Customer Reviews


1,001 Reviews
5 star:
 (592)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (106)
2 star:
 (53)
1 star:
 (82)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive! Electrifying and beautiful suit!
I can only really review what I have seen in this film. Whether other people think there are avenues that were not opened up is irrelevant I think... So ..., from what I've seen, this film deserves 5 stars because we finally see Superman express himself in an angry state, something that's never really been done properly before. Christopher Reeve, bless him, you have to...
Published 7 months ago by TOOTS

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Full of Sound and Fury
This is an unusual film: all the component parts are extremely well executed, but taken as a whole, there seems to be very little reason to have bothered making it at all.

Unless of course you're thinking of the box office take...

I suppose it all comes down to how much you want - and expect - from the superhero genre. Starting with the bronze age of...
Published 1 month ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Full of Sound and Fury, 22 Feb. 2015
By 
Theo (Gondwana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is an unusual film: all the component parts are extremely well executed, but taken as a whole, there seems to be very little reason to have bothered making it at all.

Unless of course you're thinking of the box office take...

I suppose it all comes down to how much you want - and expect - from the superhero genre. Starting with the bronze age of comics in the 1970's, superhero comic books have been used to tell complex, compelling, and character driven stories. They've also been used to express and explore serious ideas, a phenomenon that arguably reached its zenith in the iron age defining masterpiece Watchmen. We've similarly seen animated offerings in the genre with scarcely less depth. Mask of the Phantasm is almost certainly the greatest Batman movie ever made, and through much of its run Justice League Unlimited easily held its own against even the most intelligent programming made for grown-up TV.

This film...

Well, the actors stood up and read their lines with conviction, the special effects were amazing, and the design language created for the world of Krypton and its technology was a damn fine piece of work - even if it was not an especially original one. It actually reminded me a lot of Jack Kirby's work: the vision of Krypton to be found in this film shared a lot in common with Kirby's Asgard or New Genesis. It's a good fit too - the Big Personalities abounding in all three worlds fit perfectly into this larger than life visual landscape. On a slightly different note, it also kinda reminded me of The Dark Crystal.

Unfortunately, those are about the only positive things I can say about this film.

All of the characters are completely one dimensional, Superman and Louis Lane fall into each other's arms because... well, because they're Superman and Louis Lane, and the baddies are purely and simply evil, with not much more than a fig-leaf of real motive. This is the kind of film where the baddies spout lines like "the fact that you possess a sense of morality and we do not gives us an evolutionary advantage". Well gee, I'm glad they cleared that up. Cuz... you know. If they didn't say things like that, I might not've realized that they were baddies.

Frankly, I think the screenwriters deserve a very sharp rap across the knuckles, with a very hard and heavy ruler, by a very evil nun. And on a very cold day, too, so it hurts extra hard. To call the writing drek would be to give it more credit than it deserves. At least drek is something. This is nothing. In a genre already plagued by endless re-tellings of the same tiny handful of origin stories, this is about as uninspired as it gets.

If I may be permitted to go off on a bit of a tangent, I've noticed that in the superhero genre animated offerings are often far more intelligent, and treat both their subject matter and their audience with far more respect, than the much bigger budget live action blockbusters. My theory is that in the animation world, a chance to work on a show about a major Marvel or DC hero may represent the apex of a career. Whereas in the live action world, superhero films are seen as little more than a chance to churn out a summer blockbuster - and hopefully score an especially fat paycheck.

Ka-Ching.

As I said in the beginning, it all comes down to how much you want and expect from the genre.

On a purely visual level, as a string of special effects and action sequences, this is an awesome film. I'm sure I would've loved it when I was ten. But on any kind of deeper level, there's just nothing going on.

Nothing.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive! Electrifying and beautiful suit!, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
I can only really review what I have seen in this film. Whether other people think there are avenues that were not opened up is irrelevant I think... So ..., from what I've seen, this film deserves 5 stars because we finally see Superman express himself in an angry state, something that's never really been done properly before. Christopher Reeve, bless him, you have to admire him for the gentle nature he gave his character and those films also have to be admired. It's good to see this side of Superman, whoever you are, you're bound to get angry if someone poses a threat to your mother, it was a quite a nice surprise to see that happen. The only thing that I think wasn't necessary, was the kiss between Superman and Lois. Traditionally, we get to explore Clark and the kiss comes later, so that felt a little out of place. Overall, I'd happily watch this again! The suit by the way is epic! Superman actually looks like a man, natural but different in his own way, this is evidenced by the upper chest hair you see momentarily when you get a close-up of the big guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed blu-ray quality and too much exposition. Great suit and cape!, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly the technical aspects of the disc: the Blu-ray video stream itself looks like it has a lot of compression on it to make it fit onto the single disc. The slower paced scenes are particularly difficult to watch where there is a lot of static/noise in the little colour variation between each frame, and become a significant distraction on a large screen TV. A very low quality "print" by the usual Blu-ray standards.

The film itself is a reboot full of Hollywood "morals and moments" that don't quite hold together as a story, re-imagined though it is. The visual effects are up to the usual standard of a modern movie but still don't make the film either. There are trite explanations of things that shouldn't need exposition, and a few too many tropes for a good story. Surprising given the previous films from Christopher Nolan and the storytelling in the (first two) Batman movies. Music by Hans Zimmer (also Batman) lacks punch, imagination and presence.

While the actor Henry Cavill is a good fit for the role, the story itself doesn't give much to work with in terms of lines and scenes. Once you've fallen out of the willing suspension of disbelief needed to enjoy a movie like this there doesn't seem to be a path back in.

The new blue and red cape suit is the star of the movie, and so much better than the old blue and red lycra underwear. Sadly this one will stay on the shelf in the hope of another re-imagining...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, will you?, 16 Sept. 2014
By 
C. Sutherwood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Positives:
1) This movie is the most realistic version to date. I do love the Reeves ones, but they are too comical and just not "realistic").

2) It explains pretty much everything as it goes along, so you don't have too many questions (there will always be some). But it explains things such as what's going on over on Krypton, why Superman is like he is on Earth and why they choose to send him to Earth. They also explain how he gets his costume and they actually take the time to fit it in nicely with the real "Krypton world".

3) It shows Supes struggling to be accepted into the normal world, and struggling to stay in one place because of his powers. It shows him being worried about being accepted, and it takes you through the journey (albeit through many flash backs) from him as a child, struggling in school, to becoming a hero as superman.

4) Great story. Well written dialogue, and nice CGI too. The movie is long, but for me if didn't "feel" long as I was gripped to the story.

Biggest flaws for me:
1) Lois pops up everywhere, and knows far too much (she needs her memory wiped!).
2) Too many people know about him growing up.

Now I don't see this one as a flaw, but many do: There's quite a lot of destruction in the last hour, but I think it's justified since they are "like" gods, so they would pretty much destroy anything in their path on Earth.

Also, I don't see this as a flaw either, just more of me just being picky.... Flash Backs... The first half of the movie is full of them. It's fine since they work well, but It would have worked well if they just played it all in sequence, but I guess with flash backs it allowed them to "jump around" a bit in his time line. So it's all good.

OVERALL: Buy it! Get it "used" if you want, I did, it'll be cheap. If you don't like it, sell it on, or pack it away in a dark corner of your attic. But it's worth a watch... unless you're a die hard comic fan can't look past some flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great special effects but poor 3D., 16 Aug. 2014
By 
David Clixby (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A decent film with plenty of action and some superb special effects but the 3D is very disappointing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US import, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This version contains 2 blu ray discs and a dvd. The first blu ray and the dvd contain the movie and extras the second blu ray contains the film in maximum movie mode!! This basically means the film plays in the background while actors,crew or the director pop up during the film and talk about certain aspects of the movie that relate to that scene!!! It is full of really fascinating triva and behind the scenes info it also shows behind the scenes footage and a chat with Hans Zimmer...

I actually recommend the US version over the UK as you get this rather fantastic extra and it's on its own disc!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, A Man Does Fly - BLU RAY Review, 22 Feb. 2015
I often think that the 'airplane catch' in Superman Returns is easily one of the best 'Superhero' moments on any film of the genre. But the rest of the film just felt like watching treacle WAITING for something to ACTUALLY happen.

The old Christopher Reeve movies simply suffer now from the old style effects, the simple fact that they have dated quickly, as well as the 'Roger Moore' type degeneration into gags and basic daftness. Still a terrific 'Helicopter Catch'!

So I had bought this, then kept it on the shelf a while, just doubting how I was bound to be disappointed, but after the first ten minutes it just gets you by the scruff of the neck and keeps going. It answers so many questions that the other films just skirted. You understand why Superman struggles with anything to do with Krypton (although Kryptonite actually never makes an appearance), you know why the villians were exiled.............no more spoilers.

Such a treat with Russell Crowe and Costner playing the two dads, Diane Lane as his Earth mom, and Cavill makes a great Superman - I thought Brandon Routh was good, just he was held back by a slow moving story.

In this I have read the reviews about the CGI going mad, I thought it was well played. When you see Superman take a punch and fly through five or six buildings, it is like you always wanted it to be. Not going to say anymore, just watch it without the spoilers.

Good picture on Blu Ray, but what is astonishing is the score by Hans Zimmer. Yes, you want the John Williams theme, but you ain't going to get it but Zimmer gives a resounding soundtrack that never really needs a theme. One of the first soundtracks I have ever had on Blu Ray that really pounds around a 5.1 system.

Loved it, looking forward to Batman Vs Superman and then the Justice League.

You will believe.................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sound and solid, like the Man himself, 7 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Well, to be the best Superman movie yet is not necessarily such an achievement, but for sure this gets that distinction in spades. In a way, that’s a tad unfair on “Superman” which WAS great in 1978, but despite Christopher Reeve, looks pretty ropey now. Liked it then, though. Then however, it was pretty original to do all this stuff in a live action movie, so despite clearly visible wires preventing one being able to really “believe a man can fly”, it was good fun.

Visually, this is stunning. Very Zack Snyder. Story-wise, it’s also rather Zack Snyder. He’s trying to cram so much in; he needed a three or four hour movie, not just over two. Director’s cut anyone?

Performances and characters. Well, Henry Cavill’s Clark and Superman are terrific. Who’d’ve thought that after the diabolically bad “Immortals”? Mind, that wasn’t his fault. He really looks the part, and unquestionably is a big part of the enjoyment of this movie. Amy Adams is a good Lois, but then I didn’t like Margot Kidder’s Lois at all. The rest of the cast, fine. The emotional manipulation around Kevin Costner’s character fairly typical; only Laurence Fishburne seemed uncomfortable and out of place until the later stages.

The effects are all you would expect nowadays, and while some elements look jerky, perhaps because our physics knows they can’t be real, they generally show a level of CGI that was absent in many of the truly awful sequences in “Transformers” movies, “Iron Man 3” and others. The fights in particular are excellent, and there are a few scenes very much nodding back to my all-time favourite “Watchmen”.

The story is pretty much as you’d expect, nothing too complicated. The infuriating Deus ex Machina of unlimited Kryptonite variations popping up to start story threads or break lazily out of dead ends is thankfully absent. There are a few good quips nodding to the movie’s 1978 predecessor, and overall, it’s a fun couple of hours, even if it’s more than a tad unashamedly Oklahoma “The corn is as high as an elephant’s eye….”. Occasional flashes of humour, particularly near the end. VERY smart last two lines. And Lois, before it goes too far, please read Larry Niven’s “Man of Steel, Woman of Kleenex”.

Four stars’ worth of fun. I definitely like it. Not sure if I love it. Five stars if it had been long enough for some parts not to feel so rushed (seems to be a common problem these days, to me at least). May up this when re-watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh boy..., 3 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Man of Steel is the sort of film you can enjoy upon first viewing but you can pretty much unravel the whole film on the way home. My main problem with MoS is that it felt like Warner Bros looked at the Dark Knight trilogy then looked at Zach Snyder and said "Do that to Superman or whatever" and just threw some money at him.
This film tries so hard to be gritty and grey and bland and it manages to have even less of a sense of humour than an actual Nolan film. Just because Snyder did a decent job with 300 and Watchmen doesn't mean he knows how to make a Superman film, maybe let him direct a Noire/thriller film.
The film also starts hopping around Superman's timeline as if Snyder got bored with what was going on in the present day and wanted to cram in even more unnecessary padding.

So onto the positives because there are some. First of all, the cast. Henry Cavill, like the rest of the cast, does the best with the materiel and even manages to sneak a smile on screen when he's discovering how to fly (Snyder must have forgotten to cut that out).
I also have to praise the visual effects team. While I was disappointed that the last twenty minutes resorted to a "Who can destroy the most buildings" contest between Zod and Supes, you have to at least give them credit for something that does look pretty good, it's just grating how long it goes on for. Much like the film which does drag on for 2 hours and 20 minutes and it feels completely unnecessary.

Overall, it's probably worth watching because it sets up the DC Cinematic Universe. I just hope all the upcoming films don't have the same gritty tone like this one. That's something Marvel got right, they know when to crack a smile and that's something Warner Bros could learn from Marvel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just super..., 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb reboot of the Superman franchise.

Providing a fresh take on the origin of the 'Man of Steel', with Henry Cavill bringing his own take on the infamous superhero, and featuring a cool handful of nods to the comic books and previous films alike. With one fantastic nod to Chris Reeve.

If you don't already own this, then what are you waiting for?? Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man of Steel [DVD]
Man of Steel [DVD] by Henry Cavill (DVD - 2013)
£4.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews