Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely The Tops of Musical Entertainment
I could write a whole book on these 15 musicals. I could not make a precis as excellent as the product review in shorter words. What we have here are is a concise and representative top-notch selection of musical wonderland. Listing:
1) 42nd Street (worth the price alone).
2) Meet Me In St Louis.
3) Easter Parade.
4) Annie Get Your Gun.
5) On...
Published 19 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great collection
Enjoyable collection of 15 classic musicals - great quality of production. The price is really a steal. Ideal for gift or personal enjoyment.
Published 16 months ago by Janeta Marinova


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely The Tops of Musical Entertainment, 19 Dec 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I could write a whole book on these 15 musicals. I could not make a precis as excellent as the product review in shorter words. What we have here are is a concise and representative top-notch selection of musical wonderland. Listing:
1) 42nd Street (worth the price alone).
2) Meet Me In St Louis.
3) Easter Parade.
4) Annie Get Your Gun.
5) On Moonlight Bay.
6) April In Paris.
7) Singing In the Rain.
8) Calamity Jane.
9) By The Light Of The Silvery Moon.
10)Love Me Or Leave Me.
11)The Band Wagon .
12)Star is Born.
13)Seven Brides For Seven Brothers.
14)High Society.
15)Gypsy.

The stars include Judy Garland, Gene Kelly, Doris Day, Howard Keel, Betty Hutton, Debbie Reynolds, Cyd Charisse, James Mason, James Cagney, Natalie Wood, Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra.

The films are all classic 5 star ratings along with the performers and production. The price is a real giveaway. I have paid as much for one of these. The sound and visuals are first class. Get in there while you can. This is a real steal for the money with hours of entertainment. A gift, maybe, but also a personal joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A handy compendium on a budget, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Musicals are not to everyone's taste. But there surely can be little point in denying that for several decades they formed a major chunk of the budget and production schedules for many of the big Hollywood studios. And therein lies the problem for the uninitiated: there were so many of them filmed and inevitably standards varied massively. Where to begin if you just want to dip a toe in the water and take a casual interest? Well, this box-set certainly helps to some extent.

What do you get for your money? Fifteen musicals packaged in eight standard sized two-disk DVD cases, all housed in a big stiff box. No booklets, no liner notes, no explanations of why these fifteen musicals and what they have that makes them somehow 'special'. One of the musicals here - A Star is Born - is accompanied by a second disc of featurettes and trailers, but there's nothing in the packaging to indicate anything special for the others. But it is an official Warner Bros release and some of the musicals benefit from 5.1 audio, so maybe they've all been cleaned up and revamped digitally - the failure to tell us makes me think probably not! All that said, very many people don't want anything more than being able to sit back and watch the main feature, which is perfectly understandable and very well catered for here.

I said it was a Warner Bros release, which it is, but there are musicals here from other studios too. Probably as a result of the involvement of Turner Entertainment, we benefit here from a decent selection featuring a good spread of the big name star performers from the golden years:

42nd Street;
Meet Me in St. Louis;
Easter Parade;
Annie Get Your Gun;
On Moonlight Bay;
April in Paris;
Singin' in the Rain;
Calamity Jane;
By the Light of the Silvery Moon;
The Band Wagon;
A Star is Born;
Seven Brides for Seven Brothers;
Love Me or Leave Me;
High Society;
Gypsy.

Clearly musical devotees will already have strong familiarity with most if not all of these titles, but for newcomers it's a helpful gathering together of some material that has largely stood the test of time well. You certainly shouldn't see it as attempting to be a 'best of' selection though, which would have to consider many titles not here (e.g. West Side Story; Wizard of Oz; Grease; Rocky Horror Picture Show; Evita; All That Jazz; The Sound of Music; Yankee Doodle Dandy; An American in Paris; to name just a few). So long as you don't crave all the extra trinkets that come with some box-sets, this is certainly worth having. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic movies for a good price, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Wonderful musicals with outstanding actors - real stars: Judy Garland, Doris Day, Jane Powell,Mary Wickes, Cyd Charisse, Grace Kelly, Fred Astaire, Howard Keel, Gene Kelly, just to name a few. Each different but so great, with subtitles and some with very interesting special features. I wish you would have more such specials like this for 2 region.
Only "Seven brides for seven brothers " cinema screen-small screen we didin't enjoyed as well as others.
But I highly recomennded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value., 8 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I have been trying to source both 'Moonlight Bay' and 'By the Light of the Silvery Moon' DVDs, which have been difficult to find and also very expensive and would have cost me well over the price I paid for this boxed set! Not only do I get the two DVDs I wanted but also got lots moe wonderful musicals too! Excellent value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just great, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
fab films to sit and watch on a sunday afternoon, all song and dance,As I didn't see them first time round abit to young!..I have really enjoyed the films I am half way through and they make a nice change from shooting and car chasing,and bad language in films,these are ones you can enjoy with anyone, it would be nice however for those of us who don't know. if they could put in description which are black and white and which are colour,though I still enjoyed them,and only a couple were black and white..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as expected., 1 Jan 2014
By 
M. Blacker ""Dinosaur"" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Even though we had a couple of these films already it was worth it to get the whole collection, quality as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rainy day collection, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I have always loved musicals and tv is so repetitive that this is great to put on when I have some free time and need cheering up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Excellent value box set - no duds, all cracking films featuring some of the most talented musical performers we will ever see, Worth the price for half the films never mind the rest. Buy it and prepare to spend some afternoons doing not very much at all. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Very happy with my purchase and the service I received. I have been looking for these old time favourites for a while and I am very pleased to have them all in one lovely box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
My husband loves the old musicals and he was thrilled with this boxed set as it contained all his favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012]
Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [2012] by Judy Garland (DVD - 2012)
29.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews