Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent script, perfect performances, forget any negative reviews
This is the first time I have ever rushed to put a review on Amazon, simply because I wanted to counter some of the many negative reviews about this film.
I purchased this movie because it was cheap but had actors I admire in it - assuming rather cynically that it would be OK but nothing more.
Wrong!!!
Firstly, this is the most intelligent script I've...
Published 7 months ago by Ianesco

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
Very disappointed with this film. I was surprised as I like and have always highly rated Meryl Streep. As hard as she did act it was a no goer. Terrible script. You could not class it as a comedy or anything else. Tommy Lee Jones is a very good actor but the two just didn't work there was no chemistry they didn't look like a married couple. My husband watched it with me...
Published 6 months ago by Anne Powis


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent script, perfect performances, forget any negative reviews, 18 April 2014
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first time I have ever rushed to put a review on Amazon, simply because I wanted to counter some of the many negative reviews about this film.
I purchased this movie because it was cheap but had actors I admire in it - assuming rather cynically that it would be OK but nothing more.
Wrong!!!
Firstly, this is the most intelligent script I've watched in ages - totally unpredictable, totally real, sparse, taught and non-wordy - Vanessa Taylor, we need more from you.
Secondly, the performances are probably the best that Streep and Lee Jones have ever given - the greatest test of an actor's skill is to ask them to play 'ordinary people', and both of them make these characters so real it hurts. In particular, playing 'awkward' can feel stagey with even the best of actors - Streep and Lee Jones on the other hand make you totally identify with their situation.
If you don't like the idea of anyone over 40 having sex, you won't like this film (and I suspect many of the press reviewers fall into this category)
On the other hand, if you've lived life and found sex and love to be wonderful, if complicated, and - duh! - have actually worked out that one day you'll be older and have less skin elasticity too, then you'll love this movie.
Cook yourself a nice dinner, open a decent bottle of wine and just sit back and enjoy this movie which I personally found to be a real gem.
And shame on the Oscar people for not nominating it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intensive Counseling, 10 April 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
Hope Springs was a surprising film. A small film dealing with feelings, what was and what might be. Meryl Strrep stars as Kay, a wife who wants her marriage back. Tommy Lee Jones, plays her husband, Arnold. He is fine, no problems, does not want to discuss feelings, repressed and probably depressed.

Kay, purchases a week of Intensive Counseling for Arnold and herself in Maine. She uses funds she has saved, she Really wants to save her marriage. Arnold very reluctantly accompanies her, but he is adamant he won't share. Steve Carell plays the therapist, a very even tempered therapist who does not put up with any bull#%^*. He moves the two of them along, and it is a sight to behold. Sometimes funny, often emotional and always so well done. Streep plays the part to a 'T', but it is Tommy Lee Jones who surprises us. He plays a much deeper, quiet side, but is the star of this show. I can see so many people after thirty one years of marriage who would benefit from this film, maybe married five years , need the lessons learned.

Recommended. prisrob 04-10-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Nov 2012
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
It makes you laugh, cry and think, which I find rare in comedies about relationships and sex. The movie does a wonderful job of showing how difficult it can be to relate to each other emotionally and physically, but it does so in a lovely, enjoyable, touching and non-depressed way. Not to mention the acting, which is brilliant and seriously funny. One of my favourite movies of the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Feelbad Film of the Year - Blu Ray Review, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
Fed up with the rut of suffocating mid life mediocrity her marriage is stuck in Kay books a week with a couples specialist in Maine for herself & crotchety husband Arnold.
Once there they must struggle with their inhibitions and years of reserve in order to reignite the love they once shared.
As usual Hollywood doesn't know what to do with something well written & serious so this is sold as some sort of romantic comedy. It's not.
There are funny moments but they are subtle and tinged with remorse and pain.

That this works at all is largely thanks to a chemistry between Streep & Jones that works beautifully. They portray two people who have grown 'comfortable' with each other & have allowed the spark to go out of the marriage. They are the epitome of 'going through the motions'.

Kay is willing to try & open up but Arnold see's no reason for change and dismisses the whole week as a waste of time & money.

As a tight fisted grouch Tommy-Lee Jones is pitch perfect. No over acting, a subtle scowl or barely heard remark are often enough to show his displeasure while Meryl Streeps Kay is desperate to see improvement and Streep portrays her pain & frustration with a fragility that is very moving. Beneath the submissive surface though lies a determination that slowly highlights that if she & Arnold fail here she may well be prepared to reconsider her future.

As the therapist Steve Carell plays it totally straight. Absolutely no humour and a quietly spoken catalyst for change.

This avoids just about every feel good movie trope there is, no gags or lazy jokes, virtually no one else but the three main characters, no rushing around to take in every bit of scenery. In fact it is only the well placed use of music that reflects anything of the usual romcom menu.

Alongside the first class acting is tight, unindulgent directing & a superb script that will have no few couples 'of a certain age' shifting uncomfortably in our seats. It's just so easy to head off down this road and very difficult to find your way back. The pain involved is laid bare and as the final reel begins you really don't know if Kay b& Arnold are going to make it.

The Blu-Ray picture is crisp and lifelike. The sound is well focused on the centre so that speech is crystal clear and Arnolds grumbling is easier to make out. The odd musical overlay can be a bit loud but it doesn't compete with dialogue so doesn't really matter.

The extra's are fine & include the obligatory commentary, a pleasant enough gag reel a quick interview with a couples therapist, ( had he been included on the commentary then it could have been worth a listen), Steve cCarrell being a bit unfunny & Streep & Jones looking uncomfortable while eulogising about one another.

This should have been just another unfunny comedy, it should have been neither as realistic nor as painful and surely the pairing of Streep & Jones the daftest casting choice for ages? Instead it all works & so we have one of 2012's best movies that went by virtually unnoticed. A real beauty that I suspect will become something of a cult classic amongst it's fans in years to come.

Not sure if the Blu-Ray is necessary? There's no spectacular visuals to get worked up about & the sound is 99% dialogue. The extra's are nice to have but hardly groundbreaking.

Whatever format you choose doesn't really matter. This rates as among the very best work either actor has done and it's documentary like approach to a marriage on the edge of disaster/ redemption is Impeccably observed & while hardly feelgood stuff, an acting masterclass.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, 30 Sep 2012
By 
O. HILL "Oliver Hill" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
This film could be shown the world over, dubbed into all the languages of the world, since it deals with the universal man/woman relationship once the honeymoon/ romantic stages of a relationship are well and truly over - and in this story the kids have left home and are starting their own families.
Tommy Lee Jones is excellent as the husband, and Meryl Streep superb as the initially rather timid and dutiful wife - but she feels that there should be more going on in her marriage - err like some fun and excitement. She actually wants a relationship!
The film 'East is East' comes to mind since that touches on marital problems - the husband-wife in that film would have done well to go and see the couples therapist in 'Hope Springs'.
Touching, funny, the film goes into all the untalked about intimate areas of the couple relationship.
Whilst the problems which this couple have do not involve domestic violence, alcohol or drug abuse etc their problems are sufficiently deep and engaging for the majority of the general population to feel drawn into their world and get really hooked.
I would recommend it for any couple to go and see at the cinema. I will buy the DVD when it comes out since I wish to see it again - there are also bits I sort of missed first time round eg some little humorous touches from the knowing waitress in the local cafe in Hope Springs.
Nice to see couples therapy in action. The therapist has the training and skill to get right in there. Fascinationg to watch. Masterful. Well done to all concerned for making this excellent film. It is heartwarming and educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended to those in long-term relationships only, 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
Billed as a romantic comedy, this features a married couple, presumably in their early 50s, whose relationship has become predictable and decidedly unromantic. Most of the story happens as they undergo 'couples counselling'.

There are a few great one-liners in this film, although the comedy is somewhat bittersweet The characters of Arnold (Tommy Lee Jones) and Kaye (Meryl Streep) seemed all too realistic to me; one of the extras on the DVD stated that probably every long-married couple can relate to at least some parts of their relationship, that may be partly why some people find this uncomfortable viewing.

My husband and I both enjoyed the film, which is quite thought-provoking at times, although we both felt that it should have been rated 15 rather than 12. While there’s no nudity, very little bad language and nothing overtly explicit, there’s a great deal that’s implied, which I would not want a 12-year-old seeing. Having said that, I doubt if this would appeal much to anyone under the age of at least 30.

There are several extras, mostly variations on the making of the film, including some different takes that were not used, one amusing deleted scene, and a lot of commentary.

I’d recommend this, in a guarded way, to couples who have been together for a while, whether or not they have any problems; it’s a thought-provoking script and a very different kind of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very disappointed with this film. I was surprised as I like and have always highly rated Meryl Streep. As hard as she did act it was a no goer. Terrible script. You could not class it as a comedy or anything else. Tommy Lee Jones is a very good actor but the two just didn't work there was no chemistry they didn't look like a married couple. My husband watched it with me but had enough after half an hour then left the room I watched it to the end hoping it would improve! Stay away from this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud comedy??? Not for me, 1 Mar 2013
By 
H. Taylor "Can't beat a good read" (Malvern, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm early 50s, appreciate the story the film was telling but I didn't really think it was a comedy. There were some moments that were worthy of a chuckle but not as the trailers say 'laugh out loud'. I like Meryl Streep but not this film - I thought she was much better and funnier in 'It's Complicated' - now that really was 'laugh out loud' Does anyone want to buy a used once only DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHO IN HERE IS NOT HAVING SEX?, 18 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
In the first 10 minute of the film, you have established character with your two major actors. This is what a movie is supposed to do. It was refreshing to witness actors, director, and screen writer all come together in a professional manner. The only reason I mention this is because too many films out there are having trouble with this. These guys made it look easy.

Arnold (Tommy Lee Jones) and Kay (Meryl Streep) have been married for 31 years. They are in a routine which most of us call "a rut." Kay opts to save the marriage, one that Arnold is unaware is in trouble, by going to a marriage counselor played by an unfunny Steven Carrell. Arnold hates the idea, and reluctantly goes with.

The movie takes place in the quaint Maine coastal town of Norwalk, Conn. It is a feel good movie that has its ups and downs. The comedy, plot, and drama are light in order to generate a feeling. The film was done extremely well, one that I would say was worthy of Oscar nomination, but not necessarily winning. I will also add, it really wasn't my cup of tea, but I can't fault the film. I had to keep reminding myself Tommy Lee Jones was not named "Kay" in this film as he was in three previous pictures (MIB Agent K).

Mimi Rogers, who is mentioned in the credits, is on screen for about 10 seconds near the end.

Parental Guide: No nudity or F-bombs. The language is somewhat PG. There are sex scenes, including oral where everyone is fully clothed. The sex talk uses PG type language i.e. "oral sex" as opposed to "BJ."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant a must see, 22 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
laughter and crying some parts one for couples no matter how long they have been togther.a real feel good film iam going to get this one when it comes out loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hope Springs [Blu-ray]
Hope Springs [Blu-ray] by David Frankel (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews