Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars438
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 December 2015
Finally a great new horror movie and the creation of a true horror character! It's been a long time since there was any original horror movie but this is up there, is it a little bit slow at times? Yes to somer. But I felt the tone of the movie is fantastic, a family with issues, a character with his problems and all this works to make you think.

The acting throughout is good, Ethan hawke does well at showing the character progress deeper and darker as the movie goes. It provided us with a few jumps and unexpected moments which we thoroughly enjoyed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sinister is a creepy horror film but to be honest with you it could of been so much more better.

For me the soundtrack has been one of the most haunting I have ever heard, it was so spooky, and Ethan Hawke was quality in his role, and I loved the sinister video footage, and you could say I was looking forward to the outcome, but the ending was a big let down and i was hoping for better, all I remember thinking, is that it?.

The Blu-ray was very nice it gets a 4/5, plus the surround sound was awesome which made the film scary.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
Unfortunately I didn't personally find that this film lived up to some of the reviews on here. I was well put together and broadly well acted, particularly the lead role. The tension builds well during the first half of the film, but as the events unfold into the supernatural element of the plot I think it was poorly executed. On the premise that the things you don't see are often the most scary, the inclusion of the CGI characters hugely detracted from the suspense and tension.

Whilst the overall conclusion of the film is descriptively chilling, its actual portrayal was poor in my opinion and didn't have sufficient build up to make it at all scary. The film needed to either develop the child character in terms of the 'possession' phenomenon, or else make a far better job of it being a surprise ending. What I think they did here is something in between, whilst including the apparent actions of a malevolent and supernatural being which has had only minimal explanation and development too. This made the final quarter of the film very ineffective.

I real shame in my opinion, as the film builds well for the most part. But it just ends up being a mixture of a serial killer pursuit / paranormal investigation / possession horror and it doesn't really do any one of these sufficient justice to make the overall film an effective package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Surprisngly decent moder horror fillm, starring Ethan Hawke as a true crime writer who purposely moves into a house where a massacre took place in order to research it. Unfortunetly for Hawke this case isn't as straight as it seems and the paranormal seems to be at large.

Sinister is heavy on atmosphere and has some genuine jump scenes. It never bores is acted well by all and all in all is an effective chiller. Never contrived, fancy that good horror films can still be found today.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
This film is about a family who move into a house where it has a terrifying past, the father is a writer and wants to report on the unexplained mystery of a child who went missing and the rest of the family being brutally murdered.
When moving in he discovers an old projector with films of brutal murders and starts to research into the truth of what is really been happening but the truth is far more sinister than he realises.
This is not your ordinary mind numbing horror this film has depth and keeps you on the edge of the seat throughout, people may think yeah same old story family move into house, strange things happen bla bla bla, this film has so much more that that and has a great twist.
I love this film it has everything a horror needs and without a doubt would be in my top ten horror films ever seen.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
We have a relatively sparse, though carefully chosen, horror collection all of it being psychological rather than slasher gore fests. Without doubt, `The Grudge' is still our scariest film (nothing should come for you under the duvet - it's just wrong) but `Sinister' comes pretty close, probably on a par with `The Ring'.

The story revolves around a stubborn and selfish author struggling to write another true crime mystery ten years after his last and only best seller. He drags his poor family to live at the site of an unexplained family murder and, after finding some of super 8 films in the loft he starts to investigate the sinister goings-on. This could quite easily have been a cobbling together of stock-in-trade horror shocks, but the assured direction and excellent cast (including Vincent D'Onofrio's unaccredited cameo) create an absorbingly creepy atmosphere while the carefully managed pace and tension make for some splendid edge-of-your-seat jump moments (and there are plenty).

It is all very silly of course but that doesn't stop this being one of the best horrors of its type around and is well deserved of a place in our select little horror collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
The idea and some moments are so scary and intriguing that remind me of the best David Lynch's moments.
In fact it could have been better, but I must say it's a very dark, black, almost cursed story. And you sympathize with Ethan Hawke, and his gradual and inevitable descent to the terrible secret mystery of the story.
Sinister is probably the best and most original horror of last years, along with The Pact.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I don't know why I was unimpressed by Sinister: perhaps I wasn't paying sufficient attention. Ethan Hawke isn't my favourite leading man, but he did very well in this role: he was very convincing. The same for the rest of the cast.I'm sorry I was negative about this film - and although I did find the spirits of the children not wholly effective the closing moments of the film really did give me the creeps.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
If you enjoyed Insidious, then you will definitely like Sinister. It is extremely scary and a well delivered piece of supernatural horror film. The cinema hall was packed. There were scary expressions on faces. The film shows plenty of terrifying and edge of the seat moments. The contents are graphical. It is about a family, who move in a new house. This house unfolds a haunted past. The house once belonged to a family who were abducted and murdered. One of the members is reported missing. Crime writer Ellison (Ethan Hawke) uses the events as the main material in the latest novel. He put his job before the family. The family lives are at risk. The author gets to the bottom of the matter. This could make or break his career as an author.

Sinister contains a mixture of psychological and horrifying moments. The first hour builds up the plot. A picture emerges of the scale and nature of the murdered family through camera footage in the attic viewed by the author and talking to experts. The images are extremely disturbing and scary. The second hour features a chain of events in the house. This includes ghostly images and creepy noises in the house. These moments keep you on the edge. Does it solve the mystery surrounding the horrific murders? The dark atmosphere and isolated surroundings create a strong impact in the film. The characters are quite well developed. The film gives you an insight of a crime writer and how the career can impact on family life. This adds depth to the film.

The quality of horror films have shown remarkable improvements in terms of ideas. Sinister joins the list. It creates a cinematic experience to enjoy and keep you glued to the screen, as you never know what to expect. It is cleverly directed. The tone is swiftly set, without delays in the opening sequences. I enjoyed Sinister. If you like supernatural horror films, then I would recommend watching Sinister. It is a good example of what a supernatural horror film should entail and profoundly achieve with the audience.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
I have to say I haven't seen that many great movies lately. This was well written, well acted and well thought out. I think it deserves 3 stars for that at least. The movie is about a writer who moves his family into a house that was the scene of a family who got murdered and a child from that family who vanished without a trace. The writer is trying to write a book and gather information the police may have missed for the book. He finds a box of old super 8 films in the attic and starts watching them and then strange occurrences and noises start happening around the property. He turns to whiskey and you can see him slowly starting to lose it as the story and events continue and different murders start to get linked in with this one. There is a few light suspenseful moments in this movie but no real horror, no graphic detail and a 2 minute scene with very little profanity / inferred profanity so you could even let the kids watch this if you wanted to.

Spoiler Alert:

If you're like me and like a story with a happy ending.. don't bother...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)