Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blandings!
I absolutely loved this BBC production of PG Wodehouse's country-house centred comic classic. Wodehouse is my favourite writer, and this series is a joy to watch. Pure escapism, very funny, with stellar acting from Timothy Spall as the dotty but kind-hearted Lord Emsworth, Mark Williams as his butler, Beach, Jack Farthing as his over-excited puppy of a son, Freddy and...
Published 5 months ago by Miss Laura Harmour

versus
19 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wretched waste of top actors and wonderful stories
Unimaginably bad.

If you haven't yet paid your money - try and find a clip on YouTube. Then if you buy it, you have no-one but yourself to blame.

I love Wodehouse, I love the Blandings Castle stories, I like every actor in the show - but only in other things. This feels like a ham fisted attempt by BBC executives to "improve" on Wodehouse, by...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. M. Poole


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blandings!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely loved this BBC production of PG Wodehouse's country-house centred comic classic. Wodehouse is my favourite writer, and this series is a joy to watch. Pure escapism, very funny, with stellar acting from Timothy Spall as the dotty but kind-hearted Lord Emsworth, Mark Williams as his butler, Beach, Jack Farthing as his over-excited puppy of a son, Freddy and Jennifer Saunders as his domineering sister, Connie, plus unforgettable guest appearances from the likes of David Walliams as Emworth's buttoned up secretary, all delivering Wodehouse's pricelessly funny lines as to the manor born. Each episode is delightful and I am thrilled a new series is on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I (mostly) like it, 4 Feb 2013
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This one was always going to polarise opinion, just as the Jeeves & Wooster series did twenty years ago. For those who love the Wodehouse books, an adaptation for the screen is always likely to come up short in some area, and this is no exception to the rule. As far as possible then, the best you can hope to do is assess on its own merits.

The positives are numerous. A fabulous cast with superb comic timing (Timothy Spall as the nominal lead is in the form of his life) delivering some of Wodehouse's finest lines, a lovely setting, a wonderful sense of innocence and escapism, and a magnificent pig.

On the other side of the balance sheet, the criticims that can be levelled at it are similar to those that were raised against the previously mentioned Jeeves adaptations: the fact that a large amount of additional slapstick / clowning that was not present in the original books has found its way onto the screen. Most of the time this is not a problem if you are willing to watch the series without comparing to the books. However, even with that in mind, it's frequently taken too far. An obvious example is Freddie's regular car-crash. This is fair enough in itself, but for some reason 'comical' sparks etc. have been added in. Likewise for his hair standing on end when an attractive girl walks by. And there are numerous other examples, some more extreme than others. Such things add nothing, are completely unnecessary, and distract from the fabulous dialogue which is the foundation of Wodehouse's comedy.

Problems aside though, I still enjoy it. Some episodes work better than others, but there are a couple of real gems here, and even in the weaker episodes, there is some excellent dialogue and performances to enjoy. If you can overlook the unnecessary slapstick, it's well worth watching. If only to see Timothy Spall deliver the immortal line

'Behold your father Frederick. A toad beneath the harrow.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blandings -series one, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series. Had to watch it again and again as so funny. Would recomend it to anyone who needs cheering up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny/silly show, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
as the heading says funny in a silly way and simply good light entertainment
recommend this show to give you a little grin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What fun, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD after seeing the 2nd series on TV. Sparkling with many very funny witticisms and hilarious characters, a very enjoyable bit of comedic escapism, suitable for all the family and yet very very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blandings series 1, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
PG Woodehouse's writings are second to none when it comes to the typical English behaviour of the period and class. Blandings is no exception and Timothy Spall et. al. carry off the parts to perfection. A series I will watch many times and never become bored. A very relaxing and enjoyable experience. Well worth the cost and look forward to more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny series, 12 May 2014
By 
Mrs. Sarah C. Marsh (Margate, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well made and extremely funny series, suitable for all ages. It made me laugh out loud and I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having missed Series 1 in its entirety, we enjoyed watching this DVD as the cast built up the characters.
Just as bonkers as series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant, wonderful writing with fantastic actors, the sense of humor is wonderful and a great way to relax.
Telling everyone to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Brilliant BLANDINGS!!!!!!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Blandings . What could ever be better than a daily dose of this brilliance ? Nothing could compare. Enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blandings - Series 1 [DVD]
Blandings - Series 1 [DVD] by Jennifer Saunders (DVD - 2013)
9.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews