Customer Reviews


250 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grip tight to your seats!
Season 3 is not a long drawn out extrusion of a popular TV show, but it is simply the best yet. The writing gets better and the loss of a major character is handled well. Every episode was riveting! Don't watch too many episodes back to back or it makes you walk funny...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Stephen Redman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazons 'THE WALKING DEAD'? or perhaps 'WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?'?
Being as how this is a product review, thcs is a review of the 'product', as in the product we're being sold and not a review the show itself (which I'm hooked on and would give a 5 star rating).

It is my opinion that Amazon instant is one of the greediest subscriptions I've ever had the displeasure to be tricked into and it makes me seething mad when the...
Published 1 day ago by Dave, London


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grip tight to your seats!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season 3 is not a long drawn out extrusion of a popular TV show, but it is simply the best yet. The writing gets better and the loss of a major character is handled well. Every episode was riveting! Don't watch too many episodes back to back or it makes you walk funny...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazons 'THE WALKING DEAD'? or perhaps 'WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?'?, 27 July 2014
Being as how this is a product review, thcs is a review of the 'product', as in the product we're being sold and not a review the show itself (which I'm hooked on and would give a 5 star rating).

It is my opinion that Amazon instant is one of the greediest subscriptions I've ever had the displeasure to be tricked into and it makes me seething mad when the 'product' on offer is such a blatant ripoff and I'm sick of big companies like this one which bends everyone over to screw as much money out of them as possible, and here's why:

When Amazon took over LOVE film our subscriptions increased by what I and many other subscribers would agree was a substantial amount. Then after these substantial increases they decided to add a lot more content that we have to pay extra for. What then is the fairly hefty increased subscriptions for if not better quality or increased options in programs? Is anyone else feeling duped? Many of us have noticed little to no benefit from this greedy corporate takeover. LOVE film was far from perfect, but we did not have to pause a moment to check if it was 'in' our subscriptions. Congratulations Amazon... you ruined LOVE film!!!

That's not all, because the crowning turd in this sh*t pipe is that the 'extras' which are not included in the inflated subscription charges are so unrealistically overpriced that you would have to have more money than sense to want to pay for it. For example, rite now (July 2014) Season 5 of 'CHEERS' would cost you in excess of over 50! Oh, and the best bit is that once you're paid this ludicrous price you may then only download it to a maximum of two devices. It's utter greed on the part of Amazon. They won't even send you a hard copy in the post and even SKY T.V does that!

I saw a box set of 'THE WALKING DEAD - SEASON 3' in the supermarket this week at the standard price of 15. I know that is the standard price and that there is a profit made on that price because I work for them, and the best thing is that you do not need to be connected to the internet to view it and I can use the discs in more than a maximum of two players. Isn't that wonderful? So why does Amazon think that it's fair that after our monthly subscriptions we should be happy to pay 25.99 for this ' product'?

Amazon, who do you think you are?. It is my opinion and the opinion of many others that your business practice is utterly disgusting and demonstrates an overwhelming greed and a shows a total contempt for your customers. Did you not learn the lessons of HMV?, which at least sells tangeable products, and which you ironically had a major hand in bringing about a downfall of because you could undercut their prices. Ringing any bells? Walking dead for 25.99? A rethink perhaps? No? Okay. What a scrappy 'product'. You've attempted to shaft subscribers again. I bought it in the end at the supermarket and as I've already said I love the show. But please avoid buying this show on Amazon prime instant, and if you are sick of this over inflated crap they're forcing down our necks then there Is an alternative... NETFLIX!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars walking dead season 3, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am not a horror or zombie fan, but tried this because I remember Andrew Lincoln from This Life and have enjoyed much of his work since. I was intrigued by the first series and particularly liked many of the supporting cast and their journeys. The cast have been universally strong. David Morrissey, like Lincoln, another reliable, charismatic actor steals the series. Michael Rooker as Merle gives an impressive performance managing to make a completely unsympathetic character sympathetic. He and Norman Reedus give huge depth to their relationship and the abusive childhoods that formed their personalities. Reedus in particular is outstanding, allowing his character to develop throughout the 3 series, changing from troubled, aggressive outsider to Lincoln's right-hand man and trusted advisor, fighting to protect the group which has become his first real family. Reedus also shows a very complex and sweet relationship with Carol, Melissa McBride, which emerged from the loss of Sophia, illustrating the vulnerability under the aggression. McBride is amazing in this role, a scene with Reedus in season 2 where she physically recoils from his verbal blows (spoken through fear of his feelings for her) and which is reflective of her abusive marriage is stunning. It also shows that she has found a kindred spirit, someone who has also been abused, and will not give up on him. The relationship strengthens in season 3 and Carol becomes tougher and more independent. Why McBride is hidden away in guest star status is a mystery to me. her character has always been stronger and more interesting than the irritating Lori or the whining Andrea since season 1. There is also the reappearance of a character from the first episode, another amazing British actor, which was very welcome. The development of other characters such as Carl, Hershall and Glenn are also very well written and acted. Honestly the zombies are the least interesting part of this story. Some criticisms have been given to the series, some justified, but I think the story should be viewed across seasons as a whole. The threat could be anything, the secret of the Walking Dead success is in what individuals will do to survive a threat, to themselves and to the people they care about, and about the dynamics of surviving as a group. there's a great Tom Waites song too...highly recommended, can't wait for season 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant _ if you like zombie films you will love this. Don't know whether season 4 is made or not but can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead Season 3, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love this series and am completely hooked on it. Andrew Lincoln has done a consistently great job throughout the series so very well done him. The writing has been excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If it's good enough for Margaret then bring it on!, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
There are those folk who regard films in the zombie genre as gory, ephemeral trash, not that there's anything wrong with gory ephemera. Anyway, "The Walking Dead" has lots of zombies, staggering about, snarling, biting and showing no consideration for man, woman or beast as one might expect. That said, in this well written, thrilling and somewhat gory series, the zombification of civilisation is a backdrop against which our heroes and villains struggle and suffer in much the same way as they might have done during any other catastrophe - a war, a plague, famine-take your pick.

So, this is a series that concerns itself with the human condition, albeit one in a horrific crisis. If you're secretly ashamed to be interested in what might be seen as an unintelligent and needlessly bloody genre then you may be heartened to hear that novelist Margaret Attwood is a fan of zombie films and she is clever, funny, humane and as good a modern writer as you're likely to find in the poshest library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
a fantastic series the acting is great the story line superb the location terrific and it is one of those where you do not want to be on your own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead Season 3: Rise of the Governor, 8 April 2013
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The second season of the Walking Dead was at times criticised for its slow pace and lack of zombie action which I generally found to be unfair although some parts did drag a little early on in the season. However, for me season two never bored and if the longer second season (compared to the eight episode first season) was crucial in establishing the characters to such a degree that we actually cared for them, then season three had the more difficult job in actually doing something with them. For me, again, the writers have generally delivered a satisfying season that ups the ante even more so with a season that builds upon issues from season one and two, reintroduces and settles accounts with old characters, introduces new ones but at the same time manages to really set up the fourth season as well. OK, the finale itself is very much up for multiple discussions BUT if they truly deliver what I expect they're going to do in the fourth season, I'm sure most will forgive it. As it is however, I loved this season although I can completely understand why so many people will feel let down by this season finale compared to the rather spectacular previous finales.

The basic synopsis for season three is thus: eight months have passed since Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln) and the remaining group of survivors were forced to flee the farm and since then they've been struggling to survive against the bitter wilderness and the endless surge of deadly Walkers. When they discover an abandoned prison with it's high fences, watch towers and green spaces, Rick sees hope that they may have finally found salvation. Meanwhile Andrea, having been isolated from the group, travels with the enigmatic and sword wielding Michonne as they too struggle to survive. When they are rescued by another group of survivors they are taken to a fortified town called Woodbury where its leader, a man calling himself the Governor (David Morrissey), promises food and protection. But while the weight of responsibility weighs down on Rick, the mask begins to slip from the Governor as his true nature to begins to show itself.

Andrew Lincoln has been a compelling lead from the start and even here in season three his story is taken to much darker depths and is a far more unhinged person throughout the majority of this season than he was previously. I love Lincoln's performance but I personally found that this season was almost stolen away from him altogether by series newcomer David Morrissey. Fans of the comics will know all about the Governor but may find themselves disappointed to find that throughout most of the season, this Governor isn't quite at that point of mad tyranny. Season three is more about the rise (or more fall depending how you feel) of the Governor to becoming the tyrant that the comics portray and this is aided by Morrissey who is sensational in the role. Totally unpredictable and boasting such an uneasy presence (and great accent) that you don't quite know what he's going to do next. Rick and the Governor are opposite sides of the same coin and though they don't enjoy much screentime together, their journey's this season couldnt be more important.

There are a few questionable steps along the way where some moments are handled a bit too subtle or low key than you'd expect, some new characters are introduced late on and don't enjoy sufficient screentime to really mean something. However the most bitter criticisms seem to have been directed at Andrea and after a complete re-watching of the season, a lot of that criticism is correct; at least from the half-way point onwards. The issue is that the Governor is exposed for what he really is well before she finally comes to that conclusion herself: the heads in tanks, the capture of Glenn and Maggie, the retaliation against the prison etc. is brushed aside by Andrea as say a lover's spat. It wouldn't be so much of a problem if the character reacted suspiciously against the Governor as peacemaker rather than still be a loyal ally. It's wrong and nave and more to the point that come the season finale you really don't care for her anymore which is a real shame because she was one of the most interesting characters to this point.

I think it's a season that certainly loses a little momentum late on, ironic since season two actually gained momentum, and I think there's valid criticism that what was promised season long isn't quite delivered. However I think the characters are the winners this season because although a major plot point isnt fully resolved, the characters journey reach full circle conclude in a very satisfying way, particularly Rick, Carl, Merle and the Governor. I think season three and four will be more closely linked together and will be viewed as an extended whole (much like the first two seasons) meaning that for me generally, full acclaim and/or condemnation of season three is still some time away. As it stands, season three is a more action packed season than before with an even greater emphasis on the characters and most importantly; the human threat. It loses steam late on and new characters aren't really developed and while season three isn't a fully complete story, it delivers and leaves enough to set up a potentially epic season four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Robbery, 2 April 2014
This review is for Amazon prime instant, not for walking dead which is excellent.
Can't believe we're being charged subscription then being charged extra on top to watch watch content, who do they think they are - sky TV? I for one won't be paying for this. Thinking about switching to Netflix now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is season 3 not on prime???? Rip off!!!, 5 April 2014
This review is about Prime, not TWD which is fantastic.
Why is TWD season 3 not on a Prime??? I'm already paying an annual subscription, so I expect this to be available. I refuse to pay extra to watch it. Amazon need to sort this out NOW!! or there will be a mass exodus to other providers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD]
The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] by Andrew Lincoln (DVD - 2013)
13.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews