Customer Reviews


703 Reviews
5 star:
 (399)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (66)
2 star:
 (58)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies - ever
This is one of my top favourite movies. Not only the plot is incredebly clever and intriguing, the photography is also stunning and one of the few movies where special effects actually add to the story rather than distracting from it.

In a nutshell, having discovered a way to break into other people's dreams to "steal" ideas, a group of...
Published 15 months ago by D. Giusti

versus
93 of 117 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Triple Play or Triple Pay?
OK this is a fantastic film, brilliantly conceived and executed, but anyone buying the film on blu-ray is likely to have seen it before and know what they are getting. This review is more concerned with the triple play format itself.

So, you get a nice blu-ray with all the normal bells and whistles that this brings and also a DVD copy if like most people, you...
Published on 28 Feb 2011 by mcpx


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies - ever, 26 April 2013
By 
D. Giusti "Dierregi" (Genova, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my top favourite movies. Not only the plot is incredebly clever and intriguing, the photography is also stunning and one of the few movies where special effects actually add to the story rather than distracting from it.

In a nutshell, having discovered a way to break into other people's dreams to "steal" ideas, a group of "criminals" is assigned a mission going in the opposite direction. They must "implant" an idea, which makes their task even more difficult. Since in dreams we live forever, the task is complicated even further by a dead woman who just does not want to stay dead.

You can watch it over and over and still find something new in every viewing. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Amazon Instant Video)
Well worth a watch, very impressed with the film from start to finish. Be prepared for you mind to spin at the start as a lot of information to take in but I think that added to the depth of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Film, 21 April 2014
By 
Tristan Moss (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inception (Amazon Instant Video)
An excellent film that you have to watch over and over to see if you understand it. I have seen it loads of times and some of it still confuses us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great attention holder, 23 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as it had Leonardo in and was such a good price. I watched it last night and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. It certainly holds your attention and is quite complex, which I love as it makes you forget everything else that is going on. There are several layers to the dreams Leonardo goes into, so you do have to pay attention to remember which layer of dream he is in, as usual his acting is superb and the rest of the cast was very good too. A very original theme which I really enjoyed. Highly recommended for a cheap, entertaining evenings viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must see!, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inception [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I cannot believe it has taken me this long to get round to watching Inception I finally succumbed to the hype and can confirm that it was 100% deserved. Inception is a cleverly crafted film that will blow you away with its star studded (and very talented) cast, stunning CGI and mind boggling plot.

A whole host of famous actors star in Inception from Leonardo do Caprio to Tom Hardy to Joseph Gordon-Levitt to Ellen Page. I don't think I can fault a single move or sound that came from these actors who all gave flawless performances. I cannot pinpoint which character or actor stood out the most to me because they were all equally brilliant. Leonardo di Caprio is probably the actor who got to show the greatest spread of emotion and showcase different sides to his acting as his character is involved in a love story. This story permeates throughout the entire film, though rather strangely, few other characters are involved in it at all. This addition to the story just gave the film a little extra something and added an emotional level to this cool-as-a-cucumber film.

I do not think I have ever seen a film with such stunning CGI effects. Hats off to whoever was in control of the effects because they were truly brilliant and breathtaking at times. Inception deals with dreams within dreams (sometimes dreams within dreams within dreams!), in which the subconscious is allowed to create whatever world it desires and the cities created in this film were simply amazing whether it be a modern Western city, a Japanese city or even a ski slope. If only it were possible to fold a city in half with roads replacing the sky. It was not only the CGI used to create the scenery that was impressive, but also the effects used during the action sequences. There were plenty of fights during this movie, most, but not all, involving gunfire and the fluidity of the on screen action was astounding. This is not ordinary action though, in one case there was even a fight when the gravity had been switched off and ceiling became floor and vice versa multiple times. It was just so ... cool! James Bond has nothing on these guys.

Alongside the brilliant CGI effects there was really great cinematography. Now I don't really know anything about filming or the technical side of film-making but it's impossible not to notice the fluidity between shots and the capturing of perfect angles. There's also a really great soundtrack which just gives this film that extra umpf and makes everything more dramatic and tense. This film will not only play with your mind, but also your senses as you're assaulting by an array of brilliant sights and sounds.

All in all, Inception is undoubtedly one of the best films of the decade and I don't think I can fault it in anyway. I rarely give 5 star ratings, but Inception truly deserves it. This is a must see film for everyone that will keep you entertained for every second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My dream movie - literally, 1 Jun 2014
This review is from: Inception [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Now I'll confess, I love Leonardos of all the shades, be they paintists, mutated turtles, or The Noblest Actor of Generations. Like most, I have had them fingers crossed for a sequel to everyone's favourite aquatic romp 'Titanic'. Alas oh how we's continue to wait! Regardless, my dog Benji and I decided to give this epic dream saga a shot - normally Benji prefers romcoms, while I'm more of a sci-fi'ist, but we're an open-minded duo. Knowing full well that this was the very director who had invented Manbat, I had high expectations for his latest wares. Well I can tell you somebody's tail was wagging (it was Benji) within minutes of the movie opening!

Admittedly, for me the film was a little hard to follow. Having missed some sequences while visiting the toilet, I tried falling asleep to generate some dreams that could plug the gaps. In my version of the movie Benji and I found ourselves in a samurai showdown with Ken Watanabe - we lost, which was Benji's fault (bad dog). Obviously this is a slight plot digression to that which other viewers will encounter. Overall, I found my version of the movie stimulatory, bangtastic and thrillsome at all the right points. Benji and I say two paws up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So clever it's head fell off, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. Turner (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this film. Leonardo is completely convincing and it is a thrill a minute all the way through. But ultimately the whole concept is total rubbish! If you are looking for a deeper meaning then perhaps the original Matrix will be better but for everyone else this film is great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARE YOU PREPARED FOR THIS?, 17 Feb 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A movie built like a labyrinth, complete with a menacing minotauric presence and a guiding Ariadne; worlds within worlds and dreams reflected onto dreams like an infinity mirror effect.

Nolan takes the viewer deep, deeper than any other filmmaker in memory, and without holding your hand all the way he never lets you get lost. His vision has years compressed into hours, Paris folding onto itself, militarized minds and entire worlds built out of a single person's imagination. Yet in the end, his logic is solid and his story scintillatingly brilliant.

This is bioSciFi, cyberpunk and action movie all rolled into a complex story in the near future, where not even our dreams will be safe and sharing our subconscious fears and fixations will only be an induced REM cycle away.

Have you tried your Totem yet?
Then how can you be sure?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inception for Movies, 6 Dec 2010
Whoever is reading this knows what Inception is and is probably wanting to buy the film, if they want to read a review then best go to Rotten Tomatoes or IMDB, but I'm here to tell you about "Inception: Limited Edition - Triple Play (Blu-ray & DVD & Digital Copy)".

It comes in a plastic case covering the metal briefcase that is bigger than the briefcase it's self obviously. The briefcase however is lighter than one would expect. Carved into the front is the title of the film and then under that is the clip which you undo to open the briefcase. In front of you after opening it is the Blu-ray box with a holographic slipcase. On the other side is the "Portable Automated Somnacin IntraVenous (PASIV) Device Instruction Manual MV-235A" which tells you how the fictional PASIV Device used in the film works, it's a nice tie-in book. If you take that out then under the book are five art cards that are about the size of a postcard. Two are posters from the film and the other three are stills from the film. Above that is a replica of Cobb's Totem as seen in the film. Underneath it says "INCEPTION" carved into the Totem. Next to the space where the Totem rests in the box are the numbers "528 491", a reference to the film of course. All of the contents are in a hard foam.

If you open up the Blu-Ray box you will see three discs. Two Blu-Rays and one DVD. There is a leaflet inside instructing how to get your version of the Inception Digital Copy. As with most Digital Copies they have an expiry date (05/12/2011, in a years time yesterday). The first disc (Blu-Ray) is disc 1 of 2. It is in black and white and has a birds eye view of a city but with "Inception" written in as if a building itself. The second disc is in colour and shows the Totem spinning on it's side. The third disc (DVD) is black and white too with nice relevent patterns on it.

---

Special Features (as copied from the back of the box):

Extraction Mode - Infiltrate the Movie's Imaginative Landscape to Learn How Christopher Nolan, Leonardo DeCaprio and the Cast and Crew Designed and Achieved the Film's Signature Moments

Dreams: Cinema of the Subconscious -Can the Dream World Be a Fully Functional Parallel Reality? Joeseph Gordon-Levitt and the Leading Scientists Take You to the Cutting Edge of Dream Research

Inception: The Cobol Job - Comic Prologue in Full Animation and Motion: See the Events That Led to the Beginning of the Movie.

5.1 Soundtrack Selections From Hans Zimmer's Versatile Score.

---

Main Feature
1080p High Definition (DVD standard definition for the third disc) 16x9 2.4:1 DTS-HD Master Audio: English 5.1 Dolby Digital: Castilian Spanish 5.1, English 5.1 Audio Descriptive Service.

Subtitles
English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish

Special Features
May not be in High Definition. Audio & subtitles may vary.

---

Final note for people who don't own Blu-Ray players but are buying this boxset for the collector's items: the special features are on the second Blu-ray disc. The DVD disc contains just the film, no special features. So if you are a collector who wants the items as well as special features then I recommend buying this and the 2-Disc DVD edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Allan Wilson "ALIBABA" (BIRKENHEAD WIRRAL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am 81 yrs old and this dvd held me enthralled especially the weightlessness fighting. Certainly one of the best movies 2010.
It is also one of those movies you have to watch several times to catch up on what you missed first time around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inception - Premium Collection Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free]
11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews