Customer Reviews


526 Reviews
5 star:
 (272)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise!
I've only watched this once, and maybe I'll like it less on subsequent viewings... But for now I can't praise it enough!
This is the Superman film I'd been waiting and hoping for, a total contrast to the terrible film that came out a few years back.
Russel Crowe is great, as per normal, and the guy who plays Superman is perfect. At certain moments he could be...
Published 2 months ago by Mike

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Murdering a classic..
Having grown up on the Christopher Reeve Superman movies and reading the Superman comics/graphic novels, I have to say I am very disappointed in MoS protrayal of Superman. Superman’s proclaimed ethos is for doing good with his superhuman powers, to defend truth, protect the innocent and uphold justice. Superman grows up on Earth and learns to love the people of...
Published 1 day ago by B. Burnett


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise!, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
I've only watched this once, and maybe I'll like it less on subsequent viewings... But for now I can't praise it enough!
This is the Superman film I'd been waiting and hoping for, a total contrast to the terrible film that came out a few years back.
Russel Crowe is great, as per normal, and the guy who plays Superman is perfect. At certain moments he could be mistaken for Christopher Reeve which is no bad thing for those of us who grew up watching the original films. For the rest of the film he embodies the Man of Steel like no one else ever has.
This has a few similarities to Thor but for me is by far the better of the two films, its not that Thor was bad, just that this is great.
I hope they make another... Soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable remake of Superman I and II, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched Man of Steel for the first time last night knowing only that it was another Superman movie. So I was surprised when the film began back at the start again with the destruction of Krypton. I quickly realised this is infact a remake of the original Superman film and actually Superman II as well as he has to deal with the bad guys and girl again. So how do they compare? Well, the original films were, and still are, very much loved but after you've seen Man of Steel, you realise the original films are very dated now with what would now be regarded as low budget special effects and quaint behaviour. In contrast, the special effects on this new film are fantastic and the last 30 mins are constant, high impact action. It's much more than a popcorn movie and I enjoyed it from start to finish. My friend and I always rate every film we watch. He gave it 7.5 and I gave it 8 out of 10. So definitely worth adding to your Blu-ray collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Murdering a classic.., 15 April 2014
By 
B. Burnett "bjburnett" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
Having grown up on the Christopher Reeve Superman movies and reading the Superman comics/graphic novels, I have to say I am very disappointed in MoS protrayal of Superman. Superman’s proclaimed ethos is for doing good with his superhuman powers, to defend truth, protect the innocent and uphold justice. Superman grows up on Earth and learns to love the people of Earth especially Metropolis who he would protect with his life. Superman would NEVER kill! So to see Superman smashing up buildings, allowing people to be smashed, burnt, crushed by buildings as he fights with Zod and his minions is just NOT Superman. This is just a movie about an alien-man fighting his enemies on Earth and us mere humans just collateral damage. Also for Pa Kent to tell young Clark to 'Let the children die..', again that is not what the character of Superman's human father is about. Pa Kent would never have said that in the real Superman stories. He was a kind man who would have wanted Clark to always do what is right. And he died of a heart attack not in a tornado!
Anyway, maybe this is the 21st century, dark interpretation of Superman. But it just goes against everything that Superman stands for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Moronic, 14 April 2014
Oh dear - yet another example of bloated, unimaginative, cliched Hollywood junk. From the moment I saw a standard 'alien beast' bellow into the camera, I know we were in for another epic-by-numbers. I'm not sure what started the trend for brainless fantasy epics, but I think Lord of the Rings might be to blame. Unintelligent screenwriters think they have the capacity to 'reimagine' classic fiction or comic books, and spend millions doing it, but come up with a load of shouting and explosions that make absolutely no sense, and have all the fun and humour of a Haynes manual. What a total waste of time, money, and effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superman Reimagined, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Henry Cavill (The Tudors) fills out the suit, and Zack Snyder (300) takes directing duties in this re-imagining of the Superman story. Eschewing the trappings of any of the previous films, this goes back to scratch, effectively a remake of Superman 1 and 2 rolled into one. It follows the demise of Krypton, Russell Crowe as Supe's dad sending him towards earth, and then wraps into that the story of General Zod (the always good value Michael Shannon), as a nemesis for our man of steel.
So what do we get - an origin story, which is quite well done, and a coming of age story for Superman as he grows up on earth. This is all told in quite condensed and non-linear format, and I for one was left wanting to see a bit more of Kevin Costner and Diane Lane as the conscience of Superman, his adoptive parents. It segues in to a final half which is a long, oh yes, really too long, series of action set pieces as Zod and Superman face off. Frankly, it has a few endings too many, Snyder belying his love of action over substance, and the action becoming more and more devoid of thrills. As a whole then, it's just impossible not to compare to the original, and it really does serve to remind you just how clever the structure of that first Superman movie was. Cavill is a wonderfully brooding and intense Superman - but where is the vulnerability of Clark Kent? There is just something missing in the beats of how Kal-El becomes Superman, the elements of him learning about what it is to be human. The sci-fi elements might surprise you, and the colours are very muted in contrast to the primary coloured days of Christopher Reeve. Hans Zimmer has delivered an effective score underlying the dark and serious tone - but as with the rest of the movie, it all lacks just a tad of humour which would have made it all easier to swallow.
Ultimately a reasonably well put together movie with genuinely decent effects is let down by its lack of the one thing that Superman was really all about - humanity. Instead of gaining an understanding of humanity by looking at it through an aliens eyes, the movie spends its time trying to understand the alien looking through humanities eyes. Still, if action, sci-fi and set-piece after set-piece are your thing, then go ahead, you'll have a blast. For the rest of us, we will mourn the passing of the Superman we once knew.
(4/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really well made, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film! Just wish for the rental price we paid we could've had it a little longer! Would like to watch again but won't be renting it from amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars high flyer, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good remake of a classic film with up to date effects and not as cheesy as the original you almost believe he can fly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good actually, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel (DVD)
After reading quite mixed reviews I was a bit reluctant to rent this, but I am glad I took the risk. This is a prtetty decent film in my opinion, plenty of action, great effects, decent acting. The old superman films look really dated these days and this is a good stab at rebooting. You could watch a lot worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be so much more., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great first 40 minutes, badly let down by a flash bang wallop second half.
You can only watch so much of crashing through walls, buildings, glass, gets tedious.

Characters really good, casting excellent. Flying is now reaching perfection, still too much reliance on CGI.

What a shame, can't understand why the majority of this genre inevitably end up being boring and unintelligent, suppose a lack of end story does not help.

Zak Snyder tries and nearly succeeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Super' man, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] (DVD)
After seeing this on the big screen last year I had to own the DVD. This is not an attempted revival of the Christopher Reeve films like 'Returns' and although unfamiliar to non readers this is a close to an accurate big screen adaptation of the source material than any fanboy could have hoped for.

Surprisingly good performance by Russell Crowe also, the cast is brilliant and Henry Cavill plays this version of Superman wonderfully, the scale of the scenes, the special effects and the uplifting, dramatic and sometimes emotional score by Hans Zimmer make this a fantastic film. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb58696a8)

This product

Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy]
Man of Steel [DVD + UV Copy] by Henry Cavill (DVD - 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews