Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent script, perfect performances, forget any negative reviews
This is the first time I have ever rushed to put a review on Amazon, simply because I wanted to counter some of the many negative reviews about this film.
I purchased this movie because it was cheap but had actors I admire in it - assuming rather cynically that it would be OK but nothing more.
Wrong!!!
Firstly, this is the most intelligent script I've...
Published 3 months ago by Ianesco

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud comedy??? Not for me
I'm early 50s, appreciate the story the film was telling but I didn't really think it was a comedy. There were some moments that were worthy of a chuckle but not as the trailers say 'laugh out loud'. I like Meryl Streep but not this film - I thought she was much better and funnier in 'It's Complicated' - now that really was 'laugh out loud' Does anyone want to buy a...
Published 17 months ago by H. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good enjoyable film, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
Like both actors, good storyline enjoyable. Like both actors, good storyline enjoyable. Nice to see the US office star in a little more engaging film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present for my daughter, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
bought this for my daughter as she had seen the trailer for it and as she likes meryl streep i thought i would treat her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 6 Jun 2014
By 
J. Wooller (Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
Watchable. A bit twee and predictable for me. I'm a Meryl fan, she rarely disappoints but this just left me unmoved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Lee Jones is so good, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
- and so funny. Film is worth it for him alone. And of course it is a joy to see Meryl Streep - she just makes me smile in this! Look out for the marriage counsellor, and the dynamics between the characters, it will warm your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
We thoroughly enjoyed this movie, it had everything, and typically Meryl Streep is superb in it - a great movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film review, 17 May 2014
By 
H. Aitchison "Rosco" (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
Quick response from seller. Ordered on Monday arrived on Friday the very day I wanted to watch it!! New condition and good value for the money in spite of paying postage. A film worth watching, funny in places but also true to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very disappointed with this film. I was surprised as I like and have always highly rated Meryl Streep. As hard as she did act it was a no goer. Terrible script. You could not class it as a comedy or anything else. Tommy Lee Jones is a very good actor but the two just didn't work there was no chemistry they didn't look like a married couple. My husband watched it with me but had enough after half an hour then left the room I watched it to the end hoping it would improve! Stay away from this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars unexpected, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
was recommended this as a 30th wedding anniversary present and it was v funny but interesting too. v well acted and enjoyable film which made me laugh so all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golf widows, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
Any golf widows out there this is so funny to sit and watch with the hubby! He might get the message!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] (DVD)
Highly recommended for those who love a good romance with lots of heartwarming moments. The story stays with you for some time afterwards, which proves its a good story, and has quality actors and actresses to give it added clout. Well-worth purchasing for my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hope Springs (2012) [DVD]
Hope Springs (2012) [DVD] by David Frankel (DVD - 2013)
3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews