Customer Reviews


537 Reviews
5 star:
 (276)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (71)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise!
I've only watched this once, and maybe I'll like it less on subsequent viewings... But for now I can't praise it enough!
This is the Superman film I'd been waiting and hoping for, a total contrast to the terrible film that came out a few years back.
Russel Crowe is great, as per normal, and the guy who plays Superman is perfect. At certain moments he could be...
Published 2 months ago by Mike

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars worst film ever
i had to actually turn this off! as soon as superman watched his father die in a tornado i had to stop the film however i was already swaying to quit before that farce happened, superman does not let people die without trying to save them let alone watch his father get engulfed in a twister! truly rubbish from the start to the point i managed to get to and if you can bare...
Published 1 day ago by magnet


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise!, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
I've only watched this once, and maybe I'll like it less on subsequent viewings... But for now I can't praise it enough!
This is the Superman film I'd been waiting and hoping for, a total contrast to the terrible film that came out a few years back.
Russel Crowe is great, as per normal, and the guy who plays Superman is perfect. At certain moments he could be mistaken for Christopher Reeve which is no bad thing for those of us who grew up watching the original films. For the rest of the film he embodies the Man of Steel like no one else ever has.
This has a few similarities to Thor but for me is by far the better of the two films, its not that Thor was bad, just that this is great.
I hope they make another... Soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Superman To Date, 18 April 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
After the let down of superman returns i wasnt sure i was gonna like this, but how wrong was i ... the plot was great the action/fight scenes were spot on loved the cast i think henry cavill played a good superman and the soundtrack is possibly the best superman soundtrack going. cant wait for superman vs batman to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable remake of Superman I and II, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I watched Man of Steel for the first time last night knowing only that it was another Superman movie. So I was surprised when the film began back at the start again with the destruction of Krypton. I quickly realised this is infact a remake of the original Superman film and actually Superman II as well as he has to deal with the bad guys and girl again. So how do they compare? Well, the original films were, and still are, very much loved but after you've seen Man of Steel, you realise the original films are very dated now with what would now be regarded as low budget special effects and quaint behaviour. In contrast, the special effects on this new film are fantastic and the last 30 mins are constant, high impact action. It's much more than a popcorn movie and I enjoyed it from start to finish. My friend and I always rate every film we watch. He gave it 7.5 and I gave it 8 out of 10. So definitely worth adding to your Blu-ray collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do people really bash this film?, 20 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Man of Steel is miles ahead of any Superman we have seen. No dis-respect to Christopher Reeve's Superman but some of the films (looking at you 3 and Quest for Peace) were too goofy. We'll not even mention poor Brandon. Yes this new look Superman is dark, moody and more realistic (well as realistic as an alien crash landing on Earth can be) but when you think about Kal-El's story, its not exactly a fun filled one. Hes an outcast, imagine being the only person of your kind in the world. Its going to be depressing for him and he may struggle to fit in and settle. This film captures all of these things. Despite what people say this film does to Supes, he is still that symbol of hope, just not quite yet. The whole point of this film was to bring Superman into the real world, I'm sure he'll have to answer for all the destruction in the next film. Man of Steel is the first brick in the wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a perfect balance of action & drama, 19 April 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Man Of Steel reboot's DC Comics Superman with a very rewarding update, albeit not without issues. It encompasses the story lines of the 1978 & 1980 Superman movies that starred Christopher Reeve as the hero. A baby, Kal-El , is sent to the uncertain safety of Earth as his home planet of Krypton is destroyed, taking with him the codex of they're race. Found & brought up on Earth as Clark Kent by husband & wife farmers, they bring up the boy as they're own, keeping his secret. That is until one day when Krypton fugitives find Kal & issue an ultimatum to Earth for him to come forward or be destroyed themselves. It is time to for Kal to step out, and decide to either sacrifice Earth to rebuild Krypton, or fight alongside his new human friends.

Overall Man Of Steel is an interesting reworking of the original films, as this is what i'm basing my review on, not having read the comics. Deciding to combine the content of the first two films worked surprisingly well. An exciting origin story opening culminating with Kal sent in a pod to Earth as a baby, then picking up some time later following a confused adult Kal or rather Clark trying to find his way in the World. As flashbacks in places allowed the movie to flow well & show us the struggle he has had to endure growing up, to cope with & keep his secret hidden. Which builds up nicely for the ultimate showdown, which was like a combination of Independence Day & Mass Effect. Visually the film is astounding with CGI special effects & costumes etc.. containing some good subtle exciting set pieces & some very OTT ones. They're isn't much humor in the film, but it does have some subtle moments to enjoy. Some implausibilities were present, like Lois climbing into a cave on a precarious cliff edge without equipment, or her finding Kal in Union station after an epic battle raging all over the City, like, how did she know where he was! anyway, we overlooked them for entertainment sake.

The acting was good on the whole with a host of well known faces. But it's the relatively unknown British actor Henry Cavill (The Tudors) that takes the lead role as Clark Kent. He is believable as the grown up Kal, and his younger self equally well played by a young lookalike cast. Cavill sports arms the size of a mans leg & a chest that would be the envy of Arnie & Sly, going for a hunky, Hulk style actor, but to be fair in some shots he does give more than a passing resemblance of the late Christopher Reeve. Michael Shannon (The Iceman) is very intimidating in another impressive baddie role as General Zod. While Amy Adams (Enchanted) as the nosy reporter is good, but they needed to keep her feisty throughout, as she disappointingly doesn't take much buttering up to convince her to keep his secret, secret. She has a good rapport with Cavill, but their relationship does take a back seat here. Focusing more on their relationship for the sake of some lengthy action scenes with oil tank No.4 exploding, would had been most welcome. perhaps they are saving the relationship for a future sequel (?). Also co-stars a brilliant support cast that hammers home the dramatic side of the film, of note, Russell Crowe (Gladiator), Kevin Costner (Waterworld ), Diane Lane (The Perfect Storm) & Laurence Fishburne (The Matrix).

In conclusion, issues aside we enjoyed the combination of varied action & serious/lump in throat drama, but perhaps it could have explored Lois & Clark's relationship a bit more & sacrifice a little of the action. Contains mild language, violence & flashing images. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good Film, 16 April 2014
By 
wicket2005 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was not expecting great things from this film but was pleasantly surprised when we watched it. We very much enjoyed it and reproduction on blu ray was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
This film was really enjoyable- watched it once already. Very action packed. Fast delivery too and packaged well. I am looking forward to watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Super' man, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
After seeing this on the big screen last year I had to own the DVD. This is not an attempted revival of the Christopher Reeve films like 'Returns' and although unfamiliar to non readers this is a close to an accurate big screen adaptation of the source material than any fanboy could have hoped for.

Surprisingly good performance by Russell Crowe also, the cast is brilliant and Henry Cavill plays this version of Superman wonderfully, the scale of the scenes, the special effects and the uplifting, dramatic and sometimes emotional score by Hans Zimmer make this a fantastic film. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superman Superb!, 17 Jun 2013
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Positive.
1)Actor Henry Cavill delivers a superb triumphant performance as Superman/Clark Kent that makes him the standout star of this movie.
2)Outstanding Action scenes that truly deliver eye popping epic entertainment.
3)Russell Crowe is perfect casting as Jor-el & the opening 20 minutes which he is mainly featured are truly magnificent.
4)Michael Shannon delivers a great performance as General Zod dictator & warlord is a great advisory for Superman.
5)Superb retelling of the Superman Mythology by writer's Christopher Nolan & David Goyer.

Negative.
Amy Adam's sees totally miscast as Lois Lane bringing no spark to the role.

Blu ray Info.
Running time 142 minutes,Documentaries about the making of Man of Steel.

Trivia.
1)Henry Cavill was nearly Superman in 2006's Superman Returns until director Bryan Singer prefered Brandon Routh & cast him instead of Cavill, Seven year's later Bryan Singers loss was Zack Snyders gain as Man of Steel is a far superior Superman movie than Superman Returns & Cavill a far better actor & Superman than Brandon Routh was.
2)David Goyer wrote the 3 Blade movie's & co-wrote the Dark Knight trilogy.
3)Dennis Quaid & Kurt Russell were in the running to play Jonathan Kent.
4)Keep a eye out for the Luthorcorp & Wayne enterprises logos on a truck & satellite in the final fight between Superman & General Zod.
5)Many of the flight sequences later added a CGI cape.
6)Henry Cavill got down to the final two in the casting of James Bond in 2006 but lost out to actor Daniel Craig.

Review.
In my opinion the best Superman movie ever.

This film delivers on a emotional level as well as some truly outstanding action sequences that are on a spectacular scale of which i haven't seen in a Superman movie before.

Jor-El & Zara choose to have a natural birth a have a baby boy they name Kal-El who's parents believe this has given freedom & choice to there son as under General Zods rule natural births are no longer allowed to take place on the planet Krypton.

Future Kryptonians will not be able to have choice as they have been genetically altered to perform a pacific task under the rule of General Zod who trys to overthrow the Krypton council but after a confrontation with Jor-El who sends his son in an spacecraft destination earth to avoid Zod & his armies is killed at the hands of Zod who then is captured, Arrested & condemned to eternity inside the phantom zone with his army of mercenaries by the Krypton council as his final words to Jor-Els wife Zara he will find there son Kal-El & destroy him.

Kryptons undoing is a result of using up all its natural power sources leading to the planet's imminent destruction.

As Kal-El arrives on Earth he is found & raised by Jonathan & Martha Kent who adopt Clark as there own son but soon discover there adopted son has special gifts.

Jonathan Kent trys to protect his adopted son who they name Clark from exposing his powers explaining to his son he's from the star's & came to earth in a spacecraft & is here for a reason.

Jonathan Kent eventually sacrifices his own life in the process of a tragic tornado storm to protect his son's secrets.

Clark now 30 set's off to find who he is & were he came from going from one town to another on a journey of discovery until he hears of a ancient spacecraft found in the snow & ice in Antarctica which has been in the ice for century's as Kryptonians in the past travelled to other worlds to explore the universe & it's here Clark sets about his investigation coming full circle to finding his Kryptonian heritage.

Will Clark find the answers to his questions of were he came from & will he embrace his destiny & become the hero within himself as he meets a projection of his kryptonian father inside the recovered Kryptonian spacecraft Jor-El explains his Kryptonian heritage to his son & that he has a choice to become a beacon of hope for the people on earth to inspire them to do good.

With Earth becoming invaded by General Zod & his minions whom having escaped the phantom zone & upon searching for Kal-El finds his location on planet earth after he activated the Kryptonian spaceship, Zod then demands earth to give Kal-El to him or face annihilation.

Will the hero within Clark emerge & attempt so save mankind againt General Zod who want to change earths atmosphere to that of Kryptons & in doing so will destory all life on earth leaving Zod to rule a new Kyrptonian race on a new alternative Krypton.

This retelling of the Superman Mythos delivers a strong story, Great acting from the cast & epic action sequences that deliver spectacle on a grand scale.

Henry Cavill is superb as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El as a man seeking out his destiny & allow himself become the hero that earth needs him to be, Cavill gives Clark character emotion & yet as Superman delivers in the action scenes & delivers the hero the film needs playing the part with conviction, Cavill is truly the right actor for a Superman movie for the 21st Century.

Russell Crowe is exellent as Jor-El who attempts to stop General Zods genetic experiments & by having a son of natural birth allowing the first Kryptonian child the freedom of choice, Crowes scenes on Krypton as Jor-El are some of the best work the actor has done in year's.

Michael Shannon gives a chilling as General Zod allowing nobody to stand in his way of ruling a new Krypton to destroy all mankind on earth, Change it's atmosphere & to then rule the alternative planet Krypton.

Director Zack Snyder delivers some epic scale action set pieces that are on a grand scale, The fights between Superman & Zods minions in Smallville truly deliver in the spectacle department but Snyder also allows the film time to breathe with some great emotional scenes partly referencing Clarks earlier year's & the discussions he has with his earth father Jonathan Kent in scenes well acted by Kevin Costner.

The final confrontation between Superman & General Zod is reminiscent of Superman II but here the action here is on a much grander scale as the two Kryptonians battle one another in a breathtaking climax were the ultimate sacrifice must be made.

Diane Lane is the heart & soul of this film as Martha Kent she gives the movie it's soul as her scenes with Clark are at the heart of the movie,It's that mother's love & instinct that helps Clark become the man she always knew he would become one day.

The only weak link is Amy Adam's who seems miscast as Lois Lane whom delivers non of Lois's feistyness or charismatics, Adam's comes over as a pale imitation of previous actresses who have played the part.

This film was my favourite movie of 2013 & also my cousins Man of Steel85 who also reviewed this movie on Amazon as this film is up there with The Dark Knight Trilogy in ground-breaking movie making & having a script with heart & great performances by the cast especially Henry Cavill who is perfect casting as Superman/Clark Kent playing the part to perfection.

This Superman movie doesn't just fly it soars into the stratosphere as this is a truly breathtaking movie that comes highly recommended by this reviewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good actually, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel (DVD)
After reading quite mixed reviews I was a bit reluctant to rent this, but I am glad I took the risk. This is a prtetty decent film in my opinion, plenty of action, great effects, decent acting. The old superman films look really dated these days and this is a good stab at rebooting. You could watch a lot worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb335e168)

This product

Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free]
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews