Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why charge now for Season 3
Just a rip off now from Amazon . By now charging 22 FOR THE 3 SEASON AFTER 1 AND 2 WAS FREE. NOT HAPPY PAYING
Published 16 days ago by mario

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Robbery
This review is for Amazon prime instant, not for walking dead which is excellent.
Can't believe we're being charged subscription then being charged extra on top to watch watch content, who do they think they are - sky TV? I for one won't be paying for this. Thinking about switching to Netflix now!
Published 14 days ago by Kev Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why charge now for Season 3, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a rip off now from Amazon . By now charging 22 FOR THE 3 SEASON AFTER 1 AND 2 WAS FREE. NOT HAPPY PAYING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grip tight to your seats!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season 3 is not a long drawn out extrusion of a popular TV show, but it is simply the best yet. The writing gets better and the loss of a major character is handled well. Every episode was riveting! Don't watch too many episodes back to back or it makes you walk funny...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars walking dead season 3, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am not a horror or zombie fan, but tried this because I remember Andrew Lincoln from This Life and have enjoyed much of his work since. I was intrigued by the first series and particularly liked many of the supporting cast and their journeys. The cast have been universally strong. David Morrissey, like Lincoln, another reliable, charismatic actor steals the series. Michael Rooker as Merle gives an impressive performance managing to make a completely unsympathetic character sympathetic. He and Norman Reedus give huge depth to their relationship and the abusive childhoods that formed their personalities. Reedus in particular is outstanding, allowing his character to develop throughout the 3 series, changing from troubled, aggressive outsider to Lincoln's right-hand man and trusted advisor, fighting to protect the group which has become his first real family. Reedus also shows a very complex and sweet relationship with Carol, Melissa McBride, which emerged from the loss of Sophia, illustrating the vulnerability under the aggression. McBride is amazing in this role, a scene with Reedus in season 2 where she physically recoils from his verbal blows (spoken through fear of his feelings for her) and which is reflective of her abusive marriage is stunning. It also shows that she has found a kindred spirit, someone who has also been abused, and will not give up on him. The relationship strengthens in season 3 and Carol becomes tougher and more independent. Why McBride is hidden away in guest star status is a mystery to me. her character has always been stronger and more interesting than the irritating Lori or the whining Andrea since season 1. There is also the reappearance of a character from the first episode, another amazing British actor, which was very welcome. The development of other characters such as Carl, Hershall and Glenn are also very well written and acted. Honestly the zombies are the least interesting part of this story. Some criticisms have been given to the series, some justified, but I think the story should be viewed across seasons as a whole. The threat could be anything, the secret of the Walking Dead success is in what individuals will do to survive a threat, to themselves and to the people they care about, and about the dynamics of surviving as a group. there's a great Tom Waites song too...highly recommended, can't wait for season 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Robbery, 2 April 2014
This review is for Amazon prime instant, not for walking dead which is excellent.
Can't believe we're being charged subscription then being charged extra on top to watch watch content, who do they think they are - sky TV? I for one won't be paying for this. Thinking about switching to Netflix now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pay per view, 3 April 2014
Season 3 has aired in the UK on terrestrial TV (Channel 5) and you are asking for 22 to watch the season as well as pay a subscription!!!

To add insult to injury you are asking 22 for a digital version of the series when you sell a "hard copy" box set for 16!

I very much doubt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead Season 3, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love this series and am completely hooked on it. Andrew Lincoln has done a consistently great job throughout the series so very well done him. The writing has been excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Walking Dead Season 3: Rise of the Governor, 8 April 2013
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The second season of the Walking Dead was at times criticised for its slow pace and lack of zombie action which I generally found to be unfair although some parts did drag a little early on in the season. However, for me season two never bored and if the longer second season (compared to the eight episode first season) was crucial in establishing the characters to such a degree that we actually cared for them, then season three had the more difficult job in actually doing something with them. For me, again, the writers have generally delivered a satisfying season that ups the ante even more so with a season that builds upon issues from season one and two, reintroduces and settles accounts with old characters, introduces new ones but at the same time manages to really set up the fourth season as well. OK, the finale itself is very much up for multiple discussions BUT if they truly deliver what I expect they're going to do in the fourth season, I'm sure most will forgive it. As it is however, I loved this season although I can completely understand why so many people will feel let down by this season finale compared to the rather spectacular previous finales.

The basic synopsis for season three is thus: eight months have passed since Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln) and the remaining group of survivors were forced to flee the farm and since then they've been struggling to survive against the bitter wilderness and the endless surge of deadly Walkers. When they discover an abandoned prison with it's high fences, watch towers and green spaces, Rick sees hope that they may have finally found salvation. Meanwhile Andrea, having been isolated from the group, travels with the enigmatic and sword wielding Michonne as they too struggle to survive. When they are rescued by another group of survivors they are taken to a fortified town called Woodbury where its leader, a man calling himself the Governor (David Morrissey), promises food and protection. But while the weight of responsibility weighs down on Rick, the mask begins to slip from the Governor as his true nature to begins to show itself.

Andrew Lincoln has been a compelling lead from the start and even here in season three his story is taken to much darker depths and is a far more unhinged person throughout the majority of this season than he was previously. I love Lincoln's performance but I personally found that this season was almost stolen away from him altogether by series newcomer David Morrissey. Fans of the comics will know all about the Governor but may find themselves disappointed to find that throughout most of the season, this Governor isn't quite at that point of mad tyranny. Season three is more about the rise (or more fall depending how you feel) of the Governor to becoming the tyrant that the comics portray and this is aided by Morrissey who is sensational in the role. Totally unpredictable and boasting such an uneasy presence (and great accent) that you don't quite know what he's going to do next. Rick and the Governor are opposite sides of the same coin and though they don't enjoy much screentime together, their journey's this season couldnt be more important.

There are a few questionable steps along the way where some moments are handled a bit too subtle or low key than you'd expect, some new characters are introduced late on and don't enjoy sufficient screentime to really mean something. However the most bitter criticisms seem to have been directed at Andrea and after a complete re-watching of the season, a lot of that criticism is correct; at least from the half-way point onwards. The issue is that the Governor is exposed for what he really is well before she finally comes to that conclusion herself: the heads in tanks, the capture of Glenn and Maggie, the retaliation against the prison etc. is brushed aside by Andrea as say a lover's spat. It wouldn't be so much of a problem if the character reacted suspiciously against the Governor as peacemaker rather than still be a loyal ally. It's wrong and nave and more to the point that come the season finale you really don't care for her anymore which is a real shame because she was one of the most interesting characters to this point.

I think it's a season that certainly loses a little momentum late on, ironic since season two actually gained momentum, and I think there's valid criticism that what was promised season long isn't quite delivered. However I think the characters are the winners this season because although a major plot point isnt fully resolved, the characters journey reach full circle conclude in a very satisfying way, particularly Rick, Carl, Merle and the Governor. I think season three and four will be more closely linked together and will be viewed as an extended whole (much like the first two seasons) meaning that for me generally, full acclaim and/or condemnation of season three is still some time away. As it stands, season three is a more action packed season than before with an even greater emphasis on the characters and most importantly; the human threat. It loses steam late on and new characters aren't really developed and while season three isn't a fully complete story, it delivers and leaves enough to set up a potentially epic season four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is season 3 not on prime???? Rip off!!!, 5 April 2014
This review is about Prime, not TWD which is fantastic.
Why is TWD season 3 not on a Prime??? I'm already paying an annual subscription, so I expect this to be available. I refuse to pay extra to watch it. Amazon need to sort this out NOW!! or there will be a mass exodus to other providers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this after becoming addicted to this series on season one- Channel 5 started showing series 3 and half way through ceased this without advising veiwersI had to find it was then on 5 * instead not before I'd missed a couple of episodes so felt pretty cheesed off.

I ordered it on advance so I was not missing out and got it a few weeks ahead of general release it was a bit cheaper too. Looks like freeviewers will not get season 4 so I will be looking out for release through Amazon to ensure I get continuity of a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars walking dead, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
was very happy with the service and my purchase and would use them again and recommend them to my friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD]
The Walking Dead - Season 3 [DVD] by Andrew Lincoln (DVD - 2013)
14.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews