Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like this kettle
kettle arrived before date anticipated, cleverly wrapped amazon stlyle!

The kettle itself< looks smart and the blue light makes it stands out even more at night! Its not very noisy, boils quickly, light in weight making it easy to lift using either hands.

Overall, I am very please with my kettle so far and i am having no complaints at this moment!
Published 10 months ago by sodkemi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay
We had a bigger and more upmarket Breville Kettle and I assumed we were buying the same.
Unfortunately it wasn't, it is slower and has less features but it gets the job done.
Published 7 months ago by conpat


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like this kettle, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
kettle arrived before date anticipated, cleverly wrapped amazon stlyle!

The kettle itself< looks smart and the blue light makes it stands out even more at night! Its not very noisy, boils quickly, light in weight making it easy to lift using either hands.

Overall, I am very please with my kettle so far and i am having no complaints at this moment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very stylish, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
Great value for money as bought when on sale. Looks really good with glow, very pleased with purchase, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot, 18 May 2013
By 
Withnail67 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very stylish kettle that makes a good impression, easy-to-use, and would make a generous wedding present. Breville is a good brand, and this item does them justice. The capacity is very generous and ideal for a family breakfast. The catch to open the top of the kettle is actually on top of the kettle itself rather than in the handle; this is a small thing and probably a matter of personal preference: I didn't find it a problem.

Boiling seemed to take a realistic amount of time, neither too long or too short. The switch itself doesn't illuminate, but the generous windows on the side of the body of the kettle reveal a small blue light which glows when the kettle is active. Some reviewers have commented on this being a "loud" kettle, but I didn't think it particularly was. It does the job efficiently and is very pleasing in its design-I found the lid which slopes down towards the spout a little unusual to look at but not in any way a problem. Once more hitch was the rather short amount of lead attached to the base, and I think the "storage" the basis supposed to have for spare electrical lead is a bit of a red herring.

This is a thoroughly dependable and thoroughly appropriate item which seemed a tiny bit expensive for what it was, but would be money well spent in your kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stainless steel jug kettle, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
This is a good sized kettle as it will boil enough water to fill a saucepan full of water if you wish and also fill a teapot to the top. It's easy to clean and light to handle and has a blue light to show it is working. I had one of these before and it lasted for years with regular descaling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rapid Boil Kettle, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
Product is good, quick boil and the spout is easy pouring with no spillage. The polished steel is easy to keep clean, you just need to wipe around the spout now and again otherwise limescale can build up (if you live in a hard water area). Easy to use and not too noisy as many rapid boil kettles can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boils water & everything!, 18 May 2013
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As soon as I got it out of the box, I compared this kettle to my existing Philips HD4671/20 Brushed Metal Kettle, which also uses 3kW electricity & has the same 1.7L capacity. My old one still works, it's just that the bottom of the handle melted when I left it too close to the hob in my tiny kitchen!

In terms of performance, there was hardly any difference between them - both took around the same amount of time to boil & made the same amount of noise. Both have a blue indicator light to show when they're in use. The only difference is that the Philips' brushed metal cover became grubby very quickly, whereas the reflective surface on this one is much more attractive & wipes clean more easily. So I have to come down on the side of Breville.

However, it's worth noting that the see-through panel which displays the water level is higher than the one on my Philips kettle. Thus it shows you when it has enough water for 3 or 4 mugs but you can't tell when it has enough for 1 or 2 - which is how many people I make brews for the majority of the time. So it's going to use up more electricity. Also the blue indicator light is much darker than ones I've seen on other kettles - and indeed darker than the picture suggests. This makes it more difficult to see from a distance but you can still hear it boiling. And while I'm at it, I feel it would benefit from having a push-button lid. Admittedly, pulling open the lid is only very slightly less trouble but I feel this may be enough to encourage many users to fill it via the spout instead. This will result in the impurities the filter is supposed to get rid of being caught on the wrong side of it & going straight back into their drinks.

So on balance, it's a great little kettle which performs well & looks nice & shiny. It's easier to keep clean than the Philips model but is less practical in some ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
We had a bigger and more upmarket Breville Kettle and I assumed we were buying the same.
Unfortunately it wasn't, it is slower and has less features but it gets the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breville does it again.....!!!, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
Originally bought a plastic Breville kettle, which was faulty. It could not handle the heat, and the kettle leaked ruining my work top. Water tasted plastic too. Bought this stainless steel one instead. Sleek solid design. Boils quickly, and keeps the water hot for a good 2hrs. Looks great next to my Breville hot water dispenser which is now redundant....!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable purchase, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Dr. Margaret Webster (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
I had a Breville Spectra kettle which had been in frequent daily use for four and a half years and was first rate. In comparison this feels a bit less solidly built, is more noisy, harder to see the fill level and does not automatically turn itself off when you lift it from the stand. Overall it is a perfectly adequate kettle but a disappointment after the Spectra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chunky, sturdy, large capacity kettle that looks great., 21 Aug 2013
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Breville VKJ670 Polished Stainless Steel Jug Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
The Breville VKJ670 polished stainless steel jug kettle has a fastboil element (3kW), a 1.71 litre capacity and a blue illumination to the water level once boiling. Has a handy 360 deg. rotational base so the cord doesn't get caught up on the work surface and looks great. Let's face it, if you're trying to co-ordinate your kitchen the appearance of a gadget is important. I've been using the kettle for a while, I like to test products properly before I review, and there's no sign of corrosion/rusting to the polished metal surface and no sign of drips from the spout. Quite a robust kettle and it's sturdy on the base even when at full boil. I'm happy with this product and would certainly recommend however; the metal surface gets very hot, much hotter than a plastic kettle, so remember to keep your fingers away from anything but the handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews