Customer Reviews


802 Reviews
5 star:
 (446)
4 star:
 (137)
3 star:
 (94)
2 star:
 (48)
1 star:
 (77)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive! Electrifying and beautiful suit!
I can only really review what I have seen in this film. Whether other people think there are avenues that were not opened up is irrelevant I think... So ..., from what I've seen, this film deserves 5 stars because we finally see Superman express himself in an angry state, something that's never really been done properly before. Christopher Reeve, bless him, you have to...
Published 2 months ago by TOOTS

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed blu-ray quality and too much exposition. Great suit and cape!
Firstly the technical aspects of the disc: the Blu-ray video stream itself looks like it has a lot of compression on it to make it fit onto the single disc. The slower paced scenes are particularly difficult to watch where there is a lot of static/noise in the little colour variation between each frame, and become a significant distraction on a large screen TV. A very low...
Published 1 month ago by Ian J.


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive! Electrifying and beautiful suit!, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
I can only really review what I have seen in this film. Whether other people think there are avenues that were not opened up is irrelevant I think... So ..., from what I've seen, this film deserves 5 stars because we finally see Superman express himself in an angry state, something that's never really been done properly before. Christopher Reeve, bless him, you have to admire him for the gentle nature he gave his character and those films also have to be admired. It's good to see this side of Superman, whoever you are, you're bound to get angry if someone poses a threat to your mother, it was a quite a nice surprise to see that happen. The only thing that I think wasn't necessary, was the kiss between Superman and Lois. Traditionally, we get to explore Clark and the kiss comes later, so that felt a little out of place. Overall, I'd happily watch this again! The suit by the way is epic! Superman actually looks like a man, natural but different in his own way, this is evidenced by the upper chest hair you see momentarily when you get a close-up of the big guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, will you?, 16 Sep 2014
By 
C. Sutherwood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Positives:
1) This movie is the most realistic version to date. I do love the Reeves ones, but they are too comical and just not "realistic").

2) It explains pretty much everything as it goes along, so you don't have too many questions (there will always be some). But it explains things such as what's going on over on Krypton, why Superman is like he is on Earth and why they choose to send him to Earth. They also explain how he gets his costume and they actually take the time to fit it in nicely with the real "Krypton world".

3) It shows Supes struggling to be accepted into the normal world, and struggling to stay in one place because of his powers. It shows him being worried about being accepted, and it takes you through the journey (albeit through many flash backs) from him as a child, struggling in school, to becoming a hero as superman.

4) Great story. Well written dialogue, and nice CGI too. The movie is long, but for me if didn't "feel" long as I was gripped to the story.

Biggest flaws for me:
1) Lois pops up everywhere, and knows far too much (she needs her memory wiped!).
2) Too many people know about him growing up.

Now I don't see this one as a flaw, but many do: There's quite a lot of destruction in the last hour, but I think it's justified since they are "like" gods, so they would pretty much destroy anything in their path on Earth.

Also, I don't see this as a flaw either, just more of me just being picky.... Flash Backs... The first half of the movie is full of them. It's fine since they work well, but It would have worked well if they just played it all in sequence, but I guess with flash backs it allowed them to "jump around" a bit in his time line. So it's all good.

OVERALL: Buy it! Get it "used" if you want, I did, it'll be cheap. If you don't like it, sell it on, or pack it away in a dark corner of your attic. But it's worth a watch... unless you're a die hard comic fan can't look past some flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Reboot, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Man Of Steel.
Blu ray.
Region B/2.
Running time 142 minutes.
Ratio: 16.9/2.40:1.

Positive.
1)Actor Henry Cavill delivers a superb triumphant performance as Superman/Clark Kent that makes him the standout star of this movie.
2)Outstanding Action scenes that truly deliver eye popping epic entertainment.
3)Russell Crowe is perfect casting as Jor-el & the opening 20 minutes which he is mainly featured are truly magnificent.
4)Michael Shannon delivers a great performance as General Zod dictator & warlord is a great advisory for Superman.
5)Superb retelling of the Superman Mythology by writer's Christopher Nolan & David Goyer.

Negative.
Amy Adam's sees totally miscast as Lois Lane bringing no spark to the character.

Extras.
• Strong Characters
• All Out Action
• Krypton Decoded
• New Zealand: Home of Middle Earth
• Superman 75th Anniversary Animated Short

Trivia.
1)Henry Cavill was nearly Superman in 2006's Superman Returns until director Bryan Singer prefered Brandon Routh & cast him instead of Cavill, Seven year's later Bryan Singers loss was Zack Snyders gain as Man of Steel is a far superior Superman movie than Superman Returns & Cavill a far better actor & Superman than Brandon Routh was.
2)David Goyer wrote the 3 Blade movie's & co-wrote the Dark Knight trilogy.
3)Dennis Quaid & Kurt Russell were in the running to play Jonathan Kent.
4)Keep a eye out for the Luthorcorp & Wayne enterprises logos on a truck & satellite in the final fight between Superman & General Zod.
5)Many of the flight sequences later added a CGI cape.
6)Henry Cavill got down to the final two in the casting of James Bond in 2006 but lost out to actor Daniel Craig.

Review.
In my opinion the best Superman movie ever.

This film delivers on a emotional level as well as some truly outstanding action sequences that are on a spectacular scale of which i haven't seen in a Superman movie before.

Jor-El & Zara choose to have a natural birth a have a baby boy they name Kal-El who's parents believe this has given freedom & choice to there son as under General Zods rule natural births are no longer allowed to take place on the planet Krypton.

Future Kryptonians will not be able to have choice as they have been genetically altered to perform a pacific task under the rule of General Zod who trys to overthrow the Krypton council but after a confrontation with Jor-El who sends his son in an spacecraft destination earth to avoid Zod & his armies is killed at the hands of Zod who then is captured, Arrested & condemned to eternity inside the phantom zone with his army of mercenaries by the Krypton council as his final words to Jor-Els wife Zara he will find there son Kal-El & destroy him.

Kryptons undoing is a result of using up all its natural power sources leading to the planet's imminent destruction.

As Kal-El arrives on Earth he is found & raised by Jonathan & Martha Kent who adopt Clark as there own son but soon discover there adopted son has special gifts.

Jonathan Kent trys to protect his adopted son who they name Clark from exposing his powers explaining to his son he's from the star's & came to earth in a spacecraft & is here for a reason.

Jonathan Kent eventually sacrifices his own life in the process of a tragic tornado storm to protect his son's secrets.

Clark now 30 set's off to find who he is & were he came from going from one town to another on a journey of discovery until he hears of a ancient spacecraft found in the snow & ice in Antarctica which has been in the ice for century's as Kryptonians in the past travelled to other worlds to explore the universe & it's here Clark sets about his investigation coming full circle to finding his Kryptonian heritage.

Will Clark find the answers to his questions of were he came from & will he embrace his destiny & become the hero within himself as he meets a projection of his kryptonian father inside the recovered Kryptonian spacecraft Jor-El explains his Kryptonian heritage to his son & that he has a choice to become a beacon of hope for the people on earth to inspire them to do good.

With Earth becoming invaded by General Zod & his minions whom having escaped the phantom zone & upon searching for Kal-El finds his location on planet earth after he activated the Kryptonian spaceship, Zod then demands earth to give Kal-El to him or face annihilation.

Will the hero within Clark emerge & attempt so save mankind againt General Zod who want to change earths atmosphere to that of Kryptons & in doing so will destory all life on earth leaving Zod to rule a new Kyrptonian race on a new alternative Krypton.

This retelling of the Superman Mythos delivers a strong story, Great acting from the cast & epic action sequences that deliver spectacle on a grand scale.

Henry Cavill is superb as Superman/Clark Kent/Kal-El as a man seeking out his destiny & allow himself become the hero that earth needs him to be, Cavill gives Clark character emotion & yet as Superman delivers in the action scenes & delivers the hero the film needs playing the part with conviction, Cavill is truly the right actor for a Superman movie for the 21st Century.

Russell Crowe is exellent as Jor-El who attempts to stop General Zods genetic experiments & by having a son of natural birth allowing the first Kryptonian child the freedom of choice, Crowes scenes on Krypton as Jor-El are some of the best work the actor has done in year's.

Michael Shannon gives a chilling as General Zod allowing nobody to stand in his way of ruling a new Krypton to destroy all mankind on earth, Change it's atmosphere & to then rule the alternative planet Krypton.

Director Zack Snyder delivers some epic scale action set pieces that are on a grand scale, The fights between Superman & Zods minions in Smallville truly deliver in the spectacle department but Snyder also allows the film time to breathe with some great emotional scenes partly referencing Clarks earlier year's & the discussions he has with his earth father Jonathan Kent in scenes well acted by Kevin Costner.

The final confrontation between Superman & General Zod is reminiscent of Superman II but here the action here is on a much grander scale as the two Kryptonians battle one another in a breathtaking climax were the ultimate sacrifice must be made.

Diane Lane is the heart & soul of this film as Martha Kent she gives the movie it's soul as her scenes with Clark are at the heart of the movie,It's that mother's love & instinct that helps Clark become the man she always knew he would become one day.

The only weak link is Amy Adam's who seems miscast as Lois Lane whom delivers non of Lois's feistyness or charismatics, Adam's comes over as a pale imitation of previous actresses who have played the part.

This film was my favourite movie of 2013 & also my cousins Man of Steel85 who also reviewed this movie on Amazon as this film is up there with The Dark Knight Trilogy in ground-breaking movie making & having a script with heart & great performances by the cast especially Henry Cavill who is perfect casting as Superman/Clark Kent playing the part to perfection.

This Superman movie doesn't just fly it soars into the stratosphere as this is a truly breathtaking movie that comes highly recommended by this reviewer.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite of the Superman movies, 28 Jun 2014
By 
S. Figgins "Sue-pernatural" (kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this version of the Superman franchise has received a lot of flack but personally I loved this film. Great action, acting and effects. Admittedly the 3D is a bit lost here and there because of the super fast action and fast switching scenes but generally very good otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US import, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This version contains 2 blu ray discs and a dvd. The first blu ray and the dvd contain the movie and extras the second blu ray contains the film in maximum movie mode!! This basically means the film plays in the background while actors,crew or the director pop up during the film and talk about certain aspects of the movie that relate to that scene!!! It is full of really fascinating triva and behind the scenes info it also shows behind the scenes footage and a chat with Hans Zimmer...

I actually recommend the US version over the UK as you get this rather fantastic extra and it's on its own disc!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon should make it clear if you are watching or paying for a title! (my mistake, I think, but well worth it), 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I mis-read & thought is was part of the Amazon view now film titles. I am so glad I purchased. I have recently bought a large HD flat screen TV & this was my first 'modern movie'. It was amazing.
I have not read the reviews by critics, & I won't give anything away here, only - DC have hit the nail on the head with this movie. From the casting of Superman, his mother & both fathers.
Story amazing & everything that goes with a movie is amazing.
Buy this film, fill your popcorn dish, sit back & prepare to be amazed.

Thank you Amazon.

I bloody loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed blu-ray quality and too much exposition. Great suit and cape!, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly the technical aspects of the disc: the Blu-ray video stream itself looks like it has a lot of compression on it to make it fit onto the single disc. The slower paced scenes are particularly difficult to watch where there is a lot of static/noise in the little colour variation between each frame, and become a significant distraction on a large screen TV. A very low quality "print" by the usual Blu-ray standards.

The film itself is a reboot full of Hollywood "morals and moments" that don't quite hold together as a story, re-imagined though it is. The visual effects are up to the usual standard of a modern movie but still don't make the film either. There are trite explanations of things that shouldn't need exposition, and a few too many tropes for a good story. Surprising given the previous films from Christopher Nolan and the storytelling in the (first two) Batman movies. Music by Hans Zimmer (also Batman) lacks punch, imagination and presence.

While the actor Henry Cavill is a good fit for the role, the story itself doesn't give much to work with in terms of lines and scenes. Once you've fallen out of the willing suspension of disbelief needed to enjoy a movie like this there doesn't seem to be a path back in.

The new blue and red cape suit is the star of the movie, and so much better than the old blue and red lycra underwear. Sadly this one will stay on the shelf in the hope of another re-imagining...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars henry cavill (brandon from the tudors), 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Very good and entertaining ,very different from late
70s where krypton is an ice planet ,this krypton has
Been environmentally destroyed due to mining ,a hint of star wars
3(obi wan. Rides the dragon while chasing general previous) but here
Jor el rides his creature on krypton, same type of role in avatars,and
Dinotopia ,the explanation of superman 's' logo was a nice touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just super..., 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb reboot of the Superman franchise.

Providing a fresh take on the origin of the 'Man of Steel', with Henry Cavill bringing his own take on the infamous superhero, and featuring a cool handful of nods to the comic books and previous films alike. With one fantastic nod to Chris Reeve.

If you don't already own this, then what are you waiting for?? Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 27 July 2014
By 
THMS "thms101" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome. This is a quality remake, re-jig of the superman movies. Love it. Henry Cavill is an excellent choice, gritty, and '21st Century'.

I like the way they combined Christopher Reeve's two movies into one, updating and if you're quick you'll see a 'respectful' camera tilt on Henry that makes him look like Christopher Reeve.

A job well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 281 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man of Steel [DVD]
Man of Steel [DVD] by Henry Cavill (DVD - 2013)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews