Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Courier..!
Am a big fan of JD Morgan - he's ace in The Resident and Watchmen -and so was looking forward to this. He's great as the courier who's hired to deliver a mysterious case to an elusive killer played by Mickey Rourke.

The film opens with an incredibly exciting action sequence which had me on the edge of my seat. It's then a rollercoaster ride of twists and turns...
Published on 2 May 2012 by Jiffy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult review to write...
...because, as movies go, it was utter pants. I'm hoping that when the script came along it looked way more promising than it turned out to be. Perhaps it was poorly edited, I don't know, but I do know that it sucked like a big sucky thing. As a rule I usually try and avoid movies that feature Mickey Rourke. In my opinion he's made about three decent movies in his entire...
Published 18 months ago by trisha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult review to write..., 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Courier [DVD] (DVD)
...because, as movies go, it was utter pants. I'm hoping that when the script came along it looked way more promising than it turned out to be. Perhaps it was poorly edited, I don't know, but I do know that it sucked like a big sucky thing. As a rule I usually try and avoid movies that feature Mickey Rourke. In my opinion he's made about three decent movies in his entire career, most of the characters he plays are just too over the top for me, and that's certainly true of his role in 'The Courier'.

So why did I buy it, you might ask and why on earth would I award it three stars? The simple answer to that is Jeffrey Dean Morgan. 'The Courier' may have been dire but he gave it his all and even in a movie this awful his best never fails to be impressive. Also he looks so damn gorgeous in it that I'm pretty sure my ovaries went into meltdown.

So, in a nutshell, if you're a fan of Jeffrey Dean Morgan then this is well worth buying, if you're not then avoid it like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Courier..!, 2 May 2012
This review is from: The Courier [DVD] (DVD)
Am a big fan of JD Morgan - he's ace in The Resident and Watchmen -and so was looking forward to this. He's great as the courier who's hired to deliver a mysterious case to an elusive killer played by Mickey Rourke.

The film opens with an incredibly exciting action sequence which had me on the edge of my seat. It's then a rollercoaster ride of twists and turns as the courier sets out on his seemingly impossible mission.

On the whole I thought the directing was pretty taut and kept the action going. There's alot of great familiar faces in the supporting cast including
Til Schweiger from Inglorious Basterds, Lil Taylor and Miguel Ferrer - remember him from RoboCop?

I'd recommend to fans of riveting thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gritty but brainless action-movie, 27 Mar 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Courier [DVD] (DVD)
The Courier features Jeffrey Dean Morgan (The Losers) as The Courier, a man who is renowned in the business for being able to find the person you need and deliver whatever it is you need dropped off. He doesn't ask questions or judge who is right or wrong, he just delivers.

When a couple of Russian Mafioso's give him a case bound for the notorious gangster Evil Sevil, his initial inquiries all result in horror that someone would want to find Evil Sevil in the first place. Most warn him to stay away, including his long-time handler, boxing-coach Stitch, but when the Courier hears about Maxwell (Mickey Rourke - Iron Man 2) who used to be friends with Sevil things start to fall in to place, but does the Courier really want to find out who Sevil is?

Well, where to begin? I was upset to see JDM in this, I thought he had a promising career but this is a last-chancer's stop. Mickey Rourke has become something of a B-movie fiend in the last few years and has already dropped a few clangers (ever see Killshot? Don't.) Anyhow, the script in this thing is laughable, The Courier's handler is a retired boxing coach, stereotypically Irish, small & white-haired, it's cliché and unimaginative and his main concern seems to be setting the Courier up with a woman which he feels the best situation for them to get together in would be a high-stakes shoot-out so naturally sends her along on the mission with the Courier.

We see the Courier is a dab-hand at hacking, like incredibly good - a few keystrokes and he is into most governmental departments (Louisiana State Police Department, drivers registry etc etc) One might ask why he even bothers with the risky delivery business when he has skills that would earn him far more from the safety of home. There are nonsensical scenes - a woman is thrown off a roller-coaster, bound at the wrists, and JDM catches her but with a sudden stop which doesn't dislocate both of her shoulders, she is completely fine...

Mickey Rourke is shot from behind whispering something about coming back the entire time and then when he finally shows up, you'll probably wish he hadn't it's just so laughable. Look, I'm going to leave it there, I could go on about why this film isn't worth your time or your money, but I think you get the point. Probably best to give this one a wide-berth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Courier [DVD] (DVD)
This is possibly the worst film I have ever watched.Nothing to recommend it at all-A total waste of screen time!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE GATEWAY TO UNDERSTANDING IS PAIN, 21 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Courier is similar to "Transporter" with maybe a touch of "The Usual Suspects." The Courier(Jeffrey Dean Morgan) lives and works in New Orleans and appears to live well below his means. He does have a magic Hollywood watch that makes countdown noises only when a camera is on it.

The Courier is made an offer he can't refuse. He has 60 hours to deliver a case to Evil Sivle a notorious hit man people said had died and was brought back to life by voodoo so he can take back what was once his. His whereabouts is unknown. The Courier is aided by street smart Anna (Josie Ho) who is not his usual partner.

Mickey Rourke plays Maxwell a man connected to Evil Sivle, whose face is obscured for most of the film. Morgan comes across as scruffy Morton Downey jr.

As the plots develops and the body count increases, the Courier discovers this is not an easy task as Evil Sivle is "the last face that men see". Evil is just a state of mind we are told.

The ending is supposed to tie the mystery together. It does, but leaves you scratching your head like just watched the ending of "Smokin' Aces." The film had all the parts of a crime/action/mystery/thriller, but fails to bring it all together.

F-bombs, no sex, no nudity. Torture. 3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What a waste, 17 April 2012
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Courier, The (Blu-ray)
The best thing about this blu ray is the picture quality which is excellent. Other than that it is a total waste of Jeffrey Dean Morgan who I was starting to like and another deserving B movie nail in the coffin of Mickey Rourke. JDM plays a courier who will deliver anything anywhere (Transporter anyone?). He is forced against his wishes to deliver a case to a legendary killer called Evil Sivle only no one knows what he looks like or where he is and everyone linked to him is dying. Now the courier is a detective and all round action hero as he tries to track him before his time limit expires. There's a twist in the tail but you'll see it coming. There are some reasonably good action set pieces and a rather nasty torture scene but overall this is one to miss.
This blu ray has a default German soundtrack but its easy to select English and 'Film starten' must be obvious to even the most linguistically challenged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant film, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Courier [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant film completely different to what i expected but absolutly brilliant i would recommend this to lots of people often
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Courier [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
9.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews