Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST SUPERMAN EVER
Before I start my review I would just like say this steelbook looks brilliant, and for a steelbook collector this looks great in your collection. Now for the film, this film is just awesome, I can not believe how good this film was, I have seen many films in my life including all the other superman films, but this film just blew me away, i just thought it was just...
Published 1 month ago by THE CASTLE

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great special effects but poor 3D.
A decent film with plenty of action and some superb special effects but the 3D is very disappointing .
Published 10 months ago by David Clixby


‹ Previous | 1 2109 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST SUPERMAN EVER, 25 May 2015
By 
SCULLY (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I start my review I would just like say this steelbook looks brilliant, and for a steelbook collector this looks great in your collection. Now for the film, this film is just awesome, I can not believe how good this film was, I have seen many films in my life including all the other superman films, but this film just blew me away, i just thought it was just wonderful and so gripping up to a point I think this is the best superman film ever made, don't get me wrong I love all the superman films but this just edges it for me.

Oh the 3D is ok, and the 3D depth looks quality but as per normal there is nothing popping of of your screen, but then again the picture quality and sound is truly amazing, and the 5.1 surround sound is up there with Saving Private Ryan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loise Lane the Flash in disguise., 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
DC is fighting back!
Fantastic movie form start to almost end!
what i mean by almost end! is the fact that Lois Lane shows up! when she was miles away watching Supes and Zod slug it out and both fell to earth like a meteor and the fight ended very quickly! and somehow??? LOIS LANE !!!! Shows up!!!
she must be the Flash in disguise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great special effects but poor 3D., 16 Aug. 2014
By 
David Clixby (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A decent film with plenty of action and some superb special effects but the 3D is very disappointing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US import, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This version contains 2 blu ray discs and a dvd. The first blu ray and the dvd contain the movie and extras the second blu ray contains the film in maximum movie mode!! This basically means the film plays in the background while actors,crew or the director pop up during the film and talk about certain aspects of the movie that relate to that scene!!! It is full of really fascinating triva and behind the scenes info it also shows behind the scenes footage and a chat with Hans Zimmer...

I actually recommend the US version over the UK as you get this rather fantastic extra and it's on its own disc!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bound to be a hit for those who like a lot of explosions, but don't expect anything more than a generic superhero film., 25 Jun. 2015
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
So Superman is back, and smashing its way through the box office. With the hype surrounding the film, Man of Steel had a lot to live up too. It was good, but it stopped short of the height it was meant to fly too.

Superman lore is not a new concept of me, and as a fan I was incredibly excited for the film. Disappointingly, for a film so long, the plot was incredibly simple, especially when parts of it are integrated into popular culture knowledge. Superman leaves Krypton, arrives on Earth, grows up on Earth, the bad guy comes, and Superman saves the day… In a movie where everyone knows the general storyline, you expect a few more plot twists. Major parts of the film were given to intense, long action sequences that eventually became tedious, and felt like a rip-off of certain movies (*cough* The Avengers). In all the time they wasted on that, they could have created a complex plot, especially considering Nolan’s involvement and his clever Dark Knight trilogy. The saving grace of the storyline was the intertwining flashbacks to Clark’s childhood and his early days before the cape, with the struggle he had with family, choice, and destiny.

Henry Cavill was a good Clark Kent/ Superman, and certainly looks the part, but if he had been given a better script, he could have been a great one. But thinking back on the film, he was barely in it. Half of the film was dedicated to Krypton, Zod, or flashbacks. It seems all he was there was to throw punches around, meaning the character had barely any connection to the audience. But when he did get a chance to make a connection, boy, did he do it well. The fragility within the character was really shown when Clark was restraining himself in his early days or in the moments with Lois. I particularly liked Adams and Cavill’s chemistry, and Adams was a good Lois Lane, feisty and headstrong, if underdeveloped. In fact, all the acting was really good; it was the meagre script which let everyone down.

Gaping plot issues aside, Man of Steel wasn’t a bad film for numerous reasons. It played to the classic, feel-good blockbuster routine: attractive hero, lots of action, and the occasional injection of emotion to lift it up. A quirky feature I did like was that it was more light-hearted than The Dark Knight with the occasional quip here and there. And don’t get me wrong, the action sequences were exhilarating for the first 10 minutes worth. Most importantly, there were rare occasions where script, cinematography, and acting came together to produce something out of this world, which made the dire bits worthwhile.

I would say Man of Steel is worth a watch if you don’t expect too much of it; if you do, you will surely be disappointed. It lacked the fun and wit of Marvel, and the exciting plot of The Dark Knight, but made up in visuals, style, and the occasional glimpse into something great. I wonder if all the fun went with the red pants of Superman’s costume…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 11 May 2015
By 
SuziB - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
As a small child I was told that I (along with my little brother) was going to go to the cinema to see "Superman"! I waited a whole week with excitable anticipation typical of any 7 year old & was truly fit to burst by the time Saturday came. I cannot even begin to describe the disappointment with which I left the cinema a few short hours later. Having never before encountered the concept of "Superman" my 7 year old brain in that week long wait had conjured up a man, that quite frankly, was indeed SUPER!!! Handsome, POWERFUL, awesome, worthy of the name "Super-man"! What my innocent 7 year old eyes saw however was a slightly slimy looking, middle aged, ugly man who, albeit endowed with muscle, didn't seem particularly strong or POWERFUL, more a funny shape, in his Mums leotard & tights! The story wasn't much better & whilst my brother was happy to sit through the seemingly never ending sequels that followed, I considered it a strange & unusual punishment & ended up just hating Superman! In my mind, for the next 37 years Superman was quite literally rubbish! My son convinced me to buy this & it was with almost total regret that I pushed the little button that says "play". Why oh why oh why wasn't this the film I was taken to see when I was 7?? This IS what Superman should have always been! Hansome, likeable, strong, sexy & oh most definitely POWERFUL! When this Superman picks up a car you believe it. This Superman could probably play basketball with the planet Earth & still save 50 orphans before breakfast! This Superman I BELIEVE! The story was awesome & Henry Cavill is utterly brilliant as the likeable Clark & loveable Superman. With an outfit that does indeed look worthy of any hero (& not a bit like he's been in his Mums knicker drawer!) CGI has done what the blue screen never could & created a Super Hero that performs feats wholly deserving of the name & finally, in absolute truth, I cannot wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sound and solid, like the Man himself, 7 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Well, to be the best Superman movie yet is not necessarily such an achievement, but for sure this gets that distinction in spades. In a way, that’s a tad unfair on “Superman” which WAS great in 1978, but despite Christopher Reeve, looks pretty ropey now. Liked it then, though. Then however, it was pretty original to do all this stuff in a live action movie, so despite clearly visible wires preventing one being able to really “believe a man can fly”, it was good fun.

Visually, this is stunning. Very Zack Snyder. Story-wise, it’s also rather Zack Snyder. He’s trying to cram so much in; he needed a three or four hour movie, not just over two. Director’s cut anyone?

Performances and characters. Well, Henry Cavill’s Clark and Superman are terrific. Who’d’ve thought that after the diabolically bad “Immortals”? Mind, that wasn’t his fault. He really looks the part, and unquestionably is a big part of the enjoyment of this movie. Amy Adams is a good Lois, but then I didn’t like Margot Kidder’s Lois at all. The rest of the cast, fine. The emotional manipulation around Kevin Costner’s character fairly typical; only Laurence Fishburne seemed uncomfortable and out of place until the later stages.

The effects are all you would expect nowadays, and while some elements look jerky, perhaps because our physics knows they can’t be real, they generally show a level of CGI that was absent in many of the truly awful sequences in “Transformers” movies, “Iron Man 3” and others. The fights in particular are excellent, and there are a few scenes very much nodding back to my all-time favourite “Watchmen”.

The story is pretty much as you’d expect, nothing too complicated. The infuriating Deus ex Machina of unlimited Kryptonite variations popping up to start story threads or break lazily out of dead ends is thankfully absent. There are a few good quips nodding to the movie’s 1978 predecessor, and overall, it’s a fun couple of hours, even if it’s more than a tad unashamedly Oklahoma “The corn is as high as an elephant’s eye….”. Occasional flashes of humour, particularly near the end. VERY smart last two lines. And Lois, before it goes too far, please read Larry Niven’s “Man of Steel, Woman of Kleenex”.

Four stars’ worth of fun. I definitely like it. Not sure if I love it. Five stars if it had been long enough for some parts not to feel so rushed (seems to be a common problem these days, to me at least). May up this when re-watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh boy..., 3 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Man of Steel is the sort of film you can enjoy upon first viewing but you can pretty much unravel the whole film on the way home. My main problem with MoS is that it felt like Warner Bros looked at the Dark Knight trilogy then looked at Zach Snyder and said "Do that to Superman or whatever" and just threw some money at him.
This film tries so hard to be gritty and grey and bland and it manages to have even less of a sense of humour than an actual Nolan film. Just because Snyder did a decent job with 300 and Watchmen doesn't mean he knows how to make a Superman film, maybe let him direct a Noire/thriller film.
The film also starts hopping around Superman's timeline as if Snyder got bored with what was going on in the present day and wanted to cram in even more unnecessary padding.

So onto the positives because there are some. First of all, the cast. Henry Cavill, like the rest of the cast, does the best with the materiel and even manages to sneak a smile on screen when he's discovering how to fly (Snyder must have forgotten to cut that out).
I also have to praise the visual effects team. While I was disappointed that the last twenty minutes resorted to a "Who can destroy the most buildings" contest between Zod and Supes, you have to at least give them credit for something that does look pretty good, it's just grating how long it goes on for. Much like the film which does drag on for 2 hours and 20 minutes and it feels completely unnecessary.

Overall, it's probably worth watching because it sets up the DC Cinematic Universe. I just hope all the upcoming films don't have the same gritty tone like this one. That's something Marvel got right, they know when to crack a smile and that's something Warner Bros could learn from Marvel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superman steel good for a view, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
One way this film scores heavily is that it doesn't got overly bogged down in Superman's origin while still providing interesting background and motivation for his actions. It clearly draws less upon the original fun but simplistic comics and more on later meatier graphic novels. Superman may still stand for justice but in a world recognised to be riddled with injustice. Still not the most intellectually stimulating of movies, but arguably more than mere escapist entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is ultimately the best superman movie ever and will be a great movie ..., 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
This is ultimately the best superman movie ever and will be a great movie to view in many years to come to epitomize it's classical status among such other great movies like Gladiator, Shawshank Redemption and more to name a few.

If you have not purchased this movie for your film collection, now is the time to do this.
What are you waiting for?
Buy it before the Superman V Batman hits out screens in the Dawn of Justice movie due for release in 2016.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2109 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man of Steel [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Man of Steel [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Zack Snyder (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews