Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problems But Now Sorted
I love music and have a massive cd collection to prove it (25,000+)

When Demon announced that they would be remastering Aztec Camera i was glad in a way but not in another, because i have brought remastered reissues in the past and they have been a hit or a miss ie using mp3 or a vinyl version etc.

When i received this i played the first cd which...
Published on 29 Sept. 2012 by C. Murphy

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An un-Loved reissue: substandard sound and wrong mixes
Oh dear. The whole idea of reissues, deluxe or otherwise, for great 80s music continues to be something of a bad joke.

Edsel, who have previous in this department it has to be said, have sadly made a right mess of this wonderful album from 1987. Reissuing the Aztec Camera catalogue is a noble idea, and a very welcome one, but despite the glossy hardback...
Published on 14 Sept. 2012 by Eric Generic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problems But Now Sorted, 29 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Love [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I love music and have a massive cd collection to prove it (25,000+)

When Demon announced that they would be remastering Aztec Camera i was glad in a way but not in another, because i have brought remastered reissues in the past and they have been a hit or a miss ie using mp3 or a vinyl version etc.

When i received this i played the first cd which sounded brilliant but noticed that on the 2nd cd wrongly named track and so on.

I got intouch with Demon who were aware of the issue and had my name and address off me and sent me the very next day a corrected cdr of cd2 and they told me that once it gets redone they will send me a proper 2nd cd.

The cdr sounds brilliants and correct track versions, so if you are afraid of buying this cd, buy it then get intouch with demon they send a replacement cd that will fix the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An un-Loved reissue: substandard sound and wrong mixes, 14 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Love [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Oh dear. The whole idea of reissues, deluxe or otherwise, for great 80s music continues to be something of a bad joke.

Edsel, who have previous in this department it has to be said, have sadly made a right mess of this wonderful album from 1987. Reissuing the Aztec Camera catalogue is a noble idea, and a very welcome one, but despite the glossy hardback packaging there is very little to recommend any of the titles in the series.

Love was originally released on 9th November 1987 by WEA, 9 songs clocking in at a little over 37 minutes. CD1 of this new edition is identical, both in content and - to these ears - sound. It bears all the hallmarks of an 80s-mastered disc, much quieter than today's fashions dictate, and a very flat sound that only those who grew up with will be used to. While it's perhaps a blessing that the album hasn't been a victim of loudness for loudness' sake, it means the bonus material on the second CD really has to justify the price-tag for owners of the original.

Unfortunately, the second CD is where the biggest problem lies. The listed "Sax Mix" of Working In A Goldmine has been erroneously replaced by the same version of the song which is on the first disc. The "Breakdown Mix" of Deep & Wide & Tall sounds highly compressed, as though taken from an inferior source. Vinyl, quite probably, but any clicks have been removed. The 12" version of Somewhere In My Heart is really the only bonus track to sound bright, sharp and not crudely edited.

So, for the price of a brand new album, you get the same version of a very short CD released 25 years ago, plus barely 40 minutes of extra music including a repeated track by mistake and some mixes which sound rather murky.

Not good enough at all. What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully packaged, and lovingly recreated., 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I've been awaiting a special edition, remastered version of this album for years. One of my favourite albums from the 80s, I am especially partial to "Somewhere in my Heart" which will probably feature in my top 10 tracks of all time.

I was initially impressed by the packaging, in the being one of the new, more solid "bookbound" cases. The notes by Terry Staunton are succient, and cover 4 pages of the booklet. The rest of the pages cover the lyrics and personnel ...

However, there is a BUT, and I only noticed it whilst listening to the bonus CD. On my copy of the disc, the supposed "sax version" of Working in a Goldmine is pretty much exactly the same as the original version on the album. Having checked the track length, it comes out at 5:31, and not the 3:55 listed in the booklet.

Edsel loses a Star for this one. I have contacted them, and might update if feedback is received.

-------------------------------
Update, Edsel came through and sent me a new copy of the faulty disc, which played beautifully. I'm not going to update the ****s though, as this sort of thing should not happen in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds fine to me, 18 Sept. 2012
By 
Vincent G. Marino (Staten Island, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
This album has most definitely been remastered. It sounds WAY better than the original U.S. CD which is LONG out of print. Totally worth the money, and I'm not all that concerned about the remixes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good album, lousy reissue..., 28 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I'm only writing this to bring the rating down and to alert people to Edsel/Demon's shoddy reissue policy. It's a shame that casual fans may get the impression the music per se is bad but there doesn't seem to be an alternative. Please see Eric Generic's more detailed review/comments for more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love [Deluxe Edition]
Love [Deluxe Edition] by Aztec Camera (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews