Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply interesting, backed up by plenty of evidence, with practical recommendations.
This is an impressive book on a serious subject which at times really is a matter of life and death. It can be read by anyone interested in the pharmaceutical industry, and doesn't require any previous knowledge of medicine or even science in general.

The tone is chatty enough to keep you interested, while remaining relatively well structured. I think you will...
Published 23 months ago by andrewp

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Book
This is such a disappointing book. It addresses very important issues, putting into the popular arena a catalogue of systemic failings in the pharmaceutical industry, regulatory bodies, academia and government, and proposing solutions. Goldacre is a highly intelligent and articulate doctor, with a fine track record in popularising science, who has clearly undertaken a...
Published 20 months ago by Nostromo


‹ Previous | 119 20 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More frightening news from this splendid writer, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Goldacre's first book was eye-opening, but this, his second, lifts the lid on a frightening amount of unsatisfactory behaviour in the medical field. As one reads through the chapters, the main reaction is probably a question: who, on earth, can I trust over such matters? This is a "must read" for anyone interested in taking care of their own lives and the lives of anyone for whom they are responsible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sorry tale of institutionalized corruption, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Wendy Franks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Pharma: How Medicine is Broken, And How We Can Fix It (Kindle Edition)
Ben Goldacre highlights a hidden sore in the provision of health care. This is another sorry tale of how industry and those in positions of power have colluded to the detriment of us all - those of us who need to take drugs for health problems and those of us who pay for them via taxation. He provides a cogent analysis of the problems but is less clear about how they can be overcome. He urges individual patients to question their General Practitioner and search for evidence of the effectiveness of the treatments they prescribe but this is not a practical solution to an international problem. The regulation of the pharmaceutical industry is a policy issue not a personal one. Alas, as was the case with the banking industry, a cosy relationship between the pharmaceutical industry and governments has led to an international failure in regulation. The United States of America has brought some offenders to book but Europe seems more willing to tolerate corruption rather than antagonize the industry and lose jobs. Goldacre's book is passionate but not polemical. Doctors and health care providers should read it with shame and the general public with anger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meaty read! Worrying state of affairs!, 6 Jan 2013
By 
I. Sowemimo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like the fact that Ben Goldacre not only criticizes the problems surrounding testing, approval and regulation of pharmaceuticals, he also offers solutions! Well researched book. From now on, I will never swallow a tablet thinking: "my doctor knows best"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dodgy drug companies, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Pharma: How Medicine is Broken, And How We Can Fix It (Kindle Edition)
This is a revealing and rather alarming book. Not only do drug companies sit on bad results but regulators seem to be on their side too and fail in their duties to doctors and patients.

How is it allowed to go on? Only books and writers such as this plugging away will ever get anything done

Well done Ben keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful ... and should be Required Reading, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Ms Je Howitt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ben Goldacre is one of the gifted ones who can take a complicated scientific and/or medical idea and make it easy for us Average Readers to understand without making us feel talked-down to. That alone makes reading his stuff worthwhile. But add to this the information he's exposing here and it's a must-have, must-read.

It's just a complete amazement to me that people aren't talking about it loudly. What this book tells you really should spark a national debate. It'll certainly get you thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Pharma, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband loves the Ben Goodacre books. He's really enjoying all the expose information and tactics
the drugs companies use when trialing the drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Colin "artfully-vague" (Tewkesbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ben Goldacre is an excellent writer and this book really is an insightful expose of the pharmaceutical industry. I ordered it as a gift for my partner who is studying around this topic. It was however just as well it wasn't urgent as it took a month to arrive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong critique of the pharmaceutical industry, 12 Dec 2012
By 
N. Thomas Hertel (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book reveals the terrifying reality of the marketing aspects of the pharmaceutical industry. Marketing has the most to say on new drugs and not the scientific evidence.
Should be a "must-read" for politicians in health politics, doctors, medical students as well as patients!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You MUST read this if you are ill, or ever plan to be, 12 Dec 2012
By 
Matthew Heywood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Pharma: How Medicine is Broken, And How We Can Fix It (Kindle Edition)
Ben Goldacre strikes again! The behaviour of pharmaceutical companies has to be seen to be believed - wilful withholding of data, manipulation of the truth and stealthy (sometimes not so!) marketing techniques are laid bare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Pharma, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative.Makes one realise the hold Pharma companies have on Gp's and us.Would recommend to student doctors as required reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews