Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good mix of polished intrigue and pathos
This has all the trademarks of a Poliakoff drama: immaculate, beautiful upper crust people in artistically posed scenes, long meaningful looks, and an obsession with photographs. Yet despite the often slow pace, the dialogues are much sharper than I expected and it also has quite a tight, intriguing and at times tense plot. This is what probably made me enjoy it more than...
Published on 26 Feb. 2013 by Antenna

versus
14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Please, make up your mind...
This is one of those annoying TV series that can't make up its mind as to what it wants to be. The first half of the series is a period drama about a black jazz band struggling against the prejudices of the time in 1930's London. After that the series then makes an abrupt about face to become a murder mystery and not a convincing one either. For me the end result was a...
Published on 25 Mar. 2013 by MadMack


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good mix of polished intrigue and pathos, 26 Feb. 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
This has all the trademarks of a Poliakoff drama: immaculate, beautiful upper crust people in artistically posed scenes, long meaningful looks, and an obsession with photographs. Yet despite the often slow pace, the dialogues are much sharper than I expected and it also has quite a tight, intriguing and at times tense plot. This is what probably made me enjoy it more than any previous work by Poliakoff, together with its focus on an interesting and little-covered aspect of 1930s Britain, in which we see the mercurial rise and sad fall of a talented band of black musicians. After catching the eye of Stanley, an ambitious young music journalist, they gain bookings at the once grand now gradually decaying Imperial Hotel and even attract the attention of the Prince of Wales and his brother before tragedy and scandal destroy their budding popularity. The prejudice the players face is probably quite realistic for the period, and borne with great dignity by the suave and super-controlled pianist Louis. And of course, there is the alternating rhythm and pathos of the music played with such verve beneath the distinctive rainbow arch of The Imperial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing Delight!, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this when it was first televised so it was great to get a copy of the series on DVD. The music is fantastic and the two female singers are amazing. Matthew Goode is excellent. He is a very talented and under rated actor, at least in this country. I am following his career with interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb production, 10 Aug. 2014
By 
Stephen Bishop (Darlington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful series, with an excellent cast, music and design. Set in the 1930s amidst the slightly seedy glamour of London hotels and night clubs, this is a tale of suspense and racism. Even if you don't like jazz (I don't) you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the goldfish, 19 April 2013
By 
P. NEWMAN (Tasmania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
...by which I mean that you have to have an attention span, an interest & knowledge of recent history (yes, I do mean BEFORE you were born!) & an appreciation of quality popular music.
Poliakof could be accused of pushing the bandwagon that some English people were as prejudiced & racist as the Germans were, a bit too far, but it's a reality that is worth pointing out, to audiences who know nothing of their own country's past. On the other hand, it should also be pointed out that persecuted persons in Hitler's Reich were extremely eager to escape to Britain.
The psycho, sexually perverted aristocrat is played well, as is the horrible reality of covering up murder & placing the 'rap' on the black man.
As usual, with Poliakof, there are slow scenes in near-empty rooms, much un-spoken tension & innuendo, an assumption of blase wealth, and parents from Hell!
I enjoyed the music, but as an aficionado of 1930s British dance band music, I suspect that Lester's style is more 1945+ than pre-war. However, no doubt the message is that British music was 'behind' USA jazz. That's not actually correct, but film makers love to trot out their bias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this series, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series, my chap's favourite director and he had missed it, bought as part of Christmas presents and he had watched the lot by the end of boxing day- said he was completely enthralled.
Definitely worth a purchase, first few episodes IMO are the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful cast and beautifully shot, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
This took a bit of time to get into but proved addictive. Wonderful cast and beautifully shot. Evocative of a time when white tie and even black tie was the norm for dressing up, oh for those days again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful series, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this when it aired and couldn't wait for the DVD to arrive although I will admit that I wanted the CD even more as the music is just fantastic. Some people thought the end was a let down - yes you can pick holes if you want to but considering I normally think Poliakoff overrated I was very impressed with this indeed. He captured the essence of musicians mixing with and being patronised by the rich though they can never be fit into that world and the conflict this can create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding achievement, 10 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, please completely ignore the short, sour review containing the words 'chronic', 'stomach-churning'. I have to say this is offensive, silly bilge: it's a pity this has to be almost the first review you read. It sounds like this reviewer was watching something else. There's enough on TV to qualify for these insults, but 'Dancing on the Edge' was emphatically not in that category. On the contrary it was something special, a riveting experience and classic Poliakoff. Profound, serious and thought-provoking with plenty to say about tolerance between communities and individuals, fabulously set in the early 1930s as Adolf Hitler becomes Chancellor of Germany. Spell-binding acting, great music, wonderfully shot with every frame carefully considered. Sure, you needed patience to see it through to the end, but that's the point: it was all the better for the time it took. The journey was consistently fascinating and ultimately devastating. Almost worth the licence fee on its own. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see!, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present for my daughter as I had already seen and knew she would love it. She Did!
It is a beautiful story with great actors/actresses and I absolutely loved the era.
It is now doing the rounds as a 'you must watch this'
I'm surprised it's not more widely spoken about. I shall be watching it again when I get it back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Please, make up your mind..., 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing on the Edge [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those annoying TV series that can't make up its mind as to what it wants to be. The first half of the series is a period drama about a black jazz band struggling against the prejudices of the time in 1930's London. After that the series then makes an abrupt about face to become a murder mystery and not a convincing one either. For me the end result was a weak story with indifferent acting. On a plus note the one thing the producers did get right was the music, costumes, settings and amazing vintage cars, and perhaps just for that the series is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dancing on the Edge [DVD]
Dancing on the Edge [DVD] by Stephen Poliakoff (DVD - 2013)
£9.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews