Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!
As a german customer - used to get only cut-movies in germany - i'm very pleased to get this package in BluRay and totally uncut! The quality of the films is very good, one thing is not so good: sometimes there are subtitles while watching the film in german and I didn't choose subtitles, but only a few scenes.

In germany you don't get this package - its...
Published on 1 Oct 2012 by Aphorismen

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under Sie...whelmed
This appears to be the only official blu-ray release of Under Siege 1 & 2 in the UK, and the set represents a bit of a bargain (at time of writing the 5 film box set is only £13.50 on Amazon)so it is a must buy for English Seagal fans like myself.

It's a great shame then, that Warner Brothers have lavished absolute zero love onto these films and as such the...
Published 18 months ago by S. Pike


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under Sie...whelmed, 29 Mar 2013
By 
S. Pike "Monsure" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This appears to be the only official blu-ray release of Under Siege 1 & 2 in the UK, and the set represents a bit of a bargain (at time of writing the 5 film box set is only £13.50 on Amazon)so it is a must buy for English Seagal fans like myself.

It's a great shame then, that Warner Brothers have lavished absolute zero love onto these films and as such the entire set feels like little more than a cash in.

Why? ...

When I unwrapped the set I was really surprised to discover that both Under Siege 1 and 2 have only Dolby Digital sound tracks, yep no HD soundtracks to be had here for either of the two most important films in the set. Extremely disappointing. My Yamaha HD surround amp did make a nice job of these non-HD Dolby Digital sources on the 'Siege' movies, creating a nice sound field. Particularly noticeable in the first film. Gary Chang's atmospheric and percussive score filled the room, bullets whooshed and zipped by and helicopters thudded across the sound field. Thanks Yamaha, no thanks Warner, this was good but could have been so much more with the deserved attention from the studio.

The picture quality of Under Siege is patchy,some scenes looking beautiful in HD, with lovely sharpness and nice rendering of film grain. Unfortunately many scenes (particularly the darker scenes) are noisy and soft. the picture quality of Under Siege 2 is more consistent, it's acceptable, but very soft by today's standards and only a moderate upgrade from the DVD.

Probably the best looking and sounding film in the set is Nico/Above The Law. The picture quality is consistent, with the old 80's film grain really nicely rendered. That twangy guitar soundtrack has also never sounded better than on the Dolby True HD mix found here. Hard To Kill doesn't look too bad either.

Poor old Seagal, of all the 80-90's Action Greats his career has really gone down the toilet, maybe that's why the Studio can't really be bothered with his back catalogue. However, for less than 15 quid this set still represents good value for fans of the big man's glory days, just don't expect to be blown away. Now, get ma pies out the oven!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As a german customer - used to get only cut-movies in germany - i'm very pleased to get this package in BluRay and totally uncut! The quality of the films is very good, one thing is not so good: sometimes there are subtitles while watching the film in german and I didn't choose subtitles, but only a few scenes.

In germany you don't get this package - its censored...

The price inkl. postage is 22,- , so the price is also fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Languages/Subtitles Details, 22 Oct 2012
By 
J. LI (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Classic Seagal movies on 5 Discs that comes in 2 standard Blu-Ray cases.

Under Siege
Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, French, Italian
Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish

Under Siege 2
Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, Italian
Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish

Hard to Kill
Languages: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, Latin Spanish
Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Latin Spanish, Norwegian, Swedish

Nico Above the Law
Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Castilian Spanish, Latin Spanish
Subtitles: English, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Latin Spanish

Executive Decision
Languages: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Latin Spanish
Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French Latin Spanish, Norwegian, Swedish

All details were taken directly from the back of the boxset itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seagal Boxset, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Overall this is a great box set for the price however my only judgement has to be selection of films, either someone at Warner Brothers just pulled 5 films out of a hat that Seagal has been involved in or they in fact do not watch there own films. Executive Decision is Clearly a Kurt Russell Movie with a minor amount of Seagal of maybe 10 minutes and not a staring role which i am baffled by the choice, you could have picked Exit wounds, Glimmer Man or fire Down Below to name just a few that you own the rights to and are actually staring Seagal maybe. You should re name this to the Steven Seagal box set with a bonus Kurt Russell Movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Bargain, remember it is bluray disc, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Five movies in one package, average 3 pound sterling per movie. Region Free which is friendly for all users. Improvment over picture quality of DVD. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray][Region Free], 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
well worth the money probably his best movies as he went downhill after these there is a few more i like but will have to pick those up seperately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Seagal action..., 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
an absolutely fantastic boxset, all in hi def quality, i have all these individually either region a or region b but this is a awesome boxset... good to see hard to kill region b.. even if only in a boxset...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars naughty, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
warner have been naughty again, by not re submitting these films to the BBFC for blu ray , all films in this set are uncut (executive is the blu ray version has been alterd for god issuies , rest of the films are uncut , not like the dvd versions that are still cut...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SEAGAL At Its Best (minus off Mark For Death), 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A near complete collection box set of Steven Seagal early movies with acceptable sound and picture quality. Strictly for fan or someone wanted to revisit the 90's action scenes !!! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing conversion, 12 Feb 2013
By 
BR (Dehra Dun, India) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I seriously feel there should be some minimum standard of up-gradation for any film before it is allowed to be sold as Blu ray. What companies are doing to jump on to the Blu ray bandwagon, is to simple use old source material, copy it on Blu ray media and sell it, in an effort to make money - more money.

The moment this pack arrived, I immediately loaded Under Seige, since I had hoped to see a "noticeable" improvement over the DVD print that I still own and had bought many years ago, when even DVDs were in their infancy. To my utter amazement there is NO noticeable improvement. I have a Onkyo setup and a Sony 46 inch Bravia LED TV. Then I played both the Blu ray and DVD simultaneously - one in my DVD player and the other in the Blu ray player, switching back and forth from the Onkyo AV receiver/amplifier. Maybe an expert might be able to tell the difference - improvement in picture quality, but I certainly could not. This is also true for Nico, for I have its DVD as well!! I am also not sure where these Blu ray discs are manufactured, maybe even that has a role in the shabby conversion to Blu ray.

One usually purchases Blu ray discs with the hope that there will be a "noticeable" improvement in picture and sound quality. If film companies prefer not to spend money in getting movies released after having them digitally cleaned prior to selling them as Blu rays, then I feel there is no point in spending money buying them - DVDs are still cheaper!!

And, yes, Steven Seagal still continues to be my favourite actor even at his advancing age !!

As far as the packing is concerned, there is no reason to complain, although I somehow am NOT a fan of the bookcase style of packing because it is difficult to try and close the case in a hurry. To cut a long (disappointing) story short, if you have these movies on DVD, DO NOT even think of up-grading to Blu ray since there is no improvement and therefore don't waste money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free]
£9.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews