Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blandings!
I absolutely loved this BBC production of PG Wodehouse's country-house centred comic classic. Wodehouse is my favourite writer, and this series is a joy to watch. Pure escapism, very funny, with stellar acting from Timothy Spall as the dotty but kind-hearted Lord Emsworth, Mark Williams as his butler, Beach, Jack Farthing as his over-excited puppy of a son, Freddy and...
Published 17 months ago by Miss Laura Harmour

versus
27 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wretched waste of top actors and wonderful stories
Unimaginably bad.

If you haven't yet paid your money - try and find a clip on YouTube. Then if you buy it, you have no-one but yourself to blame.

I love Wodehouse, I love the Blandings Castle stories, I like every actor in the show - but only in other things. This feels like a ham fisted attempt by BBC executives to "improve" on Wodehouse, by...
Published on 17 May 2013 by Mr. M. Poole


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blandings!, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely loved this BBC production of PG Wodehouse's country-house centred comic classic. Wodehouse is my favourite writer, and this series is a joy to watch. Pure escapism, very funny, with stellar acting from Timothy Spall as the dotty but kind-hearted Lord Emsworth, Mark Williams as his butler, Beach, Jack Farthing as his over-excited puppy of a son, Freddy and Jennifer Saunders as his domineering sister, Connie, plus unforgettable guest appearances from the likes of David Walliams as Emworth's buttoned up secretary, all delivering Wodehouse's pricelessly funny lines as to the manor born. Each episode is delightful and I am thrilled a new series is on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I (mostly) like it, 4 Feb. 2013
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This one was always going to polarise opinion, just as the Jeeves & Wooster series did twenty years ago. For those who love the Wodehouse books, an adaptation for the screen is always likely to come up short in some area, and this is no exception to the rule. As far as possible then, the best you can hope to do is assess on its own merits.

The positives are numerous. A fabulous cast with superb comic timing (Timothy Spall as the nominal lead is in the form of his life) delivering some of Wodehouse's finest lines, a lovely setting, a wonderful sense of innocence and escapism, and a magnificent pig.

On the other side of the balance sheet, the criticims that can be levelled at it are similar to those that were raised against the previously mentioned Jeeves adaptations: the fact that a large amount of additional slapstick / clowning that was not present in the original books has found its way onto the screen. Most of the time this is not a problem if you are willing to watch the series without comparing to the books. However, even with that in mind, it's frequently taken too far. An obvious example is Freddie's regular car-crash. This is fair enough in itself, but for some reason 'comical' sparks etc. have been added in. Likewise for his hair standing on end when an attractive girl walks by. And there are numerous other examples, some more extreme than others. Such things add nothing, are completely unnecessary, and distract from the fabulous dialogue which is the foundation of Wodehouse's comedy.

Problems aside though, I still enjoy it. Some episodes work better than others, but there are a couple of real gems here, and even in the weaker episodes, there is some excellent dialogue and performances to enjoy. If you can overlook the unnecessary slapstick, it's well worth watching. If only to see Timothy Spall deliver the immortal line

'Behold your father Frederick. A toad beneath the harrow.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the critics, 1 May 2015
By 
beau nydle "labrat" (chertsey, surrey, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Take no notice of the bad reviews, this is marvellous.. Timothy Spall is great, and Mark Williams is priceless as Beech, the butler. His facial expressions leave speech unnecessary. When I've had a bad day, and I need cheering up, on goes Blandings. Works every time. Well packed and quick delivery make this seller, and the dvd, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Take it as it is and do not compare it to the original books., 8 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I can see why some people don't like these series. The fans of the original works of PG Wodehouse found it as a 'blasphemy' to turn it into slapstick comedy in some part, while the slapstick comedies fans found the series come with a rather hard-to-digest-literature-english words. So it mostly targeting the market which is in-between-audience.

To enjoy the series what you have to do is stop comparing it to the literature works, just take it as it is, do not expect too much or you will be disappointed. As for the slap-stick fans, well, keep dictionaries and literature words book handy at all times while watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST BUY IT, SERIOUSLY, 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Insane, wonderful caricatures, hysterically funny. Instant addiction! You will never, never get tired of this one. Make sure to get Series #2 too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Must!, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Very amazing, excellent performance of Actors, it is a must for Wodehouse lovers, even if I'm italian and I must follow the speech with the only english subtitles, but it's a Worth and a pleasure to listen the original voices. Very good, I love it! For the same reason I got obviously the second series too and the complete wonderful series of Wooster and Jeeves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blandings is certainly not bland., 28 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Simply excellent. both series one and two are a must for any British comedy collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 May 2015
By 
P.Nutt (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
fantastic British drama. Very funny and a good adaptation of the P J Woodhouse books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This will become a cult!, 10 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series will probably become a cult! I was not sure the first time around but it grows on you and now I am viewing it for the 3rd time and I love it! The four main characters and the pig are excellent and the setting is beautiful. Wish they would make at least one more series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE Blandings the series - Ignore the Wodehouse purists, 14 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am very much a fan of all Wodehouse's tales; these novels have been loved by generations and will continue to be held dear. Any TV adaptation of his beloved sagas at Blandings Castle is undoubtedly going to be closely scrutinized, held up and compared to the scenes thousands of us have created in our own minds. It must be made clear however, one can also love and indulge in `Blandings the series', I have watched and wholeheartedly enjoyed. So, money where ones mouth ought to be, I'm pre-ordering! Thank you BBC - 'CAPITAL'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blandings - Series 1 [DVD]
Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] by Jennifer Saunders (DVD - 2013)
£9.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews