Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A light-hearted comedy
'Paying Guests' introduces a cast of fascinating characters living in Mrs Oxney's guest house, including a stock ex India Army officer with the usual fund of tiger stories and demanding keep fit regimes; a talented middle-aged lady, adept at the keyboard as she is with the paint brush, who gains a female admirer; the appropriately-named and mysterious Mrs Bliss, who...
Published 24 months ago by Mondoro

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not E.F. Benson's Best
As a Lucia fan, I was hoping that Paying Guests would be as funny. Maybe I have overdosed on E F Benson, but this does not seem nearly as funny as any of the Lucia novels.
Published 11 days ago by Retiredtenor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A light-hearted comedy, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Mondoro (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
'Paying Guests' introduces a cast of fascinating characters living in Mrs Oxney's guest house, including a stock ex India Army officer with the usual fund of tiger stories and demanding keep fit regimes; a talented middle-aged lady, adept at the keyboard as she is with the paint brush, who gains a female admirer; the appropriately-named and mysterious Mrs Bliss, who asserts that the 'Omnipotent Mind' is a far better curative agency than the 'brine' at the local spa, as it banished the real source of pain, 'Error'; and that familiar figure in literature, the daughter ministering to a demanding father whose greatest source of pleasure is in sharing his medical history with all and sundry.

E F Benson places these 'paying guests' into a succession of comic situations. The village hall concert - which had me in stitches - was the best of these, but the kindly subterfuges surrounding Miss Howard's art exhibition and the loss of Colonel Chase's pedometer sustain the comic atmosphere right up to the end. A joy to read in this inexpensive kindle format. More of these lesser-known novels of E F Benson, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly my favourite E F Benson, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
I guess like most people I initially knew E F Benson's writing through the Mapp and Lucia stories. Thanks to the wonder of Kindle I have been able to explore a lot more of his work and it is far more varied than I had realised. This story which uses the device of a house full of paying guests to explore their many and varied foibles and relationships. It is certainly very reminiscent of the Mapp and Lucia stories but I think kindlier in tone. The characters don't slip into caricature the way they can in some of his later books. I love this story and will certainly be re-reading in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The British at their most perculiar., 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
I adore E.F. Benson and this novel is a little jewel. It's a wonderful comedy of manners and class and a celebration of the British at their most quirky. It is beautifully written too. It feeds the mind and the soul and made me laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars paying guests, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book - was rather dated but a good mix of characters and a well told story. Will read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed it hugely but then I'm a fan of E F Benson, I shall work my way through all his novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars joy, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Funny sad moving cutting true nownas it was then wonderful observation of society folly....can't put him down ...and so prolifix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic EF Benson, 18 Nov 2013
By 
L. Holloway "film Freak" (North Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Great cast of grotesque but somehow loveable characters, wonderful observations and wicked portrayals of a certain type of slightly down at heel types who would all rather die than admit a failing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Benson always a favourite, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Kindle Customer (Manachester U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Great to find this as an e-book as I have lost my original copy. E.F. is a good read especially out in the sun, looking forward to some more hopefully in the future as e-reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am an avid E F Benson fan, I ..., 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
I am an avid E F Benson fan, I adore the Lucia novels. This is a precursor to the Lucia novels and obviously you can see where the some of the parts of the characters originated from. It was worth the 77p to download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paying Guests - A must for any Benson lover, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PAYING GUESTS (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
His best novel.
A must-have for any Benson lover.
The list of comic characters goes on and on and, in Colonel Chase he has created a comic character easily as good as Mapp or Lucia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews