Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silver Medal...
Winner, whilst for my money the weakest lead single for a Pet Shop Boys album we've had yet, is nowhere near as bad as some of the fan-base would have you believe. (It's also worth pointing out that, generally, it's got a good critical reception). Yes it's Olympic stylings could be said to show a certain amount of bare-naked opportunism and cynicism that you wouldn't...
Published on 12 Aug 2012 by IWFIcon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So good it got to No. 86.... for a week
Dreadful 'Jolly' Eurovisioneque nonsense... only saving grace is the b-side ' a certain je ne sais pas' otherwise forget it, worse single of their career, but given lots of 5 star reviews here by their fans, who would rate a burp from either one of them five star. A joke. So good it got to No. 86.... for a week
Published on 5 Nov 2012 by besrvedcold


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silver Medal..., 12 Aug 2012
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winner (Audio CD)
Winner, whilst for my money the weakest lead single for a Pet Shop Boys album we've had yet, is nowhere near as bad as some of the fan-base would have you believe. (It's also worth pointing out that, generally, it's got a good critical reception). Yes it's Olympic stylings could be said to show a certain amount of bare-naked opportunism and cynicism that you wouldn't expect from Neil and Chris but it's not as if it's totally unheard of. Their camp cover of U2's Where The Streets Have No Name, for instance, was released to chase a "hit" after Being Boring's disappointing chart position - and perhaps the realisation that even a fantastic remix of How Can You Expect To Be Taken Seriously wasn't going to take that song into the upper echelon of the pop charts.
Winner is still the best of the Olympic "cash-in" tracks I've heard and is a damn site better than the official Muse song. It's also backed by three rather cracking "b" sides, which with two double CD sets in the bag have always been a PSB strong point.
A Certain "Je Ne Sais Quoi" is perhaps this generation's Shameless, with it's pumping backing track and witty lyrics. Tennant's "mmmm" that breaks up the title in the chorus is perfectly timed and is simply the sort of thing most pop acts wouldn't come up with.
A Walk Through The Woods is a more disconcerting effort, putting as it does a Rudyard Kipling poem to music. It's not an immediate, ahem, winner but repeated listens do prove it to be more than an atmospheric curiosity and again it's simply the kind of thing you don't get with other pop acts.
I Started A Joke rounds things off, being a tribute to the recently departed Robin Gibb. It's lush and lovely and, like many a PSB cover version, sounds as if it could be one of their originals.
Overall this is a really rather good package, even if Winner, as nice as it is, could never be said to be a "classic" PSB single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the b-sides, 5 Aug 2012
By 
J. McCracken (Diamond Bar, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winner (MP3 Download)
By now most have heard "Winner", but the real gems here are the three fantastic other tracks. The best is A Certain "Je Ne Sais Quoi", a witty track full of bubbling synth hooks. I Started a Joke is a stately Robin Gibb tribute with one of Neil's best ever vocals and some beautiful mournful horn riffs. The Way Through the Woods is based on a Rudyard Kipling poem and is an inventive song with interesting melodies and naturalistic sound effect evocative of a woodland setting. A fantastic group of songs, and a steal for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Cause you're winners, Pet Shop Boys!!, 28 Mar 2013
By 
R. E. Simon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winner (Audio CD)
The Boys continue to churn out some clever, easy to sing along to and poignant songs and although people say "Winner" is the "weakest track on the album", I think it's actually very triumphant a very appropriate as a theme for the 2012 London Olympics, regardless of whether PSB wrote the song as a tribute to artists who compete at The Eurovision Song Contest or not.

If you're thinking of buying this, then I also URGE you to consider "Elysium" - this not only has original 'b-side' tracks (a PSB trademark) but this single comes from a very different sounding, lush, mellow and easy going album. Produced by the guy who's done Kanye West albums in California, it was wholly recorded and produced there as well, by Andrew Dawson.

Service was prompt and good value for money - at the time, it was cheaper on here than on PSB's own web site, sadly.

Glad to see the Boys back and I'm already looking forward to their 2013 concerts and new album, "ELECTRIC"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner CD Tape, 14 Nov 2012
By 
Ms. V. A. Smith "V A Smith" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winner (Audio CD)
A very good CD. Loved listening to the music on it. This was an excellent purchase. I would recommend this as a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Was it Worth It.....?" "Yes!", 5 Aug 2012
By 
J. Rae (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winner (MP3 Download)
Leave it to the Pet Shop Boys. Any other U.K. act who released a single called Winner within a week of the Olympic Games would be expected to have shots of people breaking the tape and standing on the podium getting their gold medal. Not Neil and Chris.

They've assembled a rather touching video of the London Rollergirls, a Roller Derby team, and their new rookie, Dirty Diana, who happens to be transgender...-Music News.

The single contains four tracks and , as always, is excellent value for money;

Winner
A Certain "Je ne Sais Quoi"
The Way Through the Woods (Long Version)
I Started a Joke

Joke is a cover of the Bee Gees song and is a salute to the late Robin Gibb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always winners, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winner (Audio CD)
This song was used for the Olympics in Britain last year but was not played enough in my opinion. It has a wonderful uplifting message and rising anthemic melody The video, if you get the chance to see it, is STUNNING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winner (Audio CD)
It seems that the Pet Shop Boys got caught up in Olympic hysteria this year as evidenced by this song. I was surprised that it was just worthy of a Bronze medal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Little EP!, 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: Winner (Audio CD)
Like most PSB cd singles this offers great value for money with 4 strong tracks.

As is often the case with the PSB's I prefer the other 3 tracks to the actual single; however it's growing on me!

This CD is on heavy rotation at present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So good it got to No. 86.... for a week, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: Winner (Audio CD)
Dreadful 'Jolly' Eurovisioneque nonsense... only saving grace is the b-side ' a certain je ne sais pas' otherwise forget it, worse single of their career, but given lots of 5 star reviews here by their fans, who would rate a burp from either one of them five star. A joke. So good it got to No. 86.... for a week
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst single since 'Did You See Me Coming?', 7 Sep 2012
By 
D. Porter "Dr. Nefarious" (W. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winner (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of PSB for 20 or so years. I pretty much buy their stuff regardless.
The single 'Winner' is rubbish, 2 of the B sides are very poor.
Why buy it then?
Buy it for the song 'A Certain "Je ne sais quoi" It is brilliant! and should have been the single. Its catchy, clever, electro pop at its finest.
'Winner is their worst single since 'Did You See Me Coming' which contains another awesome B side in the form of 'After The Event'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winner
Winner by Pet Shop Boys
Buy MP3 Album£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews