Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous (in every sense)
A few months ago, a Channel 4 series ("Gods and Monsters") presented by Tony Robinson (of Time Team and Baldrick fame) examined the history of superstition. It told the story of Bridget Clary. In 1895 she was murdered by her husband, who believed she was a changeling, that is, not his wife at all - the real Bridget having been stolen by the fairies. Graham Joyce's novel...
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by D. Harris

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining book which never quite balanced all of its elements
**Minor Spoilers Implied**

Some Kind of Fairy Tale borrows liberally from British folk tales relating to the disappearance of young women, apparently taken by the fairies. In this instance the abductee, Tara, returns twenty years later, although she claims (and her appearance would suggest) that for her only six months have passed. Thereafter, the novel flits...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous (in every sense), 28 Jan 2012
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A few months ago, a Channel 4 series ("Gods and Monsters") presented by Tony Robinson (of Time Team and Baldrick fame) examined the history of superstition. It told the story of Bridget Clary. In 1895 she was murdered by her husband, who believed she was a changeling, that is, not his wife at all - the real Bridget having been stolen by the fairies. Graham Joyce's novel uses this theme, postulating a similar "abduction" in 21st century England. There is a strong and intriguing opening, when Tara Martin knocks on her parents' door just after Christmas. Tara disappeared 20 years ago at the age of 16, and it was assumed that she was murdered in the mysterious Outwoods. When she reappears, insisting that she has only been absent for six months and doesn't seem to have aged a day, there are challenges for everyone - her now elderly parents, her brother Peter who has "grown up" since, and her ex boyfriend, upon whom suspicion fell. The book deals with the consequences of the situation.

Joyce weaves together Tara's own story of her experience (white horse, seductive young man, strange, fey land which she cannot get out of) with a very matter-of-fact account of everyday life for the left behind (work, pubs, children, casual police brutality). He grounds the comings and goings to the mysterious otherworld very credibly in a specific English locality, the Charnwood forest, where three counties meet (so, a border place - good for crossing into the Otherworld) which overlies a geological fault (those interested in "Earth mysteries" sometimes speculate that spooky experiences may be linked to the influences of gases and vapours seeping up from below ground, as with the oracle at Delphi. Equally, of course, those "stolen" away were thought to be somehow taken underground). This is done very well. He also creates well drawn and believable characters, and the plotting is excellent - I sat up well past midnight to finish this, I simply couldn't stop till I found out how it would finish (without giving too much away, there's a delicious sense that it might NOT have finished).

The chapter headings recount various scraps of lore concerning "fairies" (though we're advised not to call them that - they don't like it) including the tale of the unfortunate Bridget. I smiled to see Joyce introduce thoughts from William Heaney among these. Heaney, also known as Graham Joyce, was the "author" of Memoirs of a Master Forger and the reference - passing though it is - is appropriate in this book, with its themes of truth and falsehood, and how we judge them (Bridget dies because of the accusation that she had "visited" the fairies, though she says she hadn't: Tara suffers because she claims she has, though nobody will believe her).

In all, this is the best book I've read so far this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting!, 6 Nov 2012
By 
S. Peggy BLIN "Booklimic" (Mauritius Island) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sometimes you discover a book which is like a bubble that isolates you from the rest of the world. "Some kind of fairy tale" was such a book for me. I did not know the author but when I read the 'résumé' on Amazon, I just had to order it.
It was unputdownable, from the very first page. I even found myself snatching a few minutes from work to finish a chapter... I loved the author's way of mixing reality with magic. Made me ready to believe it all without questions! The story flows, easily, never boring. A tale of enchantment... I certainly was under the spell and I am without a doubt going to order his other books. Just to keep the spell on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining book which never quite balanced all of its elements, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Leamington Spa, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
**Minor Spoilers Implied**

Some Kind of Fairy Tale borrows liberally from British folk tales relating to the disappearance of young women, apparently taken by the fairies. In this instance the abductee, Tara, returns twenty years later, although she claims (and her appearance would suggest) that for her only six months have passed. Thereafter, the novel flits between Tara's fantastical tale, attempts to rationalise her experiences through psychiatry and the stories of those left behind.

Joyce digs deep into British mythology for his story, a fact underlined by the literary quotes and the reports of real-life encounters with the mystic that precede each chapter. The fairies of this tale owe less to Disney and more to A Midsummer Night's Dream. They're earthy, lusty free spirits with radical knowledge of physics but an unusual approach to ethics. This kind of folklore is fascinating and Joyce manages to capture some of this in a largely entertaining story with a genuinely poetic bent.

The tension between the fantastic and the mundane provide plenty of opportunity for Joyce to challenge the way in which our society works. His themes question the moral judgements that we all make in relationships, child rearing and the imposition of authority. Consequently, this is a charismatic book that is -on the whole- pretty engaging. I do, however, have gripes.

Around the core mystery, Joyce builds a series of thematically related plots. Some are very pertinent to the core narrative whilst others seem far more tangential. In particular, the strained relationship between Tara's adolescent nephew and his elderly neighbour falls into the second category. Some of the plot strands of the latter type don't resolve into the core plot or themes until very late in the novel. Given this, there are sections of the novel that drag being relatively unexciting unto themselves and apparently inconsequential overall. In fact, pace in general is a problem; the book is slow to start and then concludes very quickly.

The same divergence exists amongst the characters. Some are charming and easy to sympathise with (the ex-boyfriend whose life was put on hold by Tara's disappearance) whilst others are rather dull, feeling like cogs in the plot rather than properly realised characters. The main character, Tara, however, seems wilfully irritating. Admittedly, she is meant to be a sixteen year old, so should be expected to be headstrong and temperamental but this does not necessarily make her likeable. Perhaps we are meant to observe how her time away has changed her but I found her sometimes smug and, on at least one occasion, wantonly vengeful. For me, this left me unmoved by some of the major plot developments when asked to sympathise with her.

Finally, the text never gives a definitive answer as to whether the fae are real or an aspect of Tara's psychosis but it is pretty clear from early on where the author's preference lies. The lack of credence given to one side of the argument actually served to diminish some of the dramatic tension, making the core mystery somewhat redundant.

This is an interesting read that that is clearly well researched, constructed of delicate language and often entertaining. Too often, however, I was distracted by structural decisions made by the author that pulled me out of the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contemporary take on the 'abducted by fairies' tales, 22 Aug 2012
By 
I Readalot (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Once upon a time in north Leicestershire Tara, aged 16, goes missing, it is if she has just dropped off the planet. After a long and fruitless search her parents, Peter, her older brother and Richie the besotted boyfriend have to accept she is gone forever and try to get on with their lives. Once best friends Peter and Richie become estranged, poor Richie is suspected of killing her and all he has left is his music. Twenty years later on Christmas Day Tara returns with a very strange tale to tell. All except Richie have come to terms with her loss and now have to come to terms with her return and they all react to her wild story in different ways.

`Some Kind of Fairy Tale' is a contemporary take on the classic `abducted by fairies' tale and Joyce makes no attempt to hide the fact that he was inspired and influenced by many such stories from the past. His fairies are not the sentimentalized version, they are not tiny and they don't have wings and wear pretty little dresses. I wouldn't want to meet Joyce's fairies; it is not that they are evil but dark and sinister with, by human standards, a lax view on morality and they don't like being referred to as 'fairies'.

Charnwood Forest provides the perfect setting for this story; as someone who once spent several years living within walking distance of the Outwoods I can vouch for the enchanted nature of this ancient place and the bluebells really are an impressive sight when you catch them at the right time. I haven't really thought about Charnwood Forest for a few years now but this novel took me right back rekindling memories of happy times spent in this beautiful part of England.

It is a beautifully written book but it does have - to borrow from the film industry - strong language, sexual scenes and themes of an adult nature. Graham Joyce is hardly a household name even though this is his 8th book with several of them unfortunately currently out of print. He has won both the British and World Fantasy Award and perhaps it is the `fantasy' tag that puts many readers off reading him as for many people fantasy equates to the dungeons and dragons type stories. Think magical realism, think Haruki Murakami and you will get a better idea of Joyce's style of fantasy.

`Some Kind of Fairytale' is moving, thought provoking with believable characters and wonderful descriptions and if I could give it more than 5 stars I would. Do they live happily ever after? You will have to read it to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read - a fairy tale for grown ups, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read a lot of fairytale/paranormal romance books at the grand old age of 38 but have to say a lot of them are cringe worthily simple in their writing style - i was reading better written books as a child! My favourites in the last few years have been melissa marr and holly black and i was despairing of ever finding a good read again after reading a lot of generally lacklustre books of this type of genre recently until i found this one! I don't want to give too much away but what appealed to me about the story is that it is set in the present day but has a traditional fairy tale love theme. It centres around a teenager who has been missing for 20 years - presumed dead by her family but turns up only to tell them this amazing tale of having been seduced away to live with the fairies with her believing that only 6 months has passed. The story deals with some quite adult themes and is well written and flows beautifully - skipping between her narrative of her experience (as she tells it to a psychiatrist) and how she and her family attempt to rebuild their relationship and how she copes in a world that is 20 years on from where she left it. You will not be disappointed and i will definitely be looking for more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faerie in the modern idiom, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Penelope Swan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Joyce writes well, and this is a clever take on the fairy abduction trope.
A young girl disappears in the early 1990s and returns to her family strangely unchanged in the present day. She believes she has been away for 6 months, tricked into remaining in the realm of faerie by a plausible man who did not force her, but did not tell her the whole truth either. For them, and for the boyfriend accused of her murder, it has been 20 years of anguish and struggle. The strain of return is managed well - is she mad? Is she lying? Is she culpable? And the working out of pain, joy, resentment and helplessness is both believable and moving. I was slightly disappointed that no one quoted Professor Kirk from The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe ('have you considered that she may be telling the truth?'), but that aside this is a very enjoyable and skillful update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting fairy tale for the modern world, 2 Dec 2012
This is a very charming and delightful read putting a modern twist on the belief that faeries could swap places with people and become "changleings". There were genuines law cases regarding such beliefs back in the early 1900s as snippets at the start of each chapter reveal. The characters all seem remarkably genuine and the way the reader learns of their history through either whole chapters told from one's perspective or backstory is a clever narrative technique as it keeps the reader on their toes as to whether believe one persons view or not. And the ending has a few fantastic twists in the detail that brings it all together into a very suprising package. Recommended for readers who like reality but with a slight hint of the impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author is very talented, for his writing style is a real joy (or should I say styles for this title, as he swept seamlessly from one narrative to another giving us a full colour insight into the characters). The story is enjoyable, fascinating and at times surprising. I particularly enjoyed the faerie poems, songs and stories at the beginning of each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joyce is on form, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read other books by Graham Joyce in the last, and find his work to be of a consistently high standard. Well-drawn, believable and interesting characters paired with compelling storylines and a sprinkle of magic and mystery.
This offering does not disappoint.

The quality of the writing was as good as I would have expected from Joyce, and I especially liked the use of the character of the psychiatrist/psychologist (I've never really understood the difference!) as his reports gave a good contrast to the rest of the story, and his involvement in the plot as a whole was unexpected.

If you like your 'grown up' literature with a pinch of fairy dust, you'll enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this book, 11 Aug 2014
By 
D. Machin (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book. As a fan of magical mystery novels I hoped Id love it. The plot kept me engaged but may be Im missing something-a comment near the end of the book has me flummoxed! Which sort of spoiled the ending leaving me feeling unfulfilled. A bit odd really. Without the comment I would have been much happier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews