Customer Reviews


199 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extravagance, style, razzmatazz!
Not the new Downton Abbey but a light joyful romp through the period, an dramatic insight into how the charismatic Harry Gordon Selfridge opened the doors to a new age of retail.
Published 18 months ago by Mr. C. S. White

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Very boring.
Published 2 months ago by MICHAEL LOWSLEY-WILLIAMS


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extravagance, style, razzmatazz!, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Not the new Downton Abbey but a light joyful romp through the period, an dramatic insight into how the charismatic Harry Gordon Selfridge opened the doors to a new age of retail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luxury and Commerce Hit Edwardian London, 20 Feb 2013
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I adore both the actresses Frances O'Connor and Zoe Tapper, and have seen them in many other television series and films, and Frances O'Connor on the West End stage. They are not "unknowns". They are skilled and talented jobbing actors. And I am not familiar with the actor playing Mr Selfridge, but I am enjoying his performance very much.

This is social history mixed with economic history mixed with melodrama and sensuality (Andrew Davies - Mr-Darcy-in-wet-shirt-creator - is the writer) mixed with beautiful dresses and perfumes. Personally I go for the first two, and my five-year-old daughter goes for the last one. (She can never have too many pretty dresses in her life.)

It is based on the real life history of Harry Selfridge, an American who moved to Britain and opened London's first modern-style department store in around 1908. Everything he does is radically different to what everyone else is doing, and he deals with every obstacle with great exuberance and enthusiasm, that is very different to what other British period dramas depict. I love that energy.

There are guest appearances from other historical characters of the day - the ballerina Anna Pavlova, writer Conan Doyle, a Frenchman who flew the Channel for the first time, gangs of rather glammed-up Suffragettes - as well as lots of pointing out that it is a new century and a new world, with cars and planes and suchlike changing life as everyone knows it. I'm actually very interested in the Edwardian period of history for precisely that reason. I especially love the minute aspects of history that come into the programme, like make-up having to be sold under the counter because it's linked with being an escort, or comments about how the shop girls automatically have to resign if they get married - it's a lovely introduction to the female side of history.

So currently it's my favourite show on television, and I actually prefer it to "Downton Abbey."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets better by the episode!, 3 May 2013
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Mr. Selfridge gets better with every episode you watch. Although I did find Piven's Selfridge a but irritating in the first episode, his character quickly grew on me (even if he is a bit of a bastard at times). However, what really won me over was the lovely Agnes, so beautifully played by Aisling Loftus. Brilliant character!

All in all, Mr. Selfridge is definately worth a watch. I am now eagerly anticipating the second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent English period drama, 10 Dec 2013
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
"Mr Selfridge" is being shown here on DSTV in South Africa and follows on from the showing of Series 2 of "Downton Abbey". Therefore i was expecting a let down after the excellence of "Downton Abbey", but to my pleasant suprise, this English TV Drama series is in my opinion a worthy competitor to "Downton Abbey" and dare i say it, i think it is a better series.

The attention to detail of the period is outstanding,the plot concerning the founding and running of Selfridges London Store is intriguing and cannot wait for each weekly episode and am suprised that it did not get any Emmy Awards. Mr Selfridge played by Jeremy Niven cannot be faulted, while the rest of the cast play their roles superbly.
The plot flows so sublimely, far better than "Downton Abbey" and you are transported in to early 20th century London quite magnificently.

A must see for lovers of quality English period dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Viewing, 3 May 2013
By 
R. Bett (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Fantastic viewing. Can't wait for series two. Attention to detail is exquisite. Stories are rich and each episode takes you on another interesting adventour in the development of this iconic London Store. Who new they have the largest shoe hall in the world selling over 7k pairs per week. Check out the two special features on the disc fascinating viewing. 5 stars hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen the first episode destroyed on commercial television in Australia (40mins program, 20mins adverts!!) the purchase of the series on Blue Ray was a godsend. Great series, excellent acting, can't wait for the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 6 Sep 2013
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Couldnt stop watching!!
Waiting for series 2 now... Will be buying again when available. Very very good.
Thanks you !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Entertaining Period Drama...., 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Having watched Mr Selfridge from the start, the series has just got better and better by each episode aired, having never heard off Jeremy Piven before this, i am now his number one fan, he portrays harry gordon selfridge perfectly and i cant wait to see him in hopefully another series, what a brilliant cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It is extremely good and also very compulsive viewing,I hope they bring out a new series at some time soon .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A real master stroke for the programme makers. What a great series and easy to watch. No gratuitous violence or sex and the story lines are superb. Cant wait for the next series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013]
Mr Selfridge - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] by Jeremy Piven (DVD - 2013)
£7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews