Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unreleased Gems
This is the follow up to the previously released "The Rare Monro" and this newly released 2 cd set is so enjoyable. I cannot understand why such great tracks have lain in the vaults for so long.
There are too many songs to name but if I had to name one it's Matt's Spanish version of Maria which is simply stunning, until now I had only ever heard that song in English...
Published on 17 Aug 2012 by K. Johansen

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good buy for Monro fans
While these tracks are not up to the standard of his hit discs, understandably, they are welcome entertainment to complete my extensive range of his work. When I was on holiday in Majorca in the 60s, 'Mas Todo Pasa' was being sung by practically all the guests around the pool every day. An English has never been available - until now!
Published 14 months ago by Mr. P. A. Rook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unreleased Gems, 17 Aug 2012
By 
K. Johansen "luvmusic" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the follow up to the previously released "The Rare Monro" and this newly released 2 cd set is so enjoyable. I cannot understand why such great tracks have lain in the vaults for so long.
There are too many songs to name but if I had to name one it's Matt's Spanish version of Maria which is simply stunning, until now I had only ever heard that song in English. As each song plays I feel it gets better and better.
A wonderful addition to my ever growing Matt Monro collection. Special thanks to Michele Monro and Richard Moore for their work on this project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rarer Monro, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. J. Higton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Michele Monro and Richard Moore have surpassed themselves with this new release 2cd set. Containing a staggering 66 tracks this is the follow up to the wonderful 2 cd set The Rare Monro. Consisting of many unreleased songs, alternative versions, jingles and "live" tracks from radio shows this is another fantastic collection of songs from the wonderful voice of the great Matt Monro. This is another "must have" to add to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great collection from Matt Monro, 28 Aug 2012
By 
M. B. Doyle "mariana44" (Kent UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To me, this wonderful cd collection is comparable to an overflowing jewellery casket, filled to the brim with diamonds, rubies and other precious stones.
Every time I go into it, I find another Gem that I had not realised was there.

So many songs on there that I never thought to hear sung by Matt are given the "Monro" touch.
My personal top 3 are "The folks who live on the Hill" "Younger than Springtime" "I'll be around"--but a difficult choice with "My funny Valentine" "You'll never know" " It's only a paper Moon" "Old Devil Moon" also in contention. Not to mention some of the less well known songs which all deserve their place on this double cd.

66 tracks over a 2 cd collection is great value---but these 66 rare and previously unobtainable tracks by Matt Monro are just phenomenal value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following on from the excellent album 'The Rare Monro', this additional collection of rare songs and jingles once again underlines the sublime vocal talents of Matt Monro. There has clearly been extreme care and attention given to compiling and remastering this material and the results speak for themelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New material, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How great to have some new recordings from the best singer this country ever produced
I have practically everything he ever recorded so it's really great to have some new material to listen to
Amazing that all these recordings have been in the EMI archives but were never released
I was lucky to see Matt in the famous London Concert that he gave at The Barbican not long before he left us and he was fabulous!
Thanks for the release of this,I wonder if there is anything else left or whether Michelle has any more private recordings anywhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful set...of Matt Monro performances, 26 Oct 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This set made it because of the hard work of both Matt's daughter Michele and recording engineer Richard Moore who has brought to us many other rare Monro items. The material on this 2 CD set includes dips into both early Matt Monro as well as 1960s and 1970s unissued songs and even jingles. The liner notes tell the story and the voice we all loved sings the songs. Dick Haymes did rate Matt as the best British singer and Matt rated Dick as a great performer too. When you have sat down and listened you will no doubt wonder how and why much of this material got lost along the way. Matt Monro was a great singer and entertainer with a sense of humour. Thanks to EMI for getting these CDs out to the public but most of all a big thank you to Michele for keeping her dad's music right up there with the best of them. Nicely packaged and very reasonably priced too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Reasons to buy this Disc, 23 Oct 2012
By 
AsianCharm "AC" (Frisco, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(1) It's inexpensive for a 2-disc, 66 tracks CD set.
(2) The Remastering is superb! It shows lots of tender loving care, especially those tracks that are transferred from vinyl, and radio.
(3) Some of the track were elaborated recorded in the studio, but for whatever reasons, had never seen the daylight. Thank god, they are now available digitally.
(4) Many tracks are really rare! I would never have dreamt that Matt sung Chattanooga Choo Choo.
(5) It's always a joy to hear Matt sing. Like Ella Fitzgerald, Nat king Cole, Frank Sinatra and few others, he also has the magic and power to make you feel like he's singing to you personally everytime you put his record on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Uncovered The Rarer Monro, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Mrs. M. Down "Marian Down" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Long awaited, another 2CD set of rare recordings from this timeless singer, lovingly put together by daughter Michele, and restored by Richard Moore.
All the tracks have an interesting story to tell, and the accompanying booklet by Michele Monro clearly puts the listener in the picture.
Just sit awhile and listen to this wonderful treat, it is well worth the wait.
Hopefully these gems will repeat the earlier success of The Rare Monro. They certainly deserve to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to be amazed...., 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On this disc, there are songs I have never heard of before, but with Matt singing them on
Matt Uncovered - The Rarer Monro they are just out of this world,
I know its not everyone's choice, but if you want something to listen to as you are relaxing in your armchair, then I recommend you buy this, and just sit back and listen, don't just take my word for it, absolute Masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MATT UNCOVERED-THE RARER MONRO DOUBLE CD, 29 Aug 2012
By 
S. Tindall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The pure dedication of Michele Monro and Richard Moore brings to the forefront a CD of so many undiscovered tracks from the most finest of singers-Matt Monro.
This is a quality CD from the master of quality himself.
Immerse yourself in listening to the many 'live' tracks as though you were in the audience,the experimental stereo broadcasts that include the beautiful 'It Can't Be Wrong',unreleased classics that we never even knew that he had recorded and so much,much more.
66 tracks of pure Monro magic.We have waited five years for this masterpiece.A must for any lover of the very best in musical talent that England produced.That IS the one and only Matt Monro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews