Customer Reviews


356 Reviews
5 star:
 (204)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, consistency suffers
As with other J Jackson Bentley stories, there are consistency problems with the names of main characters.

In "Fogarty", Ashley Garner (nee Fogarty) having been decribed using both names at various points, becomes Mrs Morgan and then Ashley Morgan. Possibly she has been confused with another character in the story - "Tilly Morgan"...
Published 22 months ago by Ken Adam

versus
62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
The story line is far-fetched but reasonably well written. However, this is the third "City of London" by J Jackson Bentley that I have read and his inability to edit his own work (or get someone else to do it) has become such an annoyance that although the story lines are Ok I will not waste my money on any more of his works. When one of the key characters changes...
Published 21 months ago by Peter Kilburn


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
Peter Kilburn (Wakefield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
The story line is far-fetched but reasonably well written. However, this is the third "City of London" by J Jackson Bentley that I have read and his inability to edit his own work (or get someone else to do it) has become such an annoyance that although the story lines are Ok I will not waste my money on any more of his works. When one of the key characters changes surname at least half a dozen times and sometimes within a single chapter then it shows a lack of competence, either the lead female is Ashley Garner or Ashley Morgan, she cannot be both. Other examples of this slipshod writing style include a police car that changes from an Astra to a Corsa and back to an Astra within the space of a couple of hundred words.
As in the earlier books there are examples of poor research/lack of knowledge- e.g. Starbucks described as a Restaurant with waitress service or a Piano and Pitcher Pub with a Maitre D'.

In a free book most of these errors are to an extent forgivable but when you expect customers to pay for the book you have a duty to check for consistency and accuracy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, consistency suffers, 3 Jun. 2013
By 
Ken Adam "Mapper" (Midlothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
As with other J Jackson Bentley stories, there are consistency problems with the names of main characters.

In "Fogarty", Ashley Garner (nee Fogarty) having been decribed using both names at various points, becomes Mrs Morgan and then Ashley Morgan. Possibly she has been confused with another character in the story - "Tilly Morgan".

I'd llke to be able to read the story without back tracking to try and work out who someone is, or why their name changed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand Chase For The Truth, 31 May 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
It is July 2011 and the tabloid 'News Of the World' newspaper is closing down after the phone-hacking scandal. Ace reporter Max Richmond's final story focused on potential strife in North London. The resulting Tottenham riots went global. 11,000 miles away in New Zealand, Ben Fogarty, legendary rugby international, was summoned by his wealthy adopted father, Patrick, who witnessed an aggravated assault on a police woman, recognising the perpetrator. The revelation of the identity stunned Ben into action. He flies to London, little knowing the intrigue that awaits.

The spectrum of the gang hierarchy is unravelled. Ben is tangled in a mesh of conspiracy. His Maori traditions from his upbringing come forward. The boss of the enterprise is a close secret, but the action is typical Bentley. Hits and runs with swerves and asides keep the suspense to the end. An absorbing story with accounts of the Farm Hill Estate and north London underworld. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clunkers and clangers, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book but had to start noticing the plot problems - the most annoying was when (SPOILER!) Ashley implicates Ben in the Rectory murders and the filth believe her! Despite the fact that the author details how Ben wasn't a suspect because he had no GSR (gun shot residue) or any other forensic, they still end up believing a suspect in their cross-hairs. Oh please! Loved the whole Maori/NZ angle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING FOLLOW UP, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I found this very disappointing as a follow up to CHAMELEON. I thought CHAMELEON was a huge improvement on 48 Hours but here the standard, to me, appears to have dropped off again. I am afraid I found much of the action unconvincing and was mystified by arrival of unannounced saviours at climax
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Keeper Read, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
Have read this book a few times now, don't usually read a book more than once. One of those books you can re-read and find a few details you may have missed. All-in all, good read. Would read more by JB. Good luck with your next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suzy, 8 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading this and i really enjoyed it. It may be a cliche to call a book a page turner but this really is. I have recommended it to family and friends and anyone who enjoys a good thriller will enjoy this. It has a gritty feel and gives you a taste of what london during the 2011 riots was like - maybe the author was there! It has inspired me to buy more books by this writer, he has several available on the kindle now though I have yet to see them in bookshops. This book was of as good a standard as any of the bestseller writers I have read, it was well plotted, there were no leaps of logic as seems to happen in other books, and it all made sense and wasn't outlandish in any way. I will be reading more from this writer in the future and hope he writes more of this type of thriller. The price is very low so it is definitely worth a punt. It will be money well spent I can promise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an excellent story, 18 Jun. 2013
By 
Alan Teasdale "Alan" (Folkestone Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
This book started a bit slow but the pace picked up. There are multiple plots which all come together at the end. I must confess to being a bit disappointed at the ending as, after the intrigue and crossing of plots seemed to be predictable. Even so, I enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fogarty Fixes The Family Business, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
London in the summer of 2011. The News of the World newspaper has closed and like other inner cities in the UK at that time there is civil unrest.

Amongst this. A former Rugby international. A folk hero of the all blacks arrives from New Zealand due to the actions of his blood father.

Enjoy the Kiwi, Fogarty as he goes around various London locations with family business to sort out. Plus other business he knows nothing about. Helping Fogarty out is an investigative journalist as they encounter corrupt police officers, hardened, criminals, legal eagles and community leaders.

Like the two previous stories in this series of City of London thrillers 48 Hours and Chameleon by J. Jackson Bentley. There is scope here for a TV or film production. The beautiful Dee Hammond and her husband Josh return for this third instalment of this series. Compared to the earlier adventures their part is minimal due to Dee being seven months pregnant.

If I had a criticism. That would be there is no tube station in Wandsworth. it could certainly do with one. As far as I know the planned Northern Line extension will include new stations at Nine Elms and Battersea Power Station that will link via Kennington.

A lot of other reviewers have highlighted the grammar and typo errors. Taking those pointers aside similar to the first two I liked this book.

Further ventures with London as the epicentre would be good. As the characters that have been introduced could be developed further along with new ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I did not consider this to be easy reading. After a pretty promising start it soon ..., 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fogarty: A City of London Thriller (Kindle Edition)
It started off well enough. So much so that I downloaded 2 more City of London Thrillers, currently offered as Amazon freebies.
Having finished this book I am now unsure of the wisdom of my actions!

Unlike several critics, I did not consider this to be easy reading. After a pretty promising start it soon became over-complicated instead of ingenious. There were many lengthy, over-explained boring bits, of which the football match springs readily to mind! Plus there are far too many characters thrown into the mix to keep track of. Especially when even the author himself forgot who they were at times!

The typos were irritating (as always) but worse than that were the moments of illiteracy, as in the use of the word 'of' instead of have or 've, e.g. " I would of " should be " I would have " or " I would've ". I know that it is a common mistake made by a lot of today's youth (I blame their teachers) but I don't expect it from a 'writer'. It is incorrect and unacceptable in standard English. So there!

However, if you can forgive all of these things then the up side is that the story is pretty intriguing, albeit rather far-fetched at times and I have read far worse since owning my kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fogarty: A City of London Thriller
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews