Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cross Generation Love Story? Count Me In!!!!
I would definitely recomment this to every gay viewer. Awesome depictions of Paris and the two leads...oh the two leads! I can pick up one! Both of them are extremely hot and cute, Todd definitely made an awesome audition. Even they acting was above normal considering the Verow flicks. My only complain is that the movie should have more intimate sex moments between the...
Published 10 months ago by Minas

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity
I watched this film, read the above reviews and watched it again with two friends. Did I get a different version? Maybe not. Still,one of my friends quite liked it while the other dozed off and I suppose my own verdict mirrors their reactions. This is not a bad film nor is it a particularly good one. It's mainstream in the sense that it is not particularly edgy nor...
Published 20 months ago by Jarek


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Missed Opportunity, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boy Street [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film, read the above reviews and watched it again with two friends. Did I get a different version? Maybe not. Still,one of my friends quite liked it while the other dozed off and I suppose my own verdict mirrors their reactions. This is not a bad film nor is it a particularly good one. It's mainstream in the sense that it is not particularly edgy nor insightful, it's basically an entertainment which suits its purpose. The budget restrictions show in the editing and at times this annoys and the soundtrack adds nothing and sometimes spoils both the drama and the continuity, The movie has nothing new to say but then I don't think it intends to.
Todd Verow has crafted an old fashioned style romance in a contemporary Parisian setting with a few side issues and, I think, an interesting ending.Verow's classy direction holds the thing together. Only on second viewing did I realise that in the cinema scene the place is actually empty, so well is the scene played and staged. Or perhaps I'm slow to notice. The acting is not as bad as some are making out. In fact the performances are quite affable. Yann De Monterno does well as the 'older' single man who finds love,romance, disappointment and angst with the handsome, young Kevin Miranda, whose 'secret' is exposed during the course of the film and from which the denoumente emanates. Their lovemaking scenes are natural enough - this isn't soft porn after all - and their intimacy is well played. Florence D'Azemar also does well and gets the best lines in a patchy script. I feel that the story could have been expanded with detail and background and here lies a missed opportunity that would have increased the overall quality. Possibly because of budget restrictions.
The extras could have done with captions and a little more care and are mainly concerned with extended bedroom scenes, and are at times more entertaining than the movie itself! But all in all 3 1/2 stars would be a fair summing up. My advice, for what it is worth, is enjoy the film for what it is and not what you yearn for it to be and you'll quite enjoy it :)In French 95% English 5% competent subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cross Generation Love Story? Count Me In!!!!, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boy Street [DVD] (DVD)
I would definitely recomment this to every gay viewer. Awesome depictions of Paris and the two leads...oh the two leads! I can pick up one! Both of them are extremely hot and cute, Todd definitely made an awesome audition. Even they acting was above normal considering the Verow flicks. My only complain is that the movie should have more intimate sex moments between the leads but if you are looking for extented sex scenes between the leads then look at the special features at the extented scenes collection at the special features menu!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Budget Film, 18 Nov 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Boy Street [DVD] (DVD)
This has been made on a shoe string and so inevitably suffers for it. The main characters are only three people with writer and director Todd Verrow making a cameo at one point. It is about Claude (Yann de Monterno)who finds a drunken hunk on the street and decides to take him home to make sure he is safe. The following morning this bloke awakens with a hangover and an apparently insatiable need to suck the living daylights out of Claude. This is Brad played by Kevin Miranda, he says he is a vacationing American. They decide to meet up again and see where things lead.

Claude also has a best friend in the shape of Catherine (Florence d'Azemar),who is actually really good. They act as emotional crutches for each other in a really nice way. Well there are a few other things that happen, but essentially this is a Parisian love story with croissants, red wine, Gaullois cigarettes and the obligatory shower scene. There is some bedroom rutting but it's all pretty basic. The most annoying thing for me was the soundtrack which is all repetitive disco trance stuff with a back beat that sounds like an underwater beating heart and it just grated.

There was nothing new here, nothing inspiring and very little in the way of actual plot, the twist just about saved this from being a total waste of time, hence my rating but this is just ok, and there are so many more films out there more deserving of your attention, so only buy if you must have all films of this genre. The acting is ok but this is just a triumph of budget over ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bbs, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boy Street [DVD] (DVD)
nice movie could be better but nice anyway .low price good deal watch it out guys!!!!! kevin miranda is cute & a pretty good actor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice story, 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Bad Boy Street [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, it's low-budget, but it's entertaining and thought provoking. The actors are very likable and believable. It's a nice romantic comedy that's not run-of-the-mill. The ending is left open. One can take the ending any way they want to. I took it as a very optimistic and a nice conclusion.

What's important to me, is the fact that I cared about the characters and couldn't wait to see where the story was going next. I was never let down. So many movies that are made these days, leave me feeling like I could care less what happens to the people in the film. It's a nice treat to have people you really like and a story that you care about. I thoroughly enjoyed this little gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A simple gay love story..., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boy Street [DVD] (DVD)
This film has it all. Hot men. Hot nudity. Hot sex scenes (2 anyway). And it has to be seen to get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle Humour, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boy Street [DVD] (DVD)
I found the title off-putting but in the event enjoyed the story. Brad's wave from behind the curtain was a delight and the frequent appearances of the lady from upstairs were a treat. Great not to have any horrors to sour it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment !, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boy Street [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched the trailer for this film, I eagerly awaited the release and watched it as soon as my Amazon parcel arrived. How disappointed I was. It is a dramatic failure in every sense of the expression. And it decidedly fails miserably to capture the sultry, languid atmosphere of the film "Weekend" even with its setting under the skies of Paris. The acting is at times worse than awful and even a few raunchy sex scenes can do nothing to save it. I don't know who produced the soundtrack but it quickly sets your teeth on edge and can someone please shoot the person that mixed the sound. At times, the composition of the soundtrack and dialogue is so bad that you can hear virtually nothing. But in retrospect perhaps this is a blessing as the quality of the dialogue often matches the acting ability of the protagonists. Honestly, I found nothing of interest to see in this film - well perhaps with the exception of the croissants served for breakfast in one of the scenes which looked delightfully scrumptious. I thought I would give the film a chance and watched it till the end, but in my humble opinion it was a waste of my time. Sorry to be so negative - it is not in my habits to be so - but frankly this must rate as one of the worst films I've ever seen. I know that French actors can make good gay-themed films - Drôle de Fėlix or Juste une question d'amour to name but two - however this is just an embarrassment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BAD BOY STREET, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boy Street [DVD] (DVD)
AS with THe DVD BEST BOY, This DVD BAD BOY The review will have to be the same, as a friend our ours asked if we could order it, so as soon as we know he has watched it we will be able to write and let you know what he thinks of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Boy Street [DVD]
Bad Boy Street [DVD] by Todd Verow (DVD - 2012)
£6.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews