Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent entry text into Orthodox Christian Theology
I bought this book whilst browsing through a cathedral bookshop a number of years ago. It literally changed my life. 2 years later I was received into the Orthodox Church and have never looked back. There were many threads leading to this conclusion but foundational among them was reading this book. Timothy Ware is an English born Bishop of the British Greek Orthodox...
Published on 26 Aug. 2009 by Richard Collins

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Orthadox Way
The book and contents as a whole are more than ok. It is the condition that disappointed me. It had pen marks, comments, words hi-lighted so the description was not correct
Published 23 months ago by Tag


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent entry text into Orthodox Christian Theology, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
Richard Collins (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Paperback)
I bought this book whilst browsing through a cathedral bookshop a number of years ago. It literally changed my life. 2 years later I was received into the Orthodox Church and have never looked back. There were many threads leading to this conclusion but foundational among them was reading this book. Timothy Ware is an English born Bishop of the British Greek Orthodox Archdiocese and is better known to the Orthodox as Metropolitan Kallistos (his 'church' name). He, too, undertook a journey of faith and theology into the Eastern Orthodox Church as a young man and this book contains the fullness of his experience and wisdom in producing a characteristically succinct account of 'how' the Orthodox conceive Christian theology. His companion book, 'The Orthodox Church', contains more about the history and organization of the Church leaving this book to examine the underlaying beliefs common amongst all the different Orthodox jurisdictions (Greek, Russian, Serbian etc..).

It's not a long read, and I devoured it in an afternoon, but it leaves you thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Way, 2 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Paperback)
Bishop KALLISTOS (Ware), famous for his companion volume "The Orthodox Church", presents in this offering a comprehensive approach to Orthodox spirituality. While "Church" deals with the history, organization, structure and basic theology of the Orthodox Church, "Way" is concerned exclusively on the Orthodox spiritual life -- the Orthodox "way" of spirituality. Having said that, since Orthodox theology is in its essence mystical and closely related to spirituality, KALLISTOS' book covers much spiritual theology from the Orthodox perspective. This is not a complicated treatise for experts, but a readable, usable guide for everyone wishing to uncover the incomparable glories of Orthodox spirituality. A tremendous guide to Orthodoxy "from the inside out".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A basic must have book., 6 Dec. 2010
By 
Dan E. Nicholas "gotta have a book" (Scotts Valley, California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Paperback)
This is a basic must have book (along with the Orthodox Church by Ware as well) by a man many look to around the world as a sort of "pope" of the Eastern Orthodox Church, well academic wise. Almost any college with a comparative religions class will assign the Ware books the Orthodox Church and the Orthodox Way as a starting place for understanding a major branch of the now three branch Christian church of Eastern Orthodoxy, Roman Catholicism and Protestantism.

I heard this man speak not that many years ago in my town. He is a delightful leader and thinker for many around the globe. This is a book that needs to be on your shelf at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing little book, 1 Nov. 2010
By 
N. Carlsson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Paperback)
Although I am not Eastern Orthodox, I can highly recommend this book to any Christian. It is clear about Orthodox doctrine, and presents it in a very appealing way: it is clear that Bishop Kallistos lives and loves his faith. He is also very well read, both in and outside the Orthodox tradition, and at the same time a good communicator. Buy it! Also, have a look at an even smaller book by him "The Power of the Name" on the Jesus prayer - brilliant stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to orthodox spirituality, 22 Dec. 2013
By 
K. Brewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Paperback)
A very well written book, explaining with care and sensitivity the basic outlines of Orthodox belief and spiritual practice. A lovely variety of source material is also used and cited for those wishing to explore the themes of the book in greater detail. Well worth having on your bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Ware!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Kindle Edition)
Metropolitan Kallistos Ware has been one of the great English-speaking scholars of Orthodoxy for decades. I first read his 'The Orthodox Church' (written as Timothy Ware) some twenty years ago, but had never got around to buying this later work. What a waste of years - so many riches I've not experienced until now. Still, at last and, by grace, still many years to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Orthodox Way by Kallistos Ware, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Paperback)
I knew a little about the author and was thus led to read further. Peter Ware is a very easy to read writer giving plenty of food for deep thought. My reason for buying the book was to learn more about orthodox Christianity, it serves it's purpose well. It would be well worth keeping on your shelf and rereading perhaps several times. As with any great work ti is full of pointers to further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful read, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Paperback)
You need to go to Timothy Ware's earlier book "The Orthodox Church" for a full analysis of history and outline of general theological position. however this little volume offers a most helpful insight into the Orthodox way of looking at things. Well backed up by quotes from EO "fathers". I have read both his books and feel I appreciate the EO position much better than before, and found backing for some of the movements in my own spiritual life. That said I am very clear there is no way I could follow him into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and inspiring, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Paperback)
The author explains Orthodox spirituality and theology with clarity and brevity, and above all with conviction. A must for anyone interested in Orthodoxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Orthadox Way, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Way (Paperback)
The book and contents as a whole are more than ok. It is the condition that disappointed me. It had pen marks, comments, words hi-lighted so the description was not correct
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Orthodox Way
The Orthodox Way by Kallistos Ware
£6.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews