Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Starter Collection
If you are new to The Jam you are in for a treat!
The Jam never made a bad song, great singles band, some cracking B'Sides which often over shadowed the A'Side and some great Album tracks.
That's Entertainment : The Collection is an Excellent starting point.
With all great bands there are plenty of Greatest Hits collections to choose from but this budget...
Published on 29 Aug. 2012 by Gawain Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Scratched
The cd is scratched and it skips in places
Published 6 months ago by stephen downton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Starter Collection, 29 Aug. 2012
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
If you are new to The Jam you are in for a treat!
The Jam never made a bad song, great singles band, some cracking B'Sides which often over shadowed the A'Side and some great Album tracks.
That's Entertainment : The Collection is an Excellent starting point.
With all great bands there are plenty of Greatest Hits collections to choose from but this budget collection has been thoughtfully compiled.

The classics are here 'Going Underground', 'Town Called Malice' 'The Eton Rifles' 'Tube Station 'Strange Town' and this albums title track but mixed with some lesser known album tracks including my favourite from All Mod Cons 'The Place I Love' and that standout album track from Sound Affects 'Man In The Corner Shop'. We also have 'The Butterfly Collector' possibly their greatest B'Side but a real curiosity is adding one live track from Dig The New Breed 'Set the House Ablaze' which for me was always a better sounding live track than it was on Sound Affects makes this a cleverly compiled collection.
Ok its missing 'Start!' and 'Beat Surrender' their two other No 1 singles and their debut 'In The City' and no Bruce Foxton tracks but as a nice rounded mix its a very fine collection.
Sleeve notes are also particularly good on this budget collection, well worth investing in. Best Jam compilation under a fiver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent budget album - great for beginners!, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
I know for sure that there will be more extensive collections of The Jam's music, but as someone who was only familiar with the big hits, this three pound (from most stores and Amazon at the time of writing) compilation was just what I was looking for.

Among the tracks are 'That's Entertainment', 'Going Underground', 'Town Called Malice' and 'Down In The Tube Station At The Midnight', which were the reasons why I bought the CD. However, track 9 'Wasteland' is now my favourite, and 'That's Entertainment: The Collection'' offers plenty of other hits, as well as album highlights, B sides ('The Butterfly Collector' is a great tune, deserving of an A side) and a live recording of 'Set The House Ablaze'.

The packaging is also very nice, the cover looks cool, and the booklet contains detailed liner notes, photographs, newspaper cuttings and memorabilia. I doubt that the compilation offers anything new to someone who is a already a fan (then again, I doubt that they are the target audience), but from a causal listener's point of view - I can't fault it. Well, it would have been nice to have 'Beat Surrender' as well, but nevertheless, this budget album was a great starting point for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is a great compilation album. Some interesting tracks and a cool looking sleve. Nothing new on this CD if you are already a fan though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for those who were there when it was released., 23 Feb. 2015
By 
Victor Meldrew Mk2 "stefan morawiec" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
I never really liked the Jam when they were current and I can say that I like them more now than then.

This item was purchased for my son who has expressed an interest in the Sex Pistols and I felt that he needed a few more bands to examine and compare and so I have added to his collection an album of Clash Singles and of course this one. As he expands his knowledge of how modern music developed I dare say he will reflect on the stuff that I had before such as UB40.

What I think is tremendous is that music like this is being sought after by a boy born in 2000, demonstrating that whilst some of this stuff is quite old, it is not likely to be forgotten by those around when it was released and looks like it will be listened to for quite a while yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
A great buy. Have not stopped playing it so thank you.
This was a treat to myself as wanted a cd that had all the best songs in one cd.
For a new Jam/Weller fan you cannot go wrong with this.
THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This band were responsible for some of the greatest pop songs of the 70s/80s and this album has ..., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
This band were responsible for some of the greatest pop songs of the 70s/80s and this album has them all - although their presentation was more robust than Squeeze both groups wrote and performed some of the classics of the era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb compilation, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
Chris J. Lloyd "Chris Lloyd" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
Great album great band just the most complete Jam.
Paul Weller and the boys reign supreme, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars That is indeed entertainment, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
Pleased with this addition to my music collection, especially for the price paid. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec. 2014
By 
David Burns "pop Dad" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
I didn't lik the jam in the eighties like them now good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Scratched, 28 Aug. 2014
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection (Audio CD)
The cd is scratched and it skips in places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

That's Entertainment: The Collection
That's Entertainment: The Collection by The Jam (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews