Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of the boogie man
Sinister tells the story of a crime writer who moves his family into a house that turns out to be the scene of a brutal murder of the previous family. The locals including the sherriff don't want them there and it soon becomes clear that there is something very wrong with the house and an evil sinister prescence is lurking. A slow but tense and creepy build up, excellent...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark and disturbing...
Not quite a three star film but not a four either! Sinister has quite a good plot overall with a few twists and turns but I think that it could have been a whole lot better if the studio didn't build in the intention of a sequel. Reasonably well acted and with a few good 'jump' scenes it is quite a disturbing film overall. I found the DVD transfer to be a little dark and...
Published 4 months ago by P. F. Cope


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of the boogie man, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sinister [DVD] (DVD)
Sinister tells the story of a crime writer who moves his family into a house that turns out to be the scene of a brutal murder of the previous family. The locals including the sherriff don't want them there and it soon becomes clear that there is something very wrong with the house and an evil sinister prescence is lurking. A slow but tense and creepy build up, excellent performances especially from Ethan Hawke in the lead role builds up into a genuinely terrifying film and an instant horror classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sinister, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Ben (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sinister [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Finally a horror film that packs a punch and delivers on the hype.

Sinister is a very unsettling, disturbing and scary film.

From the very opening shot you know this film is going to be a ride. I found certain sequences in the movie extremely disturbing and some images were burned onto my subconscious memory long after the film had finished. This is a true horror film in the sense that there are a few jump scares but it does not rely on them which is refreshing and it is not a total gore-fest. It balances the two very well and delivers a very tense atmosphere with some harrowing images.

Ethan Hawke is good, he carries the film confidently as he delivers a very convincing performance. I happily watched him for the entire duration of the film and didn't find myself taken out of the film due to bad acting, which is rare in horror films nowadays.

The Blu Ray is good. Sharp images and some great moments for the surround sound. Not much to add.

This film successfully mixes the POV "Found Footage" style horror with the traditional narrative. Fans of the found footage genre will enjoy this but more importantly those who aren't fans of the genre might find this style works better for them as it blends both styles effectively.

I regard myself as a very hardened horror viewer and I am not easily scared...
When I got home after the cinema, I was spooked. I found myself closing my blinds and turning on all the lights.

Fresh horror, not exactly breaking new ground but it's a welcome change.
Not a particularly pleasant viewing, Sinister accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do.

Good, solid horror film.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well executed horror, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinister [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
While this film uses many of the usual horror staples, it executes them with such skill that everything is bestowed a new terror. The main character is, as in all such films, prone to unwise action, but his motives are well presented, and in fact all the characters, for their limited interactions, feel refreshingly intelligent.

This was my first horror movie in full HD, and I was blown away by the video quality. Even with its many dark scenes, the picture is beautiful and crisp (with the exception of a few projector sequences which are left intentionally grainy). Surround sound definitely enhances the scare factor, and the film's eerie soundtrack can be just as unsettling as the disturbing footage Ellison finds in his attic.

If you're going to watch one "haunted house" movie, let it be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Very' Sinister, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinister [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sinister is a well written and acted film from start to finish, which does not go for gross-out horror but good old build ups of suspense and scares, crafting an almost dark perpetual, yep - 'sinister' atmosphere throughout. Add some very creepy sound effects and music, and what you have is one of the best 'scare' movies for sometime. If you are watching on your own late at night be ready for a very sinister investigation into some very gruesome murders and be prepared for some very nerve-shredding scares throughout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD CHILLER, 19 Feb 2013
This review is from: Sinister [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I like the way this movie unfolds.It's creepy with a suitably sinister score and looks & sounds great.One to watch horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark and disturbing..., 17 Mar 2014
By 
P. F. Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sinister [DVD] (DVD)
Not quite a three star film but not a four either! Sinister has quite a good plot overall with a few twists and turns but I think that it could have been a whole lot better if the studio didn't build in the intention of a sequel. Reasonably well acted and with a few good 'jump' scenes it is quite a disturbing film overall. I found the DVD transfer to be a little dark and indistinct in places despite watching it via a good upscaling player and decent TV. It was worth watching but glad that we borrowed this from our daughter instead of buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best horror Ive seen for a while., 2 Feb 2013
This review is from: Sinister [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is about a family who move into a house where it has a terrifying past, the father is a writer and wants to report on the unexplained mystery of a child who went missing and the rest of the family being brutally murdered.
When moving in he discovers an old projector with films of brutal murders and starts to research into the truth of what is really been happening but the truth is far more sinister than he realises.
This is not your ordinary mind numbing horror this film has depth and keeps you on the edge of the seat throughout, people may think yeah same old story family move into house, strange things happen bla bla bla, this film has so much more that that and has a great twist.
I love this film it has everything a horror needs and without a doubt would be in my top ten horror films ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely scary and creepy piece of supernatural horror film, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sinister [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoyed Insidious, then you will definitely like Sinister. It is extremely scary and a well delivered piece of supernatural horror film. The cinema hall was packed. There were scary expressions on faces. The film shows plenty of terrifying and edge of the seat moments. The contents are graphical. It is about a family, who move in a new house. This house unfolds a haunted past. The house once belonged to a family who were abducted and murdered. One of the members is reported missing. Crime writer Ellison (Ethan Hawke) uses the events as the main material in the latest novel. He put his job before the family. The family lives are at risk. The author gets to the bottom of the matter. This could make or break his career as an author.

Sinister contains a mixture of psychological and horrifying moments. The first hour builds up the plot. A picture emerges of the scale and nature of the murdered family through camera footage in the attic viewed by the author and talking to experts. The images are extremely disturbing and scary. The second hour features a chain of events in the house. This includes ghostly images and creepy noises in the house. These moments keep you on the edge. Does it solve the mystery surrounding the horrific murders? The dark atmosphere and isolated surroundings create a strong impact in the film. The characters are quite well developed. The film gives you an insight of a crime writer and how the career can impact on family life. This adds depth to the film.

The quality of horror films have shown remarkable improvements in terms of ideas. Sinister joins the list. It creates a cinematic experience to enjoy and keep you glued to the screen, as you never know what to expect. It is cleverly directed. The tone is swiftly set, without delays in the opening sequences. I enjoyed Sinister. If you like supernatural horror films, then I would recommend watching Sinister. It is a good example of what a supernatural horror film should entail and profoundly achieve with the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hiding Behind the Sofa, 6 April 2014
By 
Glyn Morris (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sinister [DVD] (DVD)
Ethan Hawke holds his nerve as he uncovers a tale of murder, mystery and madness inducing terror.
The tension doesn't get to build as it grabs you by the throat from scene one and holds on until you hit the pause button to take a break.
If the family and their own breakdown had been elaborated upon I would have given the extra star and the movie could have supported an extra ten minutes to explore this, but Hawke holds us glued to the screen, dragging us along where common sense tells us otherwise.
Put the kids to bed, tuck them in very tight and watch Sinister alone in the dark. If alone you really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad!, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinister [DVD] (DVD)
Not a bad film for a light horror-not too heavy on the blood and gore.If you need something better than the cheesy trash that the TV channels are showing,than this a a good one to go for-try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sinister [Blu-ray]
Sinister [Blu-ray] by Scott Derrickson (Blu-ray - 2013)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews