Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book
i really dont know how they come up with such great books for us to read ,but i thankyou all of them they are so lovely .
Published 12 months ago by Jacqueline Webster

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat lacklustre
I don't know if it's because I'm tired or because I've read a humungous amount of HR lately, but this one didn't hit the spot for me. Oh, it was decent enough; the hero was ridiculously gorgeous and the heroine was, underneath her deliberately dowdy dresses, lovely, too. Merrick St. Magnus (where do they get these names from?!) is a first class rake who, at the beginning...
Published 23 months ago by Caz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat lacklustre, 17 Sep 2012
By 
Caz "So many books, so little time..." (Frinton-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't know if it's because I'm tired or because I've read a humungous amount of HR lately, but this one didn't hit the spot for me. Oh, it was decent enough; the hero was ridiculously gorgeous and the heroine was, underneath her deliberately dowdy dresses, lovely, too. Merrick St. Magnus (where do they get these names from?!) is a first class rake who, at the beginning of the story is about to get it on with twins! *ahem*

He's also convinced that he can't love - his father's a cold-hearted sort who never loved his wife, and Merrick believes he's a chip off the old block in that respect. (Never mind that he's never actually experienced love before, so can't really know).

Alixe (and really, what's wrong with plain ol' "Alex"?) is a twenty-six-year-old spinster with serious bluestocking tendencies, who is quite happy with her place on the shelf, despite her familiy's desperation to marry her off.

Needless to say, when the two meet, we start to see a softer side of Merrick, and a more daring side of Alixe, who is quite happy to let him under her skirts at a picnic and then reciprocates with an al-fresco hand-job a day or so later!

It's not much longer before he gets into her knickers - although to his credit, he does ask if she's sure this is what she wants *eyeroll*.

I sometimes wonder if there really were any truly gently-bred young ladies around at this time because some of them are in an awful hurry to get between the sheets and do the deed, despite the threat of pregnancy and to their reputations.

Anyway. Up her skirts very soon translates into up the duff, and although she's refused Merrick's offer of marriage, Alixe is starting to regret her decision, especially as her parents will happily see her married to a weasel of a man who is just after her money.

The ending was a bit too melodrammatic for my taste, as Alixe's parents announce her engagement to the weasel, Merrick turns up to put a spoke in the works and the weasel pulls a knife on Alixe.

I have no objection to formulaic plots - after all, there are only so many original storylines out there - and overall this one is well done. There's some very good verbal sparring between the H&H and I liked the way that Merrick was gradually revealed to be not quite as black as he would paint himself. But the characters just didn't come to life for me and I found I wasn't really invested in the outcome of the story as a result.

BUT... all ends happily, and while I enjoy a bit of fluff as much as the next person, this one didn't really do it for me.

Thanks to Harlequin and NetGalley for the ARC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How to Disgrace a Lady, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Disgrace a Lady (Mills & Boon Historical) (Rakes Beyond Redemption - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Again it is on my kindle, will get around to reading it some time, will have to stop downloading for a bit in order to catch up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Disgrace a Lady (Mills & Boon Historical) (Rakes Beyond Redemption - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
i really dont know how they come up with such great books for us to read ,but i thankyou all of them they are so lovely .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How to Disgrace a Lady, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Disgrace a Lady (Mills & Boon Historical) (Rakes Beyond Redemption - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Predictable and a bit soppy. I did finish reading it so it was okay. If this is typical of Mills & Boon, then I will be giving any of theirs a miss in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good rollicking tale, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Disgrace a Lady (Mills & Boon Historical) (Rakes Beyond Redemption - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good story, romantic but not too cheesy. Easy to follow when concentration is required.. glad I didn't live in that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Historical romp, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Disgrace a Lady (Mills & Boon Historical) (Rakes Beyond Redemption - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Nice historical romp - seeing as how it is supposed to be in such chaste times they do go at it a bit so quite explicit in parts! Great hero with well hidden gentlemanly manners under a rakeish veneer and lovely heronine with a bit of gumption about her. Nothing to dislike about this really although the ending was slightly melodramatic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Disgrace a Lady (Mills & Boon Historical) (Rakes Beyond Redemption - Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. Most of the time the man is literally a self made millionaire or is the heir apparent or something along that line...not so here. Really good. Like the author's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews