Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE MORE FOR THE ROAD,ONE MORE TIME TO HEAR WAYLON!
The day Waylon Jennings died was a sad one for music,whether your bag is country or blues or folk or fine ballads.He certainly possessed the best voice country has ever had.Sure he was a rebel but he left a legacy of some of the finest popular music ever, not only in country.To many he was the singing voice behind tv's 'Dukes Of Hazzard'. Not too long before he sadly died...
Published 21 months ago by pete clack

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the Waylon we know and love
Goin down Rockin' The last Recording. This title is misleading in that there was no rocking on any of the tracks. When we first listened to this CD we thought it rather morbid, however after having played it several times we have second thoughts and think it a very nice album. It is advertised as previous unrecorded tracks, but we do have at least one of the tracks -...
Published 20 months ago by snikpoh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE MORE FOR THE ROAD,ONE MORE TIME TO HEAR WAYLON!, 11 Oct 2012
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
The day Waylon Jennings died was a sad one for music,whether your bag is country or blues or folk or fine ballads.He certainly possessed the best voice country has ever had.Sure he was a rebel but he left a legacy of some of the finest popular music ever, not only in country.To many he was the singing voice behind tv's 'Dukes Of Hazzard'. Not too long before he sadly died from diabetes complications he recorded the dozen songs that make up this set, in fact just him on acoustic guitar and Robby Turner on bass.Ten or so years have passed, and Turner got hold of Waylon's band and finished the album.This is no soft gentle acoustic set but a full blown brilliant album worthy of an artist of his standing,t. The voice was still strong,the quality of this set of self written songs equal to those he wrote throughout his careeer, the band are on great form throughout, and it's nice that we still have Waylon in there playing some tasty acoustic chords throughout.This album is superbly produced not as a memory of the great man,but a full blown album that will thrill and fan of him plus gain a load of new ones as well.He's so sadly gone but his musical legacy lives on and it's mighty fine. An album and the end produce of one of music's greatest, but what a way to go.Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still rocking, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
This is Waylon at his best, you would think that he was there with the band the music is so fresh. I read all the other reviews before buying this album and can agree with them entirely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT REMINDER, 11 Nov 2012
By 
P. Hill "Chips" (MIDLANDS,UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of the great man I was suprised to hear that there was one last album that was now available. Well upto the standard set by Waylon and shows just how upto date he was with his music.Not one sub standard track and the production and sound excellent.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great last hurrah, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. J. R. Slatcher (oxfordshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
There are several great songs on this final studio album. All but one are new, at least in this form - a few have been seen before on the Never Say Die live album, but around half have never been heard before. The album showcases the range of Waylon's style and voice with fast songs interspersed with ballads. It is not as great as Honkytonk Heroes, I've Always Been Crazy or the last studio album he released before his untimely death, the prophetic Closing In On The Fire, but those three take some living up to and this one certainly comes a close second to them, along with Lonesome On'ry and Mean, The Taker/Tulsa and Ramblin' Man, in my opinion. Well worth buying for the die-hard fan or the new introductee. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
My husband is a huge Waylon fan and this was a grest delight to him. Would recommend this to any Waylon Fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC !!!, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
if you like waylon and who doesnt ? buy this cd .its waylon at his very best . r.i.p. ol hoss !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance, 26 Jan 2013
By 
M. A. Dunnington (Stourbridge, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
I discovered Waylon Jennings when RCA promoted his material in the UK the late 60's - and I have bought everything that has been issued ever since. I wanted to write this review to thank those concerned for issuing these last recordings. They are superb, every track is pure Waylon - superbly recorded and a fine lasting tribute to a great artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
IT'S WAYLON NUFF SAID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waylon, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
We have lost a Great country singer.
I am a fan so I gave it five stars but,there are a couple of songs which are not Waylon at his best.
Enjoyed the album and,like all his albums I will be listening to them over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goin Down Rockin Waylon Jennings, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings (Audio CD)
Have been a Waylon fan since I first heard him singing in the Mick Jagger film Ned Kelly back in 1974. I have acquired most of his recordings and always thought this just gets better and better, but this CD I consider one of his finest, he comes over in such a relaxed way and is sung with real warmth. The greatest loss to country music, but will always be well remembered for a great voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings
Goin Down Rockin': The Last Recordings by Waylon Jennings (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews