Customer Reviews


529 Reviews
5 star:
 (273)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise!
I've only watched this once, and maybe I'll like it less on subsequent viewings... But for now I can't praise it enough!
This is the Superman film I'd been waiting and hoping for, a total contrast to the terrible film that came out a few years back.
Russel Crowe is great, as per normal, and the guy who plays Superman is perfect. At certain moments he could be...
Published 2 months ago by Mike

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Moronic
Oh dear - yet another example of bloated, unimaginative, cliched Hollywood junk. From the moment I saw a standard 'alien beast' bellow into the camera, I know we were in for another epic-by-numbers. I'm not sure what started the trend for brainless fantasy epics, but I think Lord of the Rings might be to blame. Unintelligent screenwriters think they have the capacity to...
Published 3 days ago by Dan B


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Moronic, 14 April 2014
Oh dear - yet another example of bloated, unimaginative, cliched Hollywood junk. From the moment I saw a standard 'alien beast' bellow into the camera, I know we were in for another epic-by-numbers. I'm not sure what started the trend for brainless fantasy epics, but I think Lord of the Rings might be to blame. Unintelligent screenwriters think they have the capacity to 'reimagine' classic fiction or comic books, and spend millions doing it, but come up with a load of shouting and explosions that make absolutely no sense, and have all the fun and humour of a Haynes manual. What a total waste of time, money, and effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise!, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
I've only watched this once, and maybe I'll like it less on subsequent viewings... But for now I can't praise it enough!
This is the Superman film I'd been waiting and hoping for, a total contrast to the terrible film that came out a few years back.
Russel Crowe is great, as per normal, and the guy who plays Superman is perfect. At certain moments he could be mistaken for Christopher Reeve which is no bad thing for those of us who grew up watching the original films. For the rest of the film he embodies the Man of Steel like no one else ever has.
This has a few similarities to Thor but for me is by far the better of the two films, its not that Thor was bad, just that this is great.
I hope they make another... Soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable remake of Superman I and II, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I watched Man of Steel for the first time last night knowing only that it was another Superman movie. So I was surprised when the film began back at the start again with the destruction of Krypton. I quickly realised this is infact a remake of the original Superman film and actually Superman II as well as he has to deal with the bad guys and girl again. So how do they compare? Well, the original films were, and still are, very much loved but after you've seen Man of Steel, you realise the original films are very dated now with what would now be regarded as low budget special effects and quaint behaviour. In contrast, the special effects on this new film are fantastic and the last 30 mins are constant, high impact action. It's much more than a popcorn movie and I enjoyed it from start to finish. My friend and I always rate every film we watch. He gave it 7.5 and I gave it 8 out of 10. So definitely worth adding to your Blu-ray collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good actually, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel (DVD)
After reading quite mixed reviews I was a bit reluctant to rent this, but I am glad I took the risk. This is a prtetty decent film in my opinion, plenty of action, great effects, decent acting. The old superman films look really dated these days and this is a good stab at rebooting. You could watch a lot worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superman Reimagined, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Henry Cavill (The Tudors) fills out the suit, and Zack Snyder (300) takes directing duties in this re-imagining of the Superman story. Eschewing the trappings of any of the previous films, this goes back to scratch, effectively a remake of Superman 1 and 2 rolled into one. It follows the demise of Krypton, Russell Crowe as Supe's dad sending him towards earth, and then wraps into that the story of General Zod (the always good value Michael Shannon), as a nemesis for our man of steel.
So what do we get - an origin story, which is quite well done, and a coming of age story for Superman as he grows up on earth. This is all told in quite condensed and non-linear format, and I for one was left wanting to see a bit more of Kevin Costner and Diane Lane as the conscience of Superman, his adoptive parents. It segues in to a final half which is a long, oh yes, really too long, series of action set pieces as Zod and Superman face off. Frankly, it has a few endings too many, Snyder belying his love of action over substance, and the action becoming more and more devoid of thrills. As a whole then, it's just impossible not to compare to the original, and it really does serve to remind you just how clever the structure of that first Superman movie was. Cavill is a wonderfully brooding and intense Superman - but where is the vulnerability of Clark Kent? There is just something missing in the beats of how Kal-El becomes Superman, the elements of him learning about what it is to be human. The sci-fi elements might surprise you, and the colours are very muted in contrast to the primary coloured days of Christopher Reeve. Hans Zimmer has delivered an effective score underlying the dark and serious tone - but as with the rest of the movie, it all lacks just a tad of humour which would have made it all easier to swallow.
Ultimately a reasonably well put together movie with genuinely decent effects is let down by its lack of the one thing that Superman was really all about - humanity. Instead of gaining an understanding of humanity by looking at it through an aliens eyes, the movie spends its time trying to understand the alien looking through humanities eyes. Still, if action, sci-fi and set-piece after set-piece are your thing, then go ahead, you'll have a blast. For the rest of us, we will mourn the passing of the Superman we once knew.
(4/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really well made, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film! Just wish for the rental price we paid we could've had it a little longer! Would like to watch again but won't be renting it from amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars high flyer, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A good remake of a classic film with up to date effects and not as cheesy as the original you almost believe he can fly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be so much more., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great first 40 minutes, badly let down by a flash bang wallop second half.
You can only watch so much of crashing through walls, buildings, glass, gets tedious.

Characters really good, casting excellent. Flying is now reaching perfection, still too much reliance on CGI.

What a shame, can't understand why the majority of this genre inevitably end up being boring and unintelligent, suppose a lack of end story does not help.

Zak Snyder tries and nearly succeeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Super' man, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
After seeing this on the big screen last year I had to own the DVD. This is not an attempted revival of the Christopher Reeve films like 'Returns' and although unfamiliar to non readers this is a close to an accurate big screen adaptation of the source material than any fanboy could have hoped for.

Surprisingly good performance by Russell Crowe also, the cast is brilliant and Henry Cavill plays this version of Superman wonderfully, the scale of the scenes, the special effects and the uplifting, dramatic and sometimes emotional score by Hans Zimmer make this a fantastic film. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superman Superb!, 17 Jun 2013
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Positive.
1)Actor Henry Cavill delivers a superb triumphant performance as Superman/Clark Kent that makes him the standout star of this movie.
2)Outstanding Action scenes that truly deliver eye popping epic entertainment.
3)Russell Crowe is perfect casting as Jor-el & the opening 20 minutes which he is mainly featured are truly magnificent.
4)Michael Shannon delivers a great performance as General Zod dictator & warlord is a great advisory for Superman.
5)Superb retelling of the Superman Mythology by writer's Christopher Nolan & David Goyer.

Negative.
Amy Adam's sees totally miscast as Lois Lane bringing no spark to the role.

Blu ray Info.
Running time 142 minutes,Documentaries about the making of Man of Steel.

Trivia.
1)Henry Cavill was nearly Superman in 2006's Superman Returns until director Bryan Singer prefered Brandon Routh & cast him instead of Cavill, Seven year's later Bryan Singers loss was Zack Snyders gain as Man of Steel is a far superior Superman movie than Superman Returns & Cavill a far better actor & Superman than Brandon Routh was.
2)David Goyer wrote the 3 Blade movie's & co-wrote the Dark Knight trilogy.
3)Dennis Quaid & Kurt Russell were in the running to play Jonathan Kent.
4)Keep a eye out for the Luthorcorp & Wayne enterprises logos on a truck & satellite in the final fight between Superman & General Zod.
5)Many of the flight sequences later added a CGI cape.
6)Henry Cavill got down to the final two in the casting of James Bond in 2006 but lost out to actor Daniel Craig.

Review.
In my opinion the best Superman movie ever.

This film delivers on a emotional level as well as some truly outstanding action sequences that are on a spectacular scale of which i haven't seen in a Superman movie before.

Jor-El & Zara choose to have a natural birth a have a baby boy they name Kal-El who's parents believe this has given freedom & choice to there son as under General Zods rule natural births are no longer allowed to take place on the planet Krypton.

Future Kryptonians will not be able to have choice as they have been genetically altered to perform a pacific task under the rule of General Zod who trys to overthrow the Krypton council but after a confrontation with Jor-El who sends his son in an spacecraft destination earth to avoid Zod & his armies is killed at the hands of Zod who then is captured, Arrested & condemned to eternity inside the phantom zone with his army of mercenaries by the Krypton council as his final words to Jor-Els wife Zara he will find there son Kal-El & destroy him.

Kryptons undoing is a result of using up all its natural power sources leading to the planet's imminent destruction.

As Kal-El arrives on Earth he is found & raised by Jonathan & Martha Kent who adopt Clark as there own son but soon discover there adopted son has special gifts.

Jonathan Kent trys to protect his adopted son who they name Clark from exposing his powers explaining to his son he's from the star's & came to earth in a spacecraft & is here for a reason.

Jonathan Kent eventually sacrifices his own life in the process of a tragic tornado storm to protect his son's secrets.

Clark now 30 set's off to find who he is & were he came from going from one town to another on a journey of discovery until he hears of a ancient spacecraft found in the snow & ice in Antarctica which has been in the ice for century's as Kryptonians in the past travelled to other worlds to explore the universe & it's here Clark sets about his investigation coming full circle to finding his Kryptonian heritage.

Will Clark find the answers to his questions of were he came from & will he embrace his destiny & become the hero within himself as he meets a projection of his kryptonian father inside the recovered Kryptonian spacecraft Jor-El explains his Kryptonian heritage to his son & that he has a choice to become a beacon of hope for the people on earth to inspire them to do good.

With Earth becoming invaded by General Zod & his minions whom having escaped the phantom zone & upon searching for Kal-El finds his location on planet earth after he activated the Kryptonian spaceship, Zod then demands earth to give Kal-El to him or face annihilation.

Will the hero within Clark emerge & attempt so save mankind againt General Zod who want to change earths atmosphere to that of Kryptons & in doing so will destory all life on earth leaving Zod to rule a new Kyrptonian race on a new alternative Krypton.

This retelling of the Superman Mythos delivers a strong story, Great acting from the cast & epic action sequences that deliver spectacle on a grand scale.

Henry Cavill is superb as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El as a man seeking out his destiny & allow himself become the hero that earth needs him to be, Cavill gives Clark character emotion & yet as Superman delivers in the action scenes & delivers the hero the film needs playing the part with conviction, Cavill is truly the right actor for a Superman movie for the 21st Century.

Russell Crowe is exellent as Jor-El who attempts to stop General Zods genetic experiments & by having a son of natural birth allowing the first Kryptonian child the freedom of choice, Crowes scenes on Krypton as Jor-El are some of the best work the actor has done in year's.

Michael Shannon gives a chilling as General Zod allowing nobody to stand in his way of ruling a new Krypton to destroy all mankind on earth, Change it's atmosphere & to then rule the alternative planet Krypton.

Director Zack Snyder delivers some epic scale action set pieces that are on a grand scale, The fights between Superman & Zods minions in Smallville truly deliver in the spectacle department but Snyder also allows the film time to breathe with some great emotional scenes partly referencing Clarks earlier year's & the discussions he has with his earth father Jonathan Kent in scenes well acted by Kevin Costner.

The final confrontation between Superman & General Zod is reminiscent of Superman II but here the action here is on a much grander scale as the two Kryptonians battle one another in a breathtaking climax were the ultimate sacrifice must be made.

Diane Lane is the heart & soul of this film as Martha Kent she gives the movie it's soul as her scenes with Clark are at the heart of the movie,It's that mother's love & instinct that helps Clark become the man she always knew he would become one day.

The only weak link is Amy Adam's who seems miscast as Lois Lane whom delivers non of Lois's feistyness or charismatics, Adam's comes over as a pale imitation of previous actresses who have played the part.

This film was my favourite movie of 2013 & also my cousins Man of Steel85 who also reviewed this movie on Amazon as this film is up there with The Dark Knight Trilogy in ground-breaking movie making & having a script with heart & great performances by the cast especially Henry Cavill who is perfect casting as Superman/Clark Kent playing the part to perfection.

This Superman movie doesn't just fly it soars into the stratosphere as this is a truly breathtaking movie that comes highly recommended by this reviewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x11330d98)

This product

Man of Steel [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free]
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews