Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!
As a german customer - used to get only cut-movies in germany - i'm very pleased to get this package in BluRay and totally uncut! The quality of the films is very good, one thing is not so good: sometimes there are subtitles while watching the film in german and I didn't choose subtitles, but only a few scenes.

In germany you don't get this package - its...
Published on 1 Oct. 2012 by Aphorismen

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under Sie...whelmed
This appears to be the only official blu-ray release of Under Siege 1 & 2 in the UK, and the set represents a bit of a bargain (at time of writing the 5 film box set is only £13.50 on Amazon)so it is a must buy for English Seagal fans like myself.

It's a great shame then, that Warner Brothers have lavished absolute zero love onto these films and as such the...
Published on 29 Mar. 2013 by S. Pike


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 1 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As a german customer - used to get only cut-movies in germany - i'm very pleased to get this package in BluRay and totally uncut! The quality of the films is very good, one thing is not so good: sometimes there are subtitles while watching the film in german and I didn't choose subtitles, but only a few scenes.

In germany you don't get this package - its censored...

The price inkl. postage is 22,- , so the price is also fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Languages/Subtitles Details, 22 Oct. 2012
By 
J. LI (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Classic Seagal movies on 5 Discs that comes in 2 standard Blu-Ray cases.

Under Siege
Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, French, Italian
Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish

Under Siege 2
Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, Italian
Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish

Hard to Kill
Languages: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, Latin Spanish
Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Latin Spanish, Norwegian, Swedish

Nico Above the Law
Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Castilian Spanish, Latin Spanish
Subtitles: English, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Latin Spanish

Executive Decision
Languages: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Latin Spanish
Subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French Latin Spanish, Norwegian, Swedish

All details were taken directly from the back of the boxset itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under Sie...whelmed, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
S. Pike "Monsure" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This appears to be the only official blu-ray release of Under Siege 1 & 2 in the UK, and the set represents a bit of a bargain (at time of writing the 5 film box set is only £13.50 on Amazon)so it is a must buy for English Seagal fans like myself.

It's a great shame then, that Warner Brothers have lavished absolute zero love onto these films and as such the entire set feels like little more than a cash in.

Why? ...

When I unwrapped the set I was really surprised to discover that both Under Siege 1 and 2 have only Dolby Digital sound tracks, yep no HD soundtracks to be had here for either of the two most important films in the set. Extremely disappointing. My Yamaha HD surround amp did make a nice job of these non-HD Dolby Digital sources on the 'Siege' movies, creating a nice sound field. Particularly noticeable in the first film. Gary Chang's atmospheric and percussive score filled the room, bullets whooshed and zipped by and helicopters thudded across the sound field. Thanks Yamaha, no thanks Warner, this was good but could have been so much more with the deserved attention from the studio.

The picture quality of Under Siege is patchy,some scenes looking beautiful in HD, with lovely sharpness and nice rendering of film grain. Unfortunately many scenes (particularly the darker scenes) are noisy and soft. the picture quality of Under Siege 2 is more consistent, it's acceptable, but very soft by today's standards and only a moderate upgrade from the DVD.

Probably the best looking and sounding film in the set is Nico/Above The Law. The picture quality is consistent, with the old 80's film grain really nicely rendered. That twangy guitar soundtrack has also never sounded better than on the Dolby True HD mix found here. Hard To Kill doesn't look too bad either.

Poor old Seagal, of all the 80-90's Action Greats his career has really gone down the toilet, maybe that's why the Studio can't really be bothered with his back catalogue. However, for less than 15 quid this set still represents good value for fans of the big man's glory days, just don't expect to be blown away. Now, get ma pies out the oven!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Boxset, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A Great Release, A Great Bargain, The Very Best Of Seagal & Executive Decision.
Above The Law Benefits The Most From The Blu-Ray Treatment, With It's Fantastic HD Transfer In Both Audio & Picture, While Still Obtaining The Grainy 80's Look Which Works Excellently. The Other Four Films However Work With 1080p Transfer But In Video Only & Sadly Not Audio. Looking Past This, What We Have Is A Great Bargain & One That Shouldn't Be Past Up On. Especially As It Contains The Only Blu-Ray Release Of Hard To Kill, Which As Of Yet Has Not Been Released Separately On Blu-Ray In The UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing conversion, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
BR (Dehra Dun, India) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I seriously feel there should be some minimum standard of up-gradation for any film before it is allowed to be sold as Blu ray. What companies are doing to jump on to the Blu ray bandwagon, is to simple use old source material, copy it on Blu ray media and sell it, in an effort to make money - more money.

The moment this pack arrived, I immediately loaded Under Seige, since I had hoped to see a "noticeable" improvement over the DVD print that I still own and had bought many years ago, when even DVDs were in their infancy. To my utter amazement there is NO noticeable improvement. I have a Onkyo setup and a Sony 46 inch Bravia LED TV. Then I played both the Blu ray and DVD simultaneously - one in my DVD player and the other in the Blu ray player, switching back and forth from the Onkyo AV receiver/amplifier. Maybe an expert might be able to tell the difference - improvement in picture quality, but I certainly could not. This is also true for Nico, for I have its DVD as well!! I am also not sure where these Blu ray discs are manufactured, maybe even that has a role in the shabby conversion to Blu ray.

One usually purchases Blu ray discs with the hope that there will be a "noticeable" improvement in picture and sound quality. If film companies prefer not to spend money in getting movies released after having them digitally cleaned prior to selling them as Blu rays, then I feel there is no point in spending money buying them - DVDs are still cheaper!!

And, yes, Steven Seagal still continues to be my favourite actor even at his advancing age !!

As far as the packing is concerned, there is no reason to complain, although I somehow am NOT a fan of the bookcase style of packing because it is difficult to try and close the case in a hurry. To cut a long (disappointing) story short, if you have these movies on DVD, DO NOT even think of up-grading to Blu ray since there is no improvement and therefore don't waste money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic movies... great value, 8 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
US1&2 still are pretty decent movies... the only thing in these films that have dated is the special effect editing which now looks absurd in places... ALL the films are average at worst and good at best. The HD transfers are all good for the print age and only dark scenes in US1 are overwhelmed by digital artefacting and blocking at times. These films could have been soooooo much better but they do have that Seagal-esque twist that allows them to not be as ridiculous as they should be .... FANTASTIC value and great popcorn movies....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ARE YOU KIDDING?!!, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Are you kidding?!! Under Siege 1 + 2, Hard To Kill, Nico (Above The Law) and Executive Decision in one box set?!! Okay, so Executive Decision isn't really a Seagal film, but still! Great picture quality and of course correct ratios all round (which is a first for Hard To Kill). It's an all-nonsense box set without a brain cell required. Should be taken with a meal and must be taken with alcohol!!! I can't say I noticed the extras as I just watched the features almost back-to-back as soon as the wrapping was off!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just one would be better but even like this it looks better than 5x ..., 31 Mar. 2015
By 
Martin Petracek "Malpaso" (Prague, CZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Two amarays packed in one paper cover. Just one would be better but even like this it looks better than 5x thick case wrapped in paper :). So... OK. Not superb but OK. The same it is with discs inside. They are not designed as collection. "Above the law" has significantly different design and it looks simply disturbing. Else is fine. All discs with English subtitles (what I like) so not regretting at all :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Bargain, remember it is bluray disc, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Five movies in one package, average 3 pound sterling per movie. Region Free which is friendly for all users. Improvment over picture quality of DVD. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray][Region Free], 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
well worth the money probably his best movies as he went downhill after these there is a few more i like but will have to pick those up seperately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Steven Seagal Collection [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free]
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews