPIŅEIRA "Rne" (Malaver , Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beacon Theatre: Live From New York (Audio CD)
Frankly I'm very disappointed with this album. Not in terms of music, I want to clarify. The music is great and the Joe's performance is amazing, as he has accustomed us. The issue here is sound: horrible production of the CD. The sound is a ball of noise, no instruments are well differentiated, saturated sounds at times without much clarity and volume compression. The sound is similar to the first Joe Bonamassa's live album: A new yesterday Live. A pity, considering the quality of the music of Joe Bonamassa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great record - get it if you like JB, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great record. Was unsure after reviews stating poor recording quality, but this sounds excellent on my system with really good separation and a great sound stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live from New York Vinyl, 26 Sep 2012
By 
S. Heale "Stan" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First thing the vinyl , two nice clean slabs of 180 grms vinyl. A few little pops , but nothing a good clean won't cure. Not sure what the problems are with the CD but sounds good on my Project Genie Mk 2.
A nice selections of songs , especially the Rory Gallagher and Gary Moore covers. Nice to hear all the guest appearances as well. Don't Explain was was my vinyl of the year last year - how about a full tour Joe ?

As normal Joe plays a blinder (would expect nothing else). The only reason for a lack of five stars is no digital download - check out the Rival Sons new album Head Down brilliant record and a digital copy that's value for money

Stan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beacon Theatre: Live From New York (Audio CD)
The one star is for the usual excellent service from Amazon. As the previous reviewer said, the sound is dreadful, it's like listening to one of his other live albums with your fingers in your ears. Whoever ok'd the production of this album with this sound quality should be sacked. I play his other cd's all the time but this one, I doubt it'll see the light of day again. Mega disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beacon Theatre: Live From New York (Audio CD)
Brilliant cd, just as expected, great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beacon Theatre: Live From New York
Beacon Theatre: Live From New York by Joe Bonamassa (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 6 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews