Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not So Much A Masterpiece As Painting-by-Numbers
Having been disappointed at missing Gambit when it was on at my local cinema a few months ago, I have now at last got round to watching it on DVD. My main criteria for watching this particular film is that I am an avid `Rickmaniac' (Alan Rickman fan) and, having got most of his films/TV work on DVD, felt I owed it to my allegiance to add this one too!

So, as...
Published on 15 Mar. 2013 by Sevvysgirl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An unnecessary remake
This loose remake of the 1966 comedy starring Michael Caine and Shirley MacLaine seems to make frequent references to "Pink Panther" material, from the opening titles to the obvious recycling of classic gags: the trouser-less man, the naked man in an everyday situation, the haughty hotel clerks, the stereotyped Japanese businessman, and so on. Some familiar names...
Published 22 months ago by Dolphin


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit (Amazon Instant Video)
My missus loved it but I fell asleep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Has Colin Firth Fallen on Hard Times ?, 11 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
What an appalling mess of a film, was Colin Firth desperate for a crust acting in this rubbish, to even connect it to it,s namesake from the 1960,s is an insult. How an actor such as this producing such top quality work such as THE KINGS SPEECH can drop to this level is beyond me, and who ever puts all that ridiculous hype on the outside of the box is certainly skilled in the art of deception, in the bin it goes, I should have looked at the AMAZON reviews more carefully they are always worth taking note of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
By 
J. Bethell "jabeth" (Worthing , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
Good family ebtertainment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gambit, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
Sat down to watch this film after hearinf all the hype about it. Not a film I will be watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Implementing An Art Con Job, 23 July 2014
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
I rented the Gambit movie from redbox at a cheap price while simultaneously unsure of how much I would enjoy it. Much to my surprise, the film was even better than I thought. This film centers around an art dealer’s attempts to sell a fake painting to a very wealthy businessman. He feels justified in doing this because of the businessman’s ruthless nature. However, from my perspective,the film plays with the question of does two wrongs really make a right?, and that people are not often how they appear on the outside (can’t always judge a book by its cover adage). Alan Rickman, Colin Firth, Stanley Tucci, and Cameron Diaz star in The Gambit movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gambit [DVD] (DVD)
Not watched yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 811 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gambit [DVD]
Gambit [DVD] by Michael Hoffman (DVD - 2013)
£4.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews