Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heston Blumenthal: The Biography of the World's Most Brilliant Master Chef
What can I say - bought as a gift from a wish list and I was pleased with the purchase - value for money - good read
Published 8 months ago by Norton33

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing book
Although a biography of Heston Blumenthal should be fascinating too much of this book was a blow by blow description of what happened in various tv shows - not behind the scenes but what could be seen on screen. Badly written and badly spelt too. I had problems finishing the book.
Published on 5 Jan 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing book, 5 Jan 2011
Although a biography of Heston Blumenthal should be fascinating too much of this book was a blow by blow description of what happened in various tv shows - not behind the scenes but what could be seen on screen. Badly written and badly spelt too. I had problems finishing the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the most brilliant biog., 1 Feb 2010
By 
Rupert Waites (edinburgh uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just to outline my severe dissapointment in this book. How someone from out of left field like Blumenthal could be dished up like this is beyond me. More than half the book is simply a very lengthy synopsis of his TV series. One gets the firm impression that Chaz has never met the man and offered pretty much no fresh insight or thought on what is possibly the most contructive approach to cooking for ages. Do yourself a favour . Want to know about Blumenthal. Just get his fat duck cook book it tells you all you need to know.
its telling that Chaz mentions in his thankyous a nod to a cafe in Amsterdam. Might explain a few things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly written, but interesting all the same., 3 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. David Hitchin "DavidHH" (Seaford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is likely that much of this book has been derived from Heston's own writings and from watching his TV programs, but Heston is such an interesting personality that it would be difficult for anyone to write a boring book about him.

The book has some amusing typographical errors; "sanitary" rather than "salutary" (unless this was a very poor attempt at a joke), "pallets" instead of "palates", and "foul" which are plucked. The Oxford English dictionary lists 7 alternative spellings of "cockatrice", so this book is inventive in adding "cockentrice" to that list.

It seems odd that references to "early reviews" should mention one published in 2006 (this can't have been "early", so was the date misprinted?). There were occasional references to names and facts with no explanation, and at times I reread the earlier pages, assuming that I hadn't been paying proper attention, but I found nothing. Presumably the author knew what he meant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heston Blumenthal: The Biography of the World's Most Brilliant Master Chef, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say - bought as a gift from a wish list and I was pleased with the purchase - value for money - good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heston, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heston is amazing ordered this book for my husband who loves reading these books and takes them on holiday he hasn't read it yet but am sure will find it a great read how could he not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire Drivel, 6 Sep 2012
This is a cobbled together, hurriedly written, poorly researched mess of a book. The author writes like a bored, untalented teenager. Two-thirds of the book is comprised of excerpts from newspaper and magazine articles, books, websites and the like... I feel highly disappointed at buying this book, as it offers no insights whatsoever into the life of its subject, psychological or otherwise.

I can only say that it is squarely my fault for having bought the book without going so far as to research the author (or hack) of such tortured, cliche-ridden prose. If one could offer no stars, or minus stars for reviews, then this would deserve a whole negative constellation in its dishonor.

Mr Newkey-Burden is a terribly untalented writer. It was a [Newkey-B]urden to have made it as far as page 79. Mr Blumenthal deserves better. and I shall now do the only thing I feel this drivel deserves. It shall bypass the charity shop and be placed in the wastepaper basket.

Do NOT buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No revelations here....., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was for me a very disapointing book,
As a big fan of Heston and knowing his autobiography is more or less contained in his Fat Duck Cookbook which is far too expensive and outragous to justify purchasing I thought this would cover everything I didn't know... it didn't.
I think with a few few press cuttings, wikipedia and a read of his cookery books anyone could have written this book, it sketches through his life and left me feeling aggravated that I never initially noticed the word BIOGRAPHY because you certainly feel it was written impassively from consulting sources in the public domain....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disastrous book, 15 Dec 2012
By 
C. Kidd (Dibden, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've recently finished reading Heston Blumenthal: The Biography of the World's Most Brilliant Master Chef by Chas Newkey-Burden. Heston Blumenthal is an eccentric English chef and owner of The Fat Duck, a three-Michelin-starred restaurant in Bray, Berkshire which has been voted Best Restaurant in the UK and received a perfect score of 10/10 every year since 2007 by The Good Food Guide.

In the 2013 edition of The Good Food Guide two of Blumenthal's restaurants, The Fat Duck and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal were voted in the top 20 restaurants in the UK, with The Fat Duck ranked number 1 and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal ranked 19. Additionally, The Fat Duck was voted best restaurant in the world in 2005 by Restaurant magazine. Since that date, The Fat Duck was awarded 2nd place in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009, 3rd in 2010, 5th in 2011 and 12th in 2012. Dinner by Heston Blumenthal was awarded 9th place in 2012.

Sadly this book couldn't be rated in a similar fashion. I found it deeply ironic that the front cover has a picture of Heston in front of a lit pot because the author completely failed to capture any of Heston's "flame". The start of the book focuses on his childhood and background, but the book then moves onto a dry drivel bringing none of the excitement which Heston's cooking brings. Sadly too much of this book was a blow by blow description of what happened in various tv shows - not behind the scenes but what could be seen on screen. Badly written and badly spelt too. I found it a challenge to finish this book and so won't be recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews